We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Submarine sensational”

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.00*
and up
USS Bowfin Submarine Museum and Park
More Info
US$135.07*
and up
Pearl Harbor Group Tour from Waikiki
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Passport to Pearl Harbor
Ranked #13 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Invercargill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Submarine sensational”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was a great to through, and it was another great piece of history. The men manning those types of submarines must have nerves of steel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,973
    924
    151
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Memorable Historical Visit”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We decided to do the USS Bowfin after visiting the USS Arizona Memorial. For the small fee to visit the submarine and museum, there is much more history to learn and experience. You get to be a submarine sailor for an hour or so. Did the submarine before visiting the museum. Better to visit the sub first as what you learn in the sub is expanded upon in the museum. Well worth the $12 to visit. We were able to take our time to learn all about the submarine experience and the history of the Bowfin. The best part was seeing where and how the torpedoes were kept. A must see for the WWII buffs!

NOTE: These are very small quarters that you are navigating through. Need to be very mobile to tour the submarine itself. You are going through a 3`opening that is 2` up from the ground and is approximately 2` wide. If you have knee, back, or hip issues, the submarine will be difficult to navigate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why Sailors have to be Small”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I'm 5'5" and I felt too big! It's important to not stand too long in the walkways. I recommend getting the headsets for self-guided tours. There are some fascinating equipment I've never seen and got an answer to why there is a bomb in the Mess! I recommend going and see what our fighting sailors had to go through in their daily lives while at war!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jansdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool, but hard not to feel rushed.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hands on nature of the display really give you a feel of just how cramped things much have been. The audio tour is cool, but people push your through the tour so fast its hard to get all the info before you are in another compartment. If there is a long line, or lots of people, pass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am a WWII geek. We stayed 9 hours on the site and it wasn't enough. The museum (not much the submarine museum) and the USS Bowfin were my favorite attractions. If you go to Pearl Harbor, you have to walk into that submarine!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martz560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing