We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gloria K
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home Rental? Never again.”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017
9
people found this review helpful

This condo unit is a great way to have a longer stay in Hawaii with a smaller budget, but because of the owner I don't think we will ever do a home rental again. She did not fully answer questions that we asked and sometimes took days to reply. Her standard answer was "call me on my cell if you have any questions or problems", but she never answered her cell. Email seemed to be the only way we could actually get a response, but once she had our payment she was even harder to get a response from. It got to the point where we thought we had been scammed and wondered if we would even find a room once we got to the island.
Fortunately we found the unit without incident (tower 2, 36th floor), but the very first issue was that the A/C was not working. Again the owner could not be reached! Long story short: hunting round Waikiki at 11pm for a battery was not the Hawaiian welcome we expected. The unit itself was well appointed with all the amenities stated in the agreement, it was clean, in a convenient location and was comfortable. Nice view from the balcony and loved the beach chairs and umbrella! Now for the cons: A/C leaked a huge puddle on the balcony every day (which we had to mop up every day), sliding balcony door that I could not even pull/push open without my husband's help, dirty flip flops left under book shelf by previous tenant, sheets that were so "pilled" that I had to turn them inside out (so they wouldn't scratch my skin) and put them back on the bed. And the cabinet door in the bathroom fell off its hinges. At the end of our trip the toilet was not flushing properly so we decided to give the owner one last call in hopes that at least she might try to have these things fixed for her next tenant - and of course she never answered her cell.
45 minutes later I am in the shower and two repair guys are at the door. My husband asked them to come back in 15 minutes, but they said "no, it's now or never". Thanks for the heads up Jackie! Had we known that there was actually a possibility of having these issues fixed during our stay we would have called at the beginning. However because of the owner's failure to properly respond to our questions and concerns and never answering her cell we had no reason to believe that anything would be taken care of so we just made do with what we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug R
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very nicely equipped and great location. It is in need of some maintenance but is still a good value nonetheless. I would book with Jackie again should we return to Honolulu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, great amenities”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Waikiki Banyan, Building 1 #3606 for 9 days. This is a great condo, it has almost any amenity you could want. We have stayed in many many condo rentals and this is one of the better ones that we have stayed. We were trying to decide which condo to rent from Jackie and it was her suggestion that we take this one as it has an ocean view and also city/mountain views. She was spot on as after dark it was great to see the city lights. It is just as it appears in the pictures posted. It is very cute. Even though you are only 1 block to the ocean you are off the main street so it is quieter. Do remember though that this is the city and does come with city sounds, but it is right in the middle of many restaurants and shops. You can walk anywhere from this spot, we did our morning walk along the ocean and then around the park, past the zoo and aquarium which are only 3 blocks away. The beach is 1 block down the street and there are boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and toys. The building itself has a nice coffee shop and small grocery on the main floor.

The pool deck on Floor 6 is terrific. There is a really nice pool area which is fenced in separate from the other areas with the pool and hot tub and I have never seen so many sun lounges! There is a really nice barbecue area, basketball area, tennis court and great children's playground too.

We didn't use it but the parking is very convenient and is supervised and included in your rental which is a great bonus because parking in the area is quite expensive ($20/day and up).

The booking process with Jackie was well handled and she was available for any questions.

In our case, we were coming from a cruise ship that we had to vacate by 9:30 am. We asked Jackie if we could get in a bit early and she worked this out for us. We didn't expect to get to the property until 1 pm but got there by 11:30 am, so we went to the coffee shop and had a coffee and then waited in the front lobby area of the resort which has some nice benches with a koi pond and waterfall (if you wanted, you could just take the elevator to level 6 and wait by the pool until your check in time, we did see other people do that). There is also a desk there that will arrange tours if you need them.

I was concerned that this was on the 36th floor because I wasn't sure about the elevators, but we never waited more than a couple of minutes (there are 4 elevators) and they are very high speed.

All in all, we had a great time here! We did some cooking and there were enough utensils and dishes, although there were only 2 of us there is enough for more than 2. I would definitely book here again and would recommend this location to anyone wanting to be in the middle of Waikiki action.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view!
Liked least: The pillows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officiall...
Everett, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, location, and communication with owner.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Quick responses from owner, clear instructions on the rental, everything was exactly as described. Saved money by having a full kitchen and we enjoyed the boogie boards, chairs, and extra towels. Thank you Jackie we had a wonderful time!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollerAdv...
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed here while visiting Oahu recently and had a great stay! Although a few blocks from the strip, Jackie's end unit had awesome views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. It was a very short walk to all the entertainment of the main beach area! This is a great central place to stay to explore the South and West shores of Oahu.

The unit was a bit small but we enjoyed it and my teen daughters enjoyed sleeping in the AC in the living area. We were able to park pretty close to the elevator in the condo garage which was a huge plus. Could use a wee bit of updating but overall a great place! Would stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: bedding
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrhandsat...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Great location, close to beach, bars, restaurants, shops. Was nice to be able to cook if we wanted, although we only used kitchen for breakfast. Also appreciated having sun umbrella and beach chair.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
7
people found this review helpful

This place is perfect. We stayed in unit 1905 in Tower 1. The location is perfect. Just a short walk to the beach and near all the pick up sights for tours. Also very convenient for the city bus. We were here for a week and it was great to have the full kitchen and little living area so we could lounge around when we wanted. I was also very impressed that I didn't hear anything during the night. When I first arrived I was concerned because the unit was right across from the elevator. There was no need for concern. The walls are either very thick or well insulated because I never hear the neighbors, the people above or below us. If we go back to Waikiki, this is where I am staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing