We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mikawon

Mikawon
Ranked #326 of 2,337 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We wanted some good Korean food so we checked out this website. We went there and were treated like they didn't want us there. We order several dishes including the Bulgogi. This is a dish of cooked strips of meat that you eat in a lettuce wrap. The dish came and we asked about the lettuce and she said it was another $5! We thought, what the..., this is a $22 dollar dish and you want to charge us another $5 for what is essentially 25 cents of lettuce. We told her that when were in Korea that the traditional way of eating this was with lettuce. We said there was no way we were going to pay for the lettuce. 2 minutes later she brought out some and said that it was included.

The food was good though.

We were ready to leave and our waitress was eating lunch at the back. We waved her over a couple of times. Finally we got our bill and after another 20 minutes of trying to get her attention we got up and put on our coats. She quickly got up from txting on her iPhone and helped us. The only other time I have received this bad service was from Whitney Lee from the Bachelor Canada.

We had asked for Tea. Normally you get a pot of tea. She brought us two small cups and that was it. The worst part is we got charged $3 each for this.

I don't know if it was because we were not originally from Korea but there was something about that place that was not inviting to "us".

I would stay away and try another place, so many other places to go for excellent service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yyc-guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    49
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is the first time I tried Korean food, and I simply loved it!! It took us a while to find this restaurant, it's a small place hidden in one of the alleys in Waikiki. The decor was interesting, the walls were covered with messages/drawings from the patrons. There were about a dozen tables in the restaurant, with built in barbeque grills on each table.

I can't remember the names of the dishes we ordered, it was basically rice with vegetables,egg yolk and chicken/beef. The sides included pickled cucumber/potatoes, broccoli, cold noodles. We loved the food, and almost finished off all the side dishes too.

Service was quick. One of the waitress didn't seem to speak much English, she had a little bit of trouble describing the food and taking our orders. Prices were ok, it seemed a little high considering this isn't a upscale restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheba-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices (for Waikiki)”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This place was packed last night when we arrived. I thought it might have been because of the Marathon on the weekend, but the staff said "no, it's always like this". Fortunately, there was a table for two available. Prices for much of the stuff on the menu are on the high side, but this is normal for Waikiki - where a box of cereal and carton of milk can run you $13.

The hot stone pot of rice and other ingredients was just as good as that had in Korea, and the side dishes were ALL excellent. Normally theres one of two that aren't that great... but not here.

Noisy and can be hard to get a table, but if you like Korean food, I'd definitely give this place a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
729 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had nearly given up finding a restaurant with great food in Waikiki, until my sister-in-law (who spent time living in Korea) found this little place tucked away in an alley next to the Marketplace. We've eaten here several times since then, over a period of several years, with mostly Korean customers. Each entree we've tried has been delicious (we pick ones with lots of veggies and some meat or fish), and the 5-6 veggie side dishes are a wonderful bonus. Servers have always offered helpful advice to us Mainlanders. The cooked-to-order food is reasonably priced, and their take-out business is thriving. During our October 2012 visit to Oahu, we ate here twice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We always visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Me and family always go here when we visit Honolulu from Vancouver. This place serves authentic Korean food, that satisfies our need for good Korean food. Very reasonably priced with large portions. Love all the side dishes that they give you with the meal. It is definitely a hole in the wall though and takes some patience to find, but well worth the hunt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yninja15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikawon also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Mikawon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing