We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice building, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We just came back from Honolulu, we had a great time. The staff is friendly,helpful, and courteous.
The location is not on the beach but a few short blocks and you are on the beach, nice shops and resturants are nearby.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank vacationfun2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan F, Assistant General Manager at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your feedback recently your visit and comments about our staff. We take pride in offering our guests a genuine island hospitality when it comes to service. Our property is situated away from the hustle & bustle of a busy street; however, shops, restaurants, and the beach is a 10 minute walk. Our location is also easily accessible to the bus lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is my second trip staying at the Royal Garden. Both times I lucked out with the handicap unit which has a huge (roll in) shower. Front desk staff is GREAT... even the Events/Sign Up For Timeshare Presentation Staff are great.

To address other comments about this place, the studio unit I was in didn't have a cooktop, but did have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee maker, fridge, sink and knives, silverware and plates, bowls, etc. Great for breakfast prep, a little hard for dinner.

Six blocks to the beach, flat screen TV, clean, good bed, lanai (though no smoking).

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarkStephenSouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Garden on our recent trip to Honolulu. We actually used a time-share trade to stay, and were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms are recently and tastefully redecorated, with great beds and wonderful linens. This is a fully non-smoking hotel, including the lanais off of the bedrooms.

The hotel is located about five blocks from Waikiki Beach, and only one block from the shuttle and bus stops. You're only four blocks from Kalakaua Ave, which is the Rodeo Drive of Honolulu. The inland river is right next to the hotel, which offers a beautiful walking/running trail.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful, from check-in to check-out. The Concierge desk was incredibly good. They arranged all of our tours for us, and we were very pleased with all of them. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The only reason for four stars instead of five, is the location away from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We came here on a trial of Wyndham owner program. Were booked in a "studio" with kitchenette. The "kitchenette" is a rice cooker, coffee maker & microwave over a mini fridge. This is a hotel room, not a studio. Location of property is surrounded by apartments with graffiti on the right & a house with a tapestry of the word "WEED" on the left(pictures attached) Over the pool, there is the balcony of the apartments behind the property & you can socialize with neighbors while they watch you swim. Make sure to finish your activities early so you don't have to walk to hotel at night. You will need the time to clean your room & take trash out anyway, as there is no maid service.

Stayed: November 2013
12  Thank jaxgrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. We know that when staying at a Wyndham property there is a certain level of satisfaction that is expected. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we have just returned from our stay in hawaii. we spent the first week at the Royal Garden. I have to be honest, it was so much better than i expected when i booked it.
The room was so spacious and modern & clean! we had a beautiful view of the river & mountains.
I could not fault the room.
A special note to Aaron that works at the front desk. he was there to greet us when we arrived, and i have to say, he was the nicest hotel worker i have ever met, to see his big smile everyday would put you in great form. He could not do enough for us.
Everyone in the hotel were super nice & made our stay a trip we will never forget.
Thank you Royal Garden Waikiki, we will most defineatly be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Entry is into a lovely reception area very spacious, light & comfortable.

Fast check in & up to spacious studio with its mini kitchen & views to Canal & Beach from lanai. Good size bathroom well stocked. Everywhere very clean.
Grounds are well acred for & pool is refreshing.
Laundry has many washers & dryers available for use.

Free fast wifi + decent exercise equipment.

Staff are welcoming, remember you each day & offer assistance as required.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The outside of the building is not to exciting based on other Wyndham properties I have been at before, but the inside is entirely different. Stayed in a studio unit on the 14th floor facing west and overlooking the canal and park. This is not a beach front property but it only a few blocks away from the beach. I did not find the unit noisy, like one of the previous reviewers.Free wifi with good signal strength. The staff was wonderful, but I did skip the owners update and related activities. This was a business trip and I had no time for pleasure related activities other than several walks along the canal and the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSP9454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
1 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Prince Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: £117 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing