We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki - second time round...Great Holiday !”
Review of Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waikiki Banyan
Calgary
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Waikiki - second time round...Great Holiday !”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We booked two condo units for a week at the end of July 2012 at the Waikiki Banyan. We each had a large one bedroom suite and they faced the swimming pool and Diamond Head view.
We really enjoyed having a kitchen suite, balcony and it was close to the beach and easy access to various sites that we could walk to. We also rented a mini van at the Enterprise car rental since it had the best prices for rentals and booked on the net prior our trip. The hotel was easy walking to the beach and our younger nephew and niece loved the times we walked to the beach for swimming.
On the Wed morning, there was a great little farmers market in a parking lot on the other side of the nearby zoo. About 6 trucks were parked and sold fresh papayas, pineapples, veggies and a table full of $5.00 orchids. Good thing I had a pull along knapsack or it would have been heavy lugging back all the pineapples. We drove to a Safeway and stocked up on groceries so we could enjoy daily breakfasts and snacks in our suites. I'm sure that saved us alot of eating out for every meal.
The pool on the 6th floor was great for the kids, but was cold sometimes in the evenings since the wind chilled us at night when in the pool. The hot tubs were good but were quite hot and the kids found it way too hot. But we did use them a couple of times.
We walked down a couple times to the International market down on the main strip. The children loved picking out a oyster shell and got their own pearl which was about $7.50 with a discount coupon deal. We ate lunch one day at a little sausage house called Huladog on the other side of the International market and also had a big bowl of shaved ice there. We bought alot of little souvenirs at the International Market and found the prices here were good. Also, the Walmart had alot of souvenirs that were at very reasonable prices and cheaper than some of the touristy stores like the ABC's.
We bought a fresh flower lei made and sold on the street for $5.00 . The weather every day was quite nice and hot and often the breezy days cooled us down.
We drove one day to the Dole Pineapple Plantation and took the 20 min mini train ride with the kids through the pineapple fields and walked through the special gardens. Stopped for a break for the yummy pineapple whip sundaes and pineapple floats.
We drove to the North Shore about 10 minutes away and was going to snorkel at Waimea Bay , but the lot was full. We ended up stopping at Giovanni's Famous Shrimp Truck and had to try their famous Shrimp Scampi deal. Very garlicky and tasty! Stopped at Bob's Bakery and shared their famous Chocolate & Coconut Yummy Cream Pie and we ate it outside on the patio area.
Visited rocky tide pools and found sea urchins in the crevices and the kids had fun exploring in the shallow water up at the North shore area.
Waikiki beach area was so busy. Reminds me of Las Vegas with people everywhere at all hours and evenings. It was not uncommon to see lineups of people waiting to eat at Cheesecake Factory on the strip, or at Cheeseburger in Paradise. If you have young kids, go early or you may have to wait up to 2 hours in lineups and some places do not take reservations. It always felt safe on the streets and we even saw a Santa guy playing violin on the streets in July !
Another day we drove up the coast in our van, visited the Halona Blow Hole, past Sandy beach and up the coast to Waimanaio. Then stopped at Haunama Bay to snorkel with all the colorful fish. At 8 am, the parking lot was packed and full so it was only about 2 pm when the morning crowds were gone and we could get a chance to park there. Our 9 year old nephew had his first snorkelling experience with my husband and his eyes were big as saucers seeing the world underwater. He was so excited and his uncle swam with him and he tried yelling through his snorkel mask as many fish swam by him. Our 4 year old niece loved the beach area and was happy digging in the sand and splashing about.
On Saturday, we spent a day at the Polynesian Cultural centre. I've been here the first time we came to Waikiki but went again with my brother and his family. It was about $91.95 for adults but we skipped the $22/person tour bus ride since we drove ourselves there. This was an all day outing with various sites and displays on hawaiian culture and activities. It also included a dinner buffet meal and a fantastic evening show performance. Very enjoyable.
We also found a great japanese udon noodle place just across from the International market, called Maru ka me Udon. Big bowls of handmade noodles for cheap prices and very tasty.
Go early since lineups were common here and it seems very popular dining spot.
We took the free Hilo Hattie trolley to the big Hilo Hattie Store. Check it out for the sales and souvenirs. Mugs at 2 for $5 sold for about $7.00 at other stores on the main strip. Necklaces here for $3.99 sold for $10 at the Polynesian centre or 2 for $10 at the marketplace.
We drove to Pearl Harbor another day and you have to check in all purses or bags. No one is allowed to carry anything in. It costs $3.00 for a locker. Every special site you wish to go in and view charged a fee, so we just browsed the free areas and took photos. Parking was free here.
After, we just drove up the coast and enjoyed the drive. The beaches were less crowded but you sure saw alot more poorer homes and many homeless or tent city dwellings.
We had dinner one evening at the Todai Sushi Buffet. Quite pricey at $32 a person but cheaper for kids.Cab ride was about $10 to here from the hotel since it was about 2 to 3 miles away and there didn't seem to be much parking around the area. I've been to this place in Vegas but it was something new for the other family to try out.
We had a great time in Waikiki and the kids loved the ocean. The hotel was great and it was really nice to have our own condo. The hotel was close to walking to everything from shopping to the ocean. They even had a waterfall and big Koi pond in the lobby area. Parking was great at the hotel and safe as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wishbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    221
    96
    19
    22
See reviews for
273
89
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at the Banyan the first night, and rented a condo at the Banyan for the remaining 7 nights. We were VERY disappointed to find out upon checked out at 12pm that the front desk would not hold out bags until our flight at 9:30pm that evening....so we spent out last day in hawaii taking "shifts" sitting in the lobby with our bags. Horrible way to spend out last day in Hawaii!

Will NEVER book a room thru the Banyan thru the hotel side - but would book thru private condo owners in a second. Other then the baggage issue, the complex itself was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in unit 2814 in tower 2 for 6 nights. Booked it through Hawaiian Paradise Reteats.

Location: Great location…near to Waikiki beach…just 5min walk….lots of ABC stores around for any grocery needs
Café in the lobby…great hot chocolate.
Lots of other restaurants and fast foods places near by…they have internet and printer (paid)…

Laundry is on every floor and it is next door to this unit. We did not face any disturbance due to this.

This is a corner unit with ocean view from patio and bedroom window…view is partially blocked by another building…however this is not much issue…you get good view of ocean and beach
Kitchen and bedroom (2nd window) has mountain views…and we had a great sun rise views in the morning from bedroom

Amenities: Unit is well maintained except few minor issues…which needs some patience
Kitchen is well equipped with pretty new appliances (refrigerator, 4 burner stove, oven, microware, blender, toaster and rice cookers. Lots of utensils, plates, glasses…

Only missing thing is dish washer…

Unit management included floaters, mats, buckets (sand) etc.., for beach purpose…this is a good arrangement.

Swimming pool on the 6th floor is very nice and we had a great time in it…and whirlpool is good.

Linens were included and they were enough for 6 days…

Parking is included and it is convenient…just park and take elevator to your floor.

Trash disposal room is nearby this unit entrance…occasionally we get trash odor when we stand outside the unit in the hallway…however there is no issue once inside the unit.

Improvements Needed:
Key to open the door…it needs some patience to work through it…key should not inserted fully…it needs be at certain point so that it clicks…I figured this after help from security.
Response from unit management was not good when I could not open the unit…got a response that no one had issues with that key…I cannot imagine how no one can have issues with a key like that. Even the security guy who came to help had to struggle for 5 minutes before figuring it out.
Atleast some verbal instructions will be helpful in this regard.

Latch on slide door to patio donot work. You have to use the dead bolt on the floor level to lock it from inside…that also fits only at a certain position not when sliding door is closed all the way down.

Paint is peeling near kitchen window…

Sofa cushions in the living room needs replacement…they are faded and looks old…

Overall, we had a great time staying in this unit. We would like to rent the same unit if we come back again.

Room Tip: Look for a corner unit...you get both views ocean and mountian
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Booked on line through Koko Resorts. We had booked 2508 after seeing Trip Advisor reviews however we discovered ripped curtains so we went to Koko management ( who were already on their way to arrange another unit) and they moved us up 5 floors to 3012. We were so glad as this apartment had much better furnishings than the other. Don't expect 5 star though, the complex is old and the public areas are tired. The location is superb, just one block from the beach with eateries close by.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We've stayed here 4 times now, the last time renting through Koko resorts. If you are sure you are going to stay here, it's great deal. Koko offers free parking, use of beach towels, sand chairs, boogie boards, etc. there is a large choice of 1bedrooms, some recently refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoTravelNowCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We rented privately and had an awesome condo on the 36th floor! The view was fantastic and included the ocean and Waikiki Beach, Diamondhead crater and the City. The location of this property is great too. Just two short blocks to the water and shops and restaurants. For the price it was a great deal. Our unit also included free parking which was a huge bonus. The reason I would give it just a little above average has to do with the common facilities. There is a nice little coffee shop in the building and a small store for sundries. When I say little and small, that is what I mean. The pool area was frankly kind of yucky. It is surrounded by green indoor/outdoor carpeting which is even more disgusting when it is wet. It was busy when we were there so the pool was being used a lot. By mid afternoon, the pool seemed dirty and the area around the pool had lots of litter and clutter. It was not a pleasant place to relax. There is also a small store near the pool that was very unimpressive. The pros for us were the actual unit and the location. The cons were basically the common facilities including the laundry, the pool and recreation area and the stores.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fondej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me & three of my friends just got back from our 6 night stay in Room 1412 - Tower 1. We booked our accommodation through KoKo Resorts (http://www.kokoresorts.com) and what a great experience that was. Did it all online and then when we arrived just went straight up to our room, punched in the code at the door and we were in. Didn't have to talk to anyone, need a key or tip anyone - was just so easy. Inside the room was great, there were three single beds in the bedroom which were comfy and a great sofa bed in the lounge area. The kitchen was big and the ocean view was lovely from the balcony . The bathroom was fairly small though, especially for four people and there were some unnecessary "Hawaiian" decorations, but overall we thought it was great value. KoKo Resorts have an office on Level 5 and here you can get fresh towels, extra toilet paper, soap, etc. They also have chairs & boogie boards for the beach - all for free! The hotel is a short stroll to the beach and all the shops on the main drag. There is also a bus & trolley stop just across the street. We caught bus 8 to the Ala Moana Center for $2.50 and if you are ready to come back within 2.5 hours the return fare is free. We shopped up a storm though and spent several days there! I must also recommend the little coffee shop downstairs in the Banyon. Lovely coffee and highly recommend the homemade banana muffins - just beautiful. They also have the internet if needed, but free WiFi and parking was included in our room, so that was an added bonus. We hired a car through Budget, but we actually booked it online over there as it was quite a lot cheaper than walking in off the street. Driving around was pretty easy and the local people are all really friendly. So overall we would definitely recommend the Waikiki Banyon. Its not 5 star by any means and it could do with a bit of a makeover, but we wanted to spend our money on shopping, not hotel luxury, so it was perfect for us. We will definitely come back here next time and book through Koko Resorts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debthommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Banyan

Property: Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOOKING FOR JACKIE'S CONDOS? LOOK NO FURTHER, YOU FOUND THEM! I have several condos for you to choose from! Rates vary depending on condo, length of stay and time of year. FREE PARKING.. FREE INTERNET ACCESS... FREE CALLS TO CANADA AND US MAINLAND FREE USE OF BEACH CHAIRS, BOOGIE BOARDS, BEACH UMBRELLAS, BEACH TOWELS...ALL LOCATED IN EACH CONDO FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE NO RESORT FEES FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE Our condos are impeccably clean and appointed with comfortable decorator furnishings. Full size kitchen with microwave, range, refrigerator, and all the necessary utensils. There is a flat screen TV, DVD player, stereo with CD player and IPOD docking station, phone and A/C. We provide all the necessities for your convenience and also some extras for your pleasure THE FEATURES The resort is simply incredible, featuring a huge waterfall and Koi pond in the lobby. The recreation deck features a large pool, two spas, sauna, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball court, snack bar, picnic/BBQ area, and children's playground...even a putting green! You will also find secured covered parking, a convenience store, a coffee house and a laundry room on every floor THE LOCATION Conveniently located within a very short walking distance to: of course, the famous Waikiki beach, Kapiolani Park, Aloha Shell, Aquarium, International Marketplace, Ali Wai golf course, Honolulu Zoo, Movies on the beach, and the 'Rodeo Drive' of Waikiki, Kalakaua Avenue. Car rentals, a church, a supermarket, a multitude of restaurants, and shops are easily accessed. A bus stop is located in front of the resort which will take you locally or around the entire island of Oahu! All major attractions [Pearl Harbor, Huanama Bay, etc} can be accessed inexpensively by bus. THESE ARE NON SMOKING UNITS PLEASE NO PETS PLEASE I ACCEPT: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Checks, Money Order ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing