We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here from March 8-12, 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed the facility. Our studio room was updated, comfortable and clean. The room looked exactly as shown on the website. There was a small under-the-counter fridge, sink, microwave, dishes, cutlery and even placemats! They have dish washing soap and I think salt and pepper too but I didn't use any of that. I went out to eat but it was really nice to know that I could bring food back and enjoy it at the kitchenette table and put leftovers or breakfast items into the fridge. You can save alot of money and use it for entertainment!

There was complimentary coffee, tea and microwave popcorn provided in the unit which was a nice touch. You can ask for more at the front desk and they happily give it to you too! Every morning there was coffee brewing and depending on when you return, there was cold water awaiting you in the lobby.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. We did not have maid service daily because this hotel is partly a time share. However, that was absolutely fine with us for the price we paid.

Be careful...they leave a card on your bed for "a free gift". Don't redeem it unless you want to go on a timeshare sell. The better part of being a time share property is that you can do your laundry there for free (separate room but I didn't use it) and they have a nice small outdoor pool with patio and a games room with internet computers to use. I don't think they have daily program activities like other time shares have and if they did, I didn't know about it.

I was out from morning to night so I really didn't use the amenities. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was superb after a long day walking and loving the beach! We had 4 nice white towels. Free wi-fi and local calls in your room were other nice touches we did not have to pay extra for!

The Hotel is just around the corner from the canal and a couple blocks to walk to Fort DeRussy Park. Walk through that park and voila--you hit a wide and quieter part of Waikiki beach. We just walked all along the beach towards Diamond Head every day. It was a beautiful walk (despite the rain!) The location is very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists. It is only a block from Kuhio Avenue where the buses run if you want to take the transit anywhere. We didn't.

We could easily walk along the canal to the big Ala Moana shopping center. I think it is about a 20 mins. walk but the terrain is flat and the scenery beautiful and peaceful (no tourists were along there like me LOL). It's not that far so if you can walk, it is a nice walk there. If I left the hotel and walked the other direction, within minutes I found myself on the shopping streets having a great time!

We did not have a car but we noticed the staff park it for you in their parking garage. There was some parking on the street outside but it was metered. It is not on a busy street and it was pretty quiet and safe to walk at 10 pm.

Oh yes, the hotel provides beach towels and once you want them exchanged, you just give them to the staff and they give you new ones.

On the downside, we did notice that there weren't any restaurants within a couple streets except one steakhouse on the corner. There is no restaurant in the hotel either. There is an ABC store up the street on the corner though so you can always pick up snacks and sundries and souvenirs there all hours of the day! There are lots of restaurants "where the action is" about 10 mins. walk away.

This was a nice quiet place to stay on the edge of Waikiki that I would definitely go back to again.

By the way, our taxi from here to the Norwegian Pride of America Cruiseship pier was $17 so with tip we paid $20 on a Saturday morning. I was too late in booking a shuttle ride with VIP Transport at $8 per person (already full) so we had to take a taxi and it turned out just fine. I'm always looking for a deal so I wanted to let you know what we paid!

You will enjoy your stay here! But....if you want to be where all the action is, this is not the place for you.

Charlie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IMCheapCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha Charlie, just wanted to pass on our sincere "mahalo's" for your great review. The staff here tries very hard to "make dreams come true" so comments like yours will definitely be past on to them.
Aloha Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    208
    55
    20
    24
See reviews for
87
255
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice hotel close to Waikiki clean and modern with very nice staff free wifi in a nice location. Only down fall is it is a time share apartment building and they will try to sell that to you. Apart from that this place is well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenGreen1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments and for those few issues of concern we will definitely be being addressing for the future. I appreciated your comments about the shallow tub and think this would be a good idea to replace during our next renovation. Thank you again and hope you come back soon.
Aloha Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

If the beach is not the draw then this resort location is fine. We used a time-share trade to stay over the Christmas days and was our first time here. Tastefully renovated rooms and we had a 1 bedroom presidential which was on the 22nd floor over looking the street side, not the pool side. The one bedroom had a compact kitchen everything but a range, a full size washer and drier and good size bathroom with shower, and no bath. The lounge area sofa bed was extremely comfortable and the kingsize bed also, and the room size was large for just the two of us. Elevators seemed to be fast an efficient. Front desk and bell staff were excellent and friendly with nothing being a problem. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try and get high room avoiding the pool area side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJB21456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for your WONDERFUL review. It will be a [pleasure to pass on your comments to our staff. They work very hard and based on your review, successful.
Thank you again and we hope to serve you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We just came back from Honolulu, we had a great time. The staff is friendly,helpful, and courteous.
The location is not on the beach but a few short blocks and you are on the beach, nice shops and resturants are nearby.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank vacationfun2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan F, Assistant General Manager at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 October 2015
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your feedback recently your visit and comments about our staff. We take pride in offering our guests a genuine island hospitality when it comes to service. Our property is situated away from the hustle & bustle of a busy street; however, shops, restaurants, and the beach is a 10 minute walk. Our location is also easily accessible to the bus lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is my second trip staying at the Royal Garden. Both times I lucked out with the handicap unit which has a huge (roll in) shower. Front desk staff is GREAT... even the Events/Sign Up For Timeshare Presentation Staff are great.

To address other comments about this place, the studio unit I was in didn't have a cooktop, but did have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee maker, fridge, sink and knives, silverware and plates, bowls, etc. Great for breakfast prep, a little hard for dinner.

Six blocks to the beach, flat screen TV, clean, good bed, lanai (though no smoking).

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkStephenSouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Garden on our recent trip to Honolulu. We actually used a time-share trade to stay, and were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms are recently and tastefully redecorated, with great beds and wonderful linens. This is a fully non-smoking hotel, including the lanais off of the bedrooms.

The hotel is located about five blocks from Waikiki Beach, and only one block from the shuttle and bus stops. You're only four blocks from Kalakaua Ave, which is the Rodeo Drive of Honolulu. The inland river is right next to the hotel, which offers a beautiful walking/running trail.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful, from check-in to check-out. The Concierge desk was incredibly good. They arranged all of our tours for us, and we were very pleased with all of them. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The only reason for four stars instead of five, is the location away from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We came here on a trial of Wyndham owner program. Were booked in a "studio" with kitchenette. The "kitchenette" is a rice cooker, coffee maker & microwave over a mini fridge. This is a hotel room, not a studio. Location of property is surrounded by apartments with graffiti on the right & a house with a tapestry of the word "WEED" on the left(pictures attached) Over the pool, there is the balcony of the apartments behind the property & you can socialize with neighbors while they watch you swim. Make sure to finish your activities early so you don't have to walk to hotel at night. You will need the time to clean your room & take trash out anyway, as there is no maid service.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank jaxgrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. We know that when staying at a Wyndham property there is a certain level of satisfaction that is expected. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing