We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not great”
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kuhio Banyan Club
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

When you walk in your room, you walk straight into the Golden Girls! All in pastel 80s colours and decor/furniture. The room was big with a Murphy bed, 2 couches and a kitchenette. A/C worked fine. Now the things to be aware of: 1) if you arrive after 10pm you have to call them in advance to get the code for the safe with your key. They won't email it, so if you are overseas you have to make the long distance call. 2) there is no on site parking, and the close-by parking is $25 for 24 hours. It adds up. 3) opposite the road from my room was a construction site. That was not a big deal though, because they didn't work at night. 4) outside my room was a nightclub. That was a big deal, because I heard the bass all night.
Staff was very friendly, especially the lady at the check-in.
Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michanzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    69
    27
    64
See reviews for
40
86
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was expecting budget hotel lodgings. I got upper-middle accomodations.
The room and hotel were clean and well maintained. The unit was well equipped with microwave, mini-fridge, hot plates and all the necessary utensils. The murphy bed was comfortable, and the spaces nicely furnished.
The staff, at the desk, at the concierge center, and the cleaning crew all did an excellent job in making the Kuhio Banyan my new favorite hotel in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashhurst, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, good value for money, good kitchen facilities, clean, handy to shops and buses, but right next to a night club so noisey and hard to sleep at night, we stayed a week, every night party central, great if you're partying with the peeps downstairs but i brought two kids...

Room Tip: ask to be on higher floor to the right of nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dallas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is located in an excellent location, only two blocks from Waikiki Beach. However, this establishment is somewhat dated and has no facilities, like pool or exercise room, to recommend it.
The rooms are OK for one or two people, but four is a crowd in the small rooms.
Check-in and check-out is quick and painless, unless you are checking out on a Saturday morning when all the time share users are also checking out.
So it boils down to a trade-off: great location versus lower than average price.

Room Tip: Hop on a new Mercedes shuttle bus at the airport and a few stops later you are at the hotel for a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler37572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Over all good stay stayed three days, OLDER 60'S property. Murphy bed( you have to pullit down from the wall).y. making it somewhat noisy..t room was over a restruant.... 2 blocks from beach numerous reateruants near

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitz621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedesboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place was not bad at all if you realize you are not getting 5 star but more like 3 star room wise and you are in hawaii to take in the island and not the tv you cant see when the bed is down! Everything is as advertised and my only big disagrement from previous posts is that the ladys at the front desk were extremly helpful! So again! 5 star no.. 3 star yes.. Does it have all you need?? Yes! Is it affordable? Yes!!

Thank you Banyan Club for an excellent visit!
Jayme from NJ

Room Tip: Ask about stuff for beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaufman Tex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Once again I stayed at the Banyan Club. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The murphy bed which we loved was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is ok even though I wish we had an oven. No, you can not watch tv from your bed but then who really cares. The location is fantastic. The staff was very friendly and we even got into our room early. I recommend this place however DO NOT expect a 5 star timeshare.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible and ask to stay away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firefighter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#78 of 84 in Honolulu
178 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
461 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Banyan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Banyan Club

Property: Kuhio Banyan Club
Address: 2310 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2983
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kuhio Banyan Club 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kuhio Banyan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel Honolulu
Kuhio Banyan Club Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing