We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up, up and away in the beautiful Hawaii skies!”

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Oahu
Ranked #34 of 326 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Up, up and away in the beautiful Hawaii skies!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We added this as a something special we would do in Hawaii and so glad we did. We chose the Eco-Star helicopter (7 seater) - as website states : more personal space, first-class individual seats, and expansive glass for exceptional visibility. This is the world's newest and most expensive model of touring helicopter. Julie was our pilot - a complete angel in the sky and so considerate to ensure all passengers get a view of everything (left and right views). In the previous week we had hired a car for 2 days and taken advantage of seeing much of the North shore and West side beaches. Also climbed Diamond Head and visited Pearl Harbour. Seeing the same from the sky in this amazing 45 minute flight recapped and gave a completely different perspective of Hawaii. Wonderful views with a great photo opportunity.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    53
    14
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic views of Oahu”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My fiance bought this as a suprise for my birthday that i was celebrating whilst on holiday. Big thumbs up to him,i absolutely love it!!!! You're given a safety brief and as you are not allowed any bags on the helicopter they have a safe that you can leave your valuables. You are allocated your seats, we were sat on in the back, but no matter where you sit you have the most amazing views! You had a little microphone so you can communicate with the pilot and the others on your flight.
Our pilot was Johnathon. He was so informative and knowledgable. Answered all the questions people asked him and made sure that if there was a point of interest or something that we were talking about was pointed out and made sure that everyone had a good view. We flew over places like diamond head, chinamans hat, up to the North Shore, over the pineapple plantation and over pearl harbour. We bought the dvd of our flight, which is recorded inside the helicopter and out which was $25. I can't say enough about this experience, it was brilliant!!! It's definately a great way to see and learn about the island.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vick_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You must do this tour!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our pilot Julie was excellent very skilled and excellent commentary too.
We did this tour on our last full day having already toured by bus and hire car and this finished it off wonderfully. From the air you see everything so clearly and are able to get a feel for the whole island at once.
Its not cheap but honestly is worth every penny.
The helicopter is super modern and you get a unobstructed view from every seat. The pilot also turns the helicopter around so no-one misses anything.
You can talk to the pilot at anytime and she was just ace!
We got a great DVD too of the entire trip (optional at $25)
The only negative was I would have liked to be picked up at our hotel in a transport that had had Blue hawaiian helicopters all over it so everyone knew and also knew why we were smiling so much when we got back!!!!
Oh and wear only dark clothing so they dont reflect on your photos or other peoples photos

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandychc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“View of the Entire Island!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was really glad we did this. We spend most of our vacation exploring Waikiki, so it was incredible to get out and see an aerial view of the entire island. Breath-taking sights. They were able to accommodate us last minute during the busy New Year tourist weekend. They arranged transportation to and from our hotel, and I felt very safe during the tour. Also i didn't get motion sick, which is something I was really worried about.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
222 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Julie took us on an amazing trip over Oahu, what a fantastic way to see the island! It was also the best way to see Pearl Harbor in our opinion. If you're prone to motion sickness, take something before you go. Also, if you're coming from Waikiki, they will pick you up and bring you back to your resort. Great service and it was worth the money, we'll definitely use the company again on other islands.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank amu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Oahu also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Oahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing