We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Rental-We would totally stay again.”
Welcome To Hale Kai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome To Hale Kai
Mountain View Kitchen Mountain View Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Welcome To Hale Kai
Mountain View Kitchen
Mountain View Living Area
Mountain View  Leather Sofa & Coffee Table
Oceanfront Bedroom
Oceanfront Kitchen
Oceanfront Bathroom
Oceanfront Kitchen
Oceanfront Living Area
Oceanfront View From Dinning Table
Oceanfront Living Area
Oceanfront Living Area
Front Of Property line
Front of Property
Mountain View Loft
Mountain View Bathroom
Mountian View Pool View
Mountain View Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charles L
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for 2 people”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this condo for a few days while visiting Ohau. It is located about 30 minutes from the craziness that is Honolulu, so it was nice to get away from people at the end of the day. My wife and I stayed here with a friend. The good news is that you cannot beat the view from the kitchen and bedroom, ie "oceanview." The not so good news is that the third person will need to climb a bamboo ladder to sleep in a small be in the loft. Thankfully, this wasn't an issue with our friend who is a smaller person. I think it would be ideal for a couple traveling with a child older than 7 years. There is also a nice and quiet beach within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the ocean
Liked least: The loft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
The rental is not a condo. This is a private home with 2 separate vacation rentals located on the 2nd floor of the home with private exterior entrances. The guest rented the 1 bedroom accommodation with queen bed.It also has an overhead loft with twin bed should there be a 3rd person. The rental is ideally suited for a single person or a couple but we realize many travelers are on a budget and renting a 2 bedroom accommodation can double the rate so we offer the loft for that reason. If there is any question about he loft, guests should inquire prior to arrival so they can determine if it would be appropriate for the 3rd guest, which this rental party did not do.
The ladder was custom designed using 8 inch diameter elephant bamboo. It is quite heavy and very sturdy--we have never had a complaint about the loft or the ladder. The bed in the loft is twin size and the view from the loft is the best view of the ocean in the entire house
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashdog11
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rental-We would totally stay again.”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

This was a beautiful rental property that was part of the owner's home. We rented the Mountain View Unit and it was immaculate. We were on the go our entire stay and wish that we would have utilized this beautiful property more. We would totally stay here again and the owners were very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the mountains.
Liked least: The A/C unit was either shut off from the main house or shorted out, had to call to get it to work again.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcAllen...
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the busy Waikiki”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay since we wanted to relax and get away from the congested areas on island. We also wanted an ocean front view, AC, a kitchen, and a very good sized accomodation for two. This had it all. Will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornia L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had the birthday of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was absolutely wonderful to spend the big 50 in Kailua on the ocean. The pool was a dream and the beach was surreal. I spent my birthday with a bbq dinner next to a beautifully lit waterfall pool. It was wonderful to be able to hear the waves crashing against the rocks in the morning. I hope to spend my 51st here.

Thank You

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcoast...
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable with great views”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week in late April, they're not lying when they say this place is right on the ocean! Unfortunately the weather was quite windy while we were there so we weren't able to use the beach area near the house much (it's mostly rocky but there would be room for some beach chairs when it's calm). That said, the view of the open ocean from the oceanfront suite was great. Modern kitchenette that was well appointed; the shower could use an update but overall very comfortable. A sheet/towel change mid week would be a nice addition. The owners were lovely and even brought is a pitcher of margaritas one evening when they were celebrating a birthday! Pool is beautiful and the neighborhood is clean, quiet and safe. All in all a good experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
We do not advertise mid stay linen changes but if guests let us know during their stay that they need additional linens , we are happy to provide. Also,as noted on the rental amenities, there is a laundry area in the garage for guests use.
We enjoyed having you stay with us but we wish the weather had included more sunny days for you. It's been unusually stormy weather this spring and we are still experiencing a lot of wind and cloudy days--we are anxious to welcome the summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nutmegcab
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This place was just as described, lovely! Peaceful, accommodating and very clean. The owners were very pleasant. We would recommend this place to anyone. It really accommodates 2 people comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slow Internet speed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglophil...
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice area......ocean view, lovely.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting our son who lives in Kaneohe. The apartment lives up to the pictures shown on TripAdvisor. We were in the one on the ocean side of the house. The views of the ocean were lovely, especially their slamming against the rocks. Sunrises were nice as well. The apartment was clean and looked to have been recently renovated. It was also comfortable and we had no problems sleeping except for when it rained really hard one night and was loud. That brings me to one of the problems. When it rained hard the windows leaked in both the bedroom and the living area. Had to get up in the middle of the night to put towels out. Not sure if owners knew about leaks but we left them a message. Hopefully, they will fix the problem. Another thing is that we searched high and low for soap and finally found it under the kitchen sink. A very iittle bit of liquid soap. Fortunately, we weren't staying long or would have run out. We never saw the owners. Not sure how we feel about that.....some ways it was nice and others, weird.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views of the ocean.
Liked least: leaking windows
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing