We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

only had dinner on the balcony bar, fantastic food & service & excellent musician playing his guitar, a really fun night that was not OTT expensive - enjoyed the absinthe at the bar, made it a memorable evening

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank flamelily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Aloha flamelily_12,

Thank you for sharing your review of our signature restaurant - Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge. It is wonderful to hear that the food, service, and ambiance came together to make a special night for you. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,884)
There are newer reviews for Trump International Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,884 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here in 2 stays before and after cruise. Really enjoyed it.
Good
1. Great service, well trained and attentive staff.
2. Fantastic new facilities in this new hotel. Open spaces at lounges.
3. Very comfortable rooms.
4. Actually great value in Waikiki given the typical cost of rooms at peak season in comparison to the other 4 Oahu hotels we've stayed in. A premium hotel that's not much more than lesser hotels in the area.
Bad
1. Bill was incorrect, but this was corrected fuss free.
Other Stuff
1. Rooms do book out for this Hotel, so get in early. Typical offers include book 3 nights and get the 4th free directly from the hotel's website.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agent_bx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Aloha agent_bx,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had very positive experience overall and that you found it to be a great value for you. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Waikiki. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed at the Trump the past two years at the end of November and will be back 2014.

Prior to arrival I had an email from Trump’s attaché service asking about any special requirements or celebrations (it was my birthday and thanksgiving) and they also confirmed the two restaurant bookings we had made on-line.
We were welcomed at arrival with necklaces and drinks.
This year we had a deluxe room, slightly larger than last year’s room and we certainly enjoyed having the extra bit of space (and partial ocean view). The fully equipped kitchen is a bonus and a rarity for the main hotel chains in Waikiki.
Two slices of cake, on a plate iced with ‘Happy Birthday Nicholas’, were delivered on our first evening, a very nice and appreciated touch.
We have always found the service at Trump impeccable, with staff welcoming, friendly and engaging.
I was a bit apprehensive before our first stay with its location being at the end of the main strip but that apprehension didn’t last long given the service and quality of the hotel.
The gym is pretty good. Beach bags with water, fruit, sunblock and towels for the beach are readily available from the ground floor desk. Rooms are serviced twice daily. Beds are large and comfortable.

Thanks to all at the Trump for a pleasant stay and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Aloha Nicholas629,

Thank you providing your great review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our Trump Attaché helped make the details of your celebrations memorable and special. We look forward to seeing you when you return again next year. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We pulled up and were greeted with beaded necklaces and friendly faces. Somebody gave us a short tour while a bell boy took our luggage that would make it to our room. We were offered refreshing cucumber water while we quickly checked in.
The room was beautiful. The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals. The only weird thing was that the shower didn't have any kind of curtain.
The staff is excellent. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was super attentive. The people at the concierge desk helped us out when we needed. They took care of mailing a post card for us amongst other things. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and were given some complimentary goodies.
The exercise room is a little small, but has everything you need for a short work out (including water and apples). The computers are in the library if you need to print something out.
It was a great place to stay for a romantic trip. I chose this hotel specifically because it didn't really have a family vibe from other reviews and their website. There were some families with small children there, but it wasn't like you would hear kids crying through walls or running up and down the hallways. If we go again, we would probably only stay here a couple of nights then switch to a hotel that's a little less expensive, but it was a great place to be. It's right at the edge of the strip, so you have to walk a little bit to get to some places, but that was fine with us.

Room Tip: Mountain view room was beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deli1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Aloha Deli1505,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay at our hotel. We are so happy to that you chose to celebrate your 10th anniversary here and that we were able to make it a memorable and special time. Our staff is honored by your compliments and pleased to know that you found their service to be exceptional. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place was amazing!!!!!!!! While it is not right along the beach, it is only a street away. It has a great location although I would recommend walking down towards the Sheraton for a better place for the beach. Our stay at Trump was perfect. The staff were super friendly with helping organise tours on such short notice. The hotel provides beach bags which contain towels, water, sunscreen and some snacks (apples / oranges) which was very helpful and I didn't notice many other hotels offering this. There were also umbrellas located in the foyer which you could take out without any questions asked. There was also unlimited water bottles avaliable upon request. Our room was very big and spacious with a perfect view of the beach. Breakfast was a bit pricy so we went to an ABC store and bought our own supplies and stored them in the fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 294CourtneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Aloha 294CourtneyB,

Thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a perfect stay and that you enjoyed the amenities we provided. We hope to see you again the next time your family visits Waikiki. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having stayed at a number of Trump hotels in the past (Las Vegas, SoHo, and Panama City), the Trump International Waikiki is easily the nicest of the ones that I've been to, and a top choice in Honolulu. The service is among the best I've encountered in Hawaii, and the location puts you right in the middle of all the Waikiki action. Of course no hotel is perfect, and Trump Waikiki has a few flaws – some easily corrected, some not; that said, I’d stay here again if/ when I am in Honolulu again.

Where Trump really shines though is in their service. Everyone from the valets, restaurant servers, concierge, and front desk team work in sync to make sure all requests are worked through as efficiently and easily as possible. In addition, the concierge desk has a service I’ve never seen anywhere else before. Specifically, when you are heading to the beach they give you a Trump Waikiki beach bag filled with complimentary towels, bottled water, fruit, and sunscreen. When you’re finished at the beach (or wherever else you want to take the bag), you give the dirty bag to the concierge on your way into the hotel, they clean it, and give you a fresh one the next day on your way out. This was an awesome service that every 5-star hotel in Hawaii should do.

The room I stayed in was a Superior Partial Ocean View Studio. At roughly 400 square feet it was appointed beautifully (a super comfortable bed, furnished lanai, fully stocked kitchen, marble bathroom); and though it wasn't small, it was not overly spacious either. This was fine for my trip since I was the only one staying in the room, but things could get tight if two or more people were in my room for more than a couple of days. I also noticed a few other strange things about the room, specifically: there was only one phone (by the desk), so wake-up calls were a bit of a pain; there weren't any electrical outlets near the bed; the closet was extremely small (again, fine for one person, more than one, might get tough); and while it was nice to have a kitchenette area, it would have been nicer if the bathroom and/ or living area were a bit larger, taking over some of that space.

As for the rest of the hotel, it’s definitely appointed to the 5-star level that one would expect from the hotel. Specifically, the lobby, Wai’Olu bar, pool area, and spa are all very pretty, and well maintained. If one were to nitpick though, the pool area is small (though very pretty, and more than adequate for dipping into when coming back from a day at the beach), the gym is extremely small, and the spa is really just 4 massage rooms (there isn't any kind of “spa area” with a steam room or showers – instead each massage room has its own private shower, but that’s it for the facilities).

Overall though, Trump Waikiki is a great hotel, and easily one of the top choices in Waikiki. The location can’t be beat, and neither can the service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theate3541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Aloha Theate3541,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. It is an honor to hear that you consider us to be a top choice in Waikiki with the best service in Hawaii. We are happy that you enjoyed the beach bag and that you were comfortable in your room. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've stayed twice in waikiki first time was at the surfrider right on the beach which was excellent, breakfast by the ocean was superb. This time i thought i'd upgrade to the Trump based on reviews. Well it might be a nicer hotel overall but personally i don't think you can beat being on the beach, breakfast looking at concrete isn't great.the pool is poor too.
On the plus side the staff were all superb & the room was superb I stayed on the trump floor in a 2 bed suite (free amex Centurion upgrade). So overall 5 star hotel in a 4 star location. Oh & its expensive I think i paid about $1700 a night including taxes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burtonvapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Aloha Burtonvapor,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that in spite of your beach side location preferences you enjoyed your Trump Floor suite and that the service you received was superb. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £260 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing