We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Dirty”
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kuhio Banyan Club
Ranked #82 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Rochester, MI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old & Dirty”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an old run down timeshare. It is in a GREAT location just one block form Waikki beach , restaurants and night life. We had a great time in Oahu...Hanama Bay may be the best snorkeling I have ever experienced. Manua Falls were pretty and well worth the beautiful hike. Of course, Himing up a Diamond Head, a lui, and visiting Pearl Harbor were great experiences. I loved the fact that you can snorkel and hike during the day but then there is so much night life in the evening. I will definitely visit this island gain but there is NO way I would EVEr stay at the Kuhio Banyan Club again...it's a real pit!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fishfan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    69
    29
    65
See reviews for
40
86
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Front Desk personnel friendly enough very old school paperwork process No complaints really.
Room was dated, dark and in need of upgrade but for what it is alright. It had plenty of room big bathrooms but very small dark shower with 70s tile that you had to step up into and fridge in both rooms in the main room we had a small cook top but we didn't use it. The small coffee pot in the room had a special size small brew basket with one coffee bag for the entire stay. You can purchase additional ones for a buck a piece no thank you. Bed comfort was ehh definitely had better. The air conditioning was window air and they worked fine. Surrounding the hotel well basically the same complex was a noisy nightclub that interfered with our sleep that stayed open until 4 am. We didn't have much choice because our trip was short planned so this was only available to us through our timeshare program at that time so it worked but I wouldn't pay the price they charge outside a timeshare program. Location was decent easy walk to area shopping, restaurants, the beach and did I mention the beach? Asking the front desk for beach towels was an ok process. So in short its ok wouldn't choose to stay there again if could avoid it. But you're in paradise so you don't have to be stuck in your room if its only one available its bearable. But we are timeshare owners who expect a better caliber unit and may be harsher in this review than others but hey it worked, we didn't die and in the long run we can say we were in Hawaii

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itzjusagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

super old school hotel and super dirty. they use actual keys and not key cards.they file everything with paperwork so it takes forever to check in because apparently they dont want to update their computer systems. no balconies at all. you could here everything going on outside and there was a shady looking club right next to the hotel. wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulagirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Tempe
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are smokers and it's hard to find a room in Waikiki. This place has a few above the nightclub. There are no windows to open (but some skinny ones in the large bathroom) and no lanai. The AC is a wall unit. Leave it blowing and you won't hear much street noise. The room was OK - the bathroom is large with 2 large closets (but a very small dark shower), the kitchenette is adequate, and the location is OK but you have to park your car a few blocks away for $20 per 24 hours. Who cares about a pool when the beach is 2 block away?? Next time we will look for a better place with a lanai!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are furthest from the nightclub, smoking rooms are on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tutana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Cheap.. means cheap. Biggest bummer is the huge! $250 damage deposit they charge. Ridiculous. Other than that it was ok... for the price. Bed was hard. Street noise was all night long. However! Being raised in the 80's it was like stepping into my youth!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked this hotel on Priceline for 6 nights but was so disappointed after our first night there that we checked out the following day and stayed in a different hotel. The room they gave us smelled of mildew and there was no air circulation because there were no windows that we can open for fresh air. Outside our room, we faced a dilapidated apartment building that was inches away from our door. We bought a candle to dissipate the smell but it was as bad when we woke up the next morning. The thought of going back to the hotel after we went to the beach just terrified us thus we just decided to leave. The whole building should be torn down. Priceline would not refund our money, that was another nightmare we had to deal with.

Room Tip: Just do not even consider this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I knew that when we reserved our timeshare exchange via RCI, that this hotel was not what I was used to. There is no pool. Parking was across the street at another hotel and you pay a guy cash for access to parking. The front desk staff was really nice. Room was kinda old and warn but clean. Room is small but does have a little kitchenette. If you stay there, you need to eat at the Udon House right in front of the site. It is wonderful.

Room Tip: Use as a home base to visit the rest of the island. Ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLC-MLBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
832 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#76 of 84 in Honolulu
182 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
471 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
245 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Banyan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Banyan Club

Property: Kuhio Banyan Club
Address: 2310 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2983
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kuhio Banyan Club 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuhio Banyan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel Honolulu
Kuhio Banyan Club Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing