We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.00*
and up
USS Bowfin Submarine Museum and Park
Ranked #12 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

History - great for kids, go by yourself, not on a tour set up through a company so you don't have to rush

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvthecaribben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,866
    865
    139
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A day in the life of a submariner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Amazing insight (including narrated self tour) to the life of a submariner. Tour the entire submarine, galley, mess, sleeping quarters (tiny 'hot' beds), radio room, engines, torpedo rooms and more. Allows hands on, everything is shiny brass knobs, wheels and gadgets compacted - great use of small spaces....find out why 'Bowfin' was a very lucky sub. Value for money would definately recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shebz1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
371 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“INTERESTING TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I visited with my wife and two teenage daughters. It was crowded and hot but very interesting. There is a charge. Our picture was taken and we were given headphones and a small listening device. We went aboard the Bowfin Submarine which is floating in the water. We walked through the sub climbing over the door hatches observing sleeping bunks, galleys, toilets which have plexiglass doors so you can see everything. It gave us a feeling of how it was to live on the sub. When you leave and return your headsets they offer your picture for $10 which is on a WW!! newspaper page. There is a hotdog concession and gift shop adjacent. In the same area WWII artifacts such as torpedoes and missiles are on display. The USS Arizona can be seen from there. I think this attraction gave my two teenage daughters an idea of what happened at Pearl Harbor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freemans Bay, Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

What an honour to go into a real submarine. So interesting and so beautifully maintained. Didn't feel claustrophobic until the very end (but we were warned so all good there). Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting to walk through history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The museum and sub walk through were very interesting with lots if history and great information presented via headphones, visually, and written. Presentations were well done and provided lots of background and historical data that most are probably unaware of. A tour that is well worth the money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing