We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Comfort and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pure Comfort and Great Service”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The main memory that we will have of this hotel is the great Concierge team (Kawai, Jennifer and Akiko). Since the hotel is new, we had high expectations of the hotel to be clean, modern and comfortable which were definitely met; but what made Trump Waikiki stand out was how helpful and friendly the Concierge team was. They helped plan our days, recommended activities and made all the necessary arrangements.

This hotel is not a resort style hotel. Its style is closer to a very luxurious serviced apartment with a fully equipped kitchen even in our studio room (partial ocean view).

The bathrobes provided were extremely comfortable.

The hotel is located one street from the beach but it takes less than 5 minutes to walk there. Even though restaurants and shops are just around the corner, we didn't notice any noise at all.

The hotel provided beach bags (towels, water, fruit) and free water each day which were nice touches.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleYarYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    470
    124
    33
    22
See reviews for
1,077
1,083
88
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My room was so small I began to feel uncomfortable, the "infinity" pool was nothing more than a Koi fish pond and faced buildings with no sight of the ocean and extremely windy, a very empty feeling to be out on that Lanai with employees jumping at the chance to make a quick buck!
The spa was nothing more than 4 rooms with no amenities, no ladies or gents locker facilities, nothing but a few showers and a dangerous large bath tub, the service at the spa over the telephone was ridiculous, I felt like I was bothering them asking simple questions. Because I am an avid spa-goer I decided to visit the spa to have a face to face conversation as their prices are very high for a simple treatment. I got the same attitude just in person. Both the gentleman and lady were abrupt and discourteous, I did not book any spa treatments thank goodness, that spa was nothing more than a few rooms thrown together, total joke for a "Trump inspired spa".
I dined in their restaurant and after finishing my mediocre and over priced meal overheard the waiter complaining of the amount of tip I had left to his colleagues!
I checked out the next morning and moved to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel where first class service is always given, This is a joke of a hotel, the amenities are a bore, the gym is again facing buildings and with no life, the entire property is a cold experience, it actually gave me the creeps. The service from start to end was horrific, there was so much pretension, no ALOHA as they used that word every step I took.
As a world traveler and an avid hotelier I would not recommend this property to anyone and will never step foot there again, take your vacation to a true destination not some want-to-be hotel where everyone that worked there was miserable, fake, quick to take your money, NO ALOHA, Trump International Hotel is Waikiki is a major thumbs down, if you want a real escape The Royal Hawaiian Hotel is where its at!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Miked808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trump_Waikiki, General Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Dear Sir,

We appreciate all guest feedback and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our number one priority is to pamper our guests in a luxury setting that is made memorable with a genuine offering of the Aloha spirit, which is such a special part of our culture here at Trump Waikiki. We respect your opinions and are thankful that you have taken the time to comment on your stay.

As your review was such a departure from the enjoyable Hawaiian experience that has become our hallmark, it would be much appreciated if you would be so kind as to contact me directly so that I can learn more about the details of your brief visit. It is my sincere hope that we can provide for another opportunity for you to experience the hotel in the positive manner in which so many others have, since our opening just 6 months ago.

Mahalo,
Scott Ingwers, Managing Director, Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay here a lot! check out the pics!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandracarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I would not normally visit Waikiki but needed to accompany a parent to a memorial service. Couldn't have been happier with our stay at Trump International as it had exactly what we we were looking for in a luxury hotel. It's only just opened and it looks it with the rooms ( we had two) in brand new condition. Not the place for a family resort type visit as pool is very small and there are no grounds or gardens. This is definitely a high rise hotel. Perfect for business trip or as in our case, SCUBA diving while my 86 year old mother enjoyed her beautiful standard room with a lovely partial ocean view from private lanai. We upgraded to ocean view and it was spectacular from 21st floor looking over park to Hilton Village lagoon. Beach is less than a block away and there are top-notch restaurants (Roy's , Ruth Chris, PF Changs and many more within 200 yards of downstairs lobby. Initial impression is understated as lobby is small and pool area is minimal. There was always plenty of room though and some pool side service. Staff service was spectacular with friendly staff leaving no stone unturned to please us. Examples include fresh fruit on arrival, inquiring phone calls as to our needs, printed directions delivered to our room immediately for our various travels and perfect dinner reservations. Concierges would not accept tips for their outstanding service. Last, but perhaps best , is BLT Restaurant on ground floor. Top dining experience in the islands and world-class cuisine. We ate their twice and would have returned again if we didn't run out of time. Families with young children go somewhere else and leave this jewel of a hotel to the adult kids like us who treasure our luxuies!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcolhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We moved to this hotel after a horrible stay at the turtle bay resort. Fantastic suites, with lovely Japanese style bathroom. This was such a welcome treat after our previous hotel. I would return if I saw another promotional rate, v expensive otherwise...but you can understand why!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegas_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I recently stayed at the Trump Waikiki for a friend's wedding in Hawaii. The hotel was awesome. The staff was very friendly and the studio I stayed in was perfect...with a great view of both the city and the ocean. Plus, it was a half-block off the beach, so you felt like you could escape after a long day at the beach!

I booked it through Jet Luxury Resorts and got a great deal! I've used them for other trips I've taken and they always have the best rates. If you haven't looked into them, definitely check it out... I'll use them whenever I can : )

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TriciaDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My wife and I stayed at Trump Tower in Waikik from March 23-31, 2010. We paid approx $620/night (before tax). It was more than we normally pay for a hotel but well worth it. We were in a 1400 sq ft 2 bdrm + den, 2 bath, full kitchen unit. It had 4 Plasma TV's and the kitchen was outfitted with top of the line everything (Wolf, Sub Zero etc). The view was outstanding (20th floor), and the hotel conveniently located across from the beach and close to shopping. We've travelled extensively over the years and this is the first time I've written a review. The hotel staff was polite, courteous, professional, helpful, and sincere. I have no complaints about this experience and now understand why people pay more money for outstanding service and quality. Life is short, we work hard and we need to play hard too!

Scott Green
Victoria, BC
Canada

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenHornet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing