We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack's Restaurant

Jack's Restaurant
Ranked #380 of 2,337 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lack of service.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

One thing I won't do is wait 10 minutes for a menu or acknowledgement in any restaurant. It's a small place, not busy at the time of my arrival. I seated myself and waited to be served. To no avail I gathered my belongings and walked out after 10 minutes of watching staff standing around talking. You would expect to find better service at a mom and pop business but not happening here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaison_lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Stop in for breakfast on your way to the East Side of the Island! GET THE BISCUIT!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Jack's is situated in a shopping plaza right before you reach Hawaii Kai. We stopped in for breakfast and it was amazing!!

I can not stress enough that you NEED to get Jack's special biscuit! I don't know what kind of magic they are up to over there but it is DELICIOUS. It almost tasted as if they were made with scone batter and served with honey butter. SO SO good.

In addition to the biscuits, we had some really delicious pancakes and french toast.

Can't beat it -- friendly service, homey feel and great food at a reasonable price.
oh and lawnchairs in the bathroom... don't know what to say about that but its good for a chuckle when you enter the bathroom!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_0290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Predictably satisfying in casual and friendly surroundings”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

In East Honolulu before Hawaii Kai, Jack's is one of my favorite spots for casual eating. At all times of the day, whether breakfast, lunch, or early dinner, the menu is unchanging--and inexpensive. There are maybe 15 tables with the bare amenities, but looking beyond the lack of ambience, the quality and quantity of the servings, the great coffee, plus the attentive service, make an unbeatable combination for the locals. The tourists rarely wander in, perhaps offset by the appearance and location in a strip shopping center. Just as well, since the places fills up quickly especially on the weekends.
It is clean and basic--and friendly.
I usually order the Spanish tripe stew or the lamb stew, but lately I've been ordering the Chinese chicken (with anise flavoring) with mushrooms. All are delicious and rather hard-to-find elsewhere. Another unique item is their fluffy, home-made muffin lathered with soft butter.
I have never left unsatiated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good little cafe”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Great friendly service with tasty eats. Recommend the Loco Moco or chivken salad over papaya. Great for breakfast or lunch. The prices are very reasonable also.

Helpful?
Thank Rbillings
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Very good place for breakfast and lunch when you're in this area”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We hiked up Kokohead in the morning and were looking for a place to eat something before splurging on the "best" shave ice in Oahu (Uncle Clays). Jack's Restaurant was in the same shopping center so we stopped in around 10:30 after our hike. There are some basic breakfast offerings and we were fully satisfied. The waitresses were so attentive, serving us promptly and keeping our coffee constantly filled. Wife had the corned beef hash with hash browns and eggs and I had the "island" breakfast with grilled Mahi Mahi, eggs, and hash browns. We each had their biscuits which were light and fluffy and had a cornbread consistency. The fish was fresh and seasoned with some Hawaiian spices which were out of this world. Wife kept raving about the corned beef hash as it was so beautifully done. Even at 10:30, there was a steady stream of locals having brunch. I think Jacks is a great place to stop off on the way back from Kokohead or Hanamau Bay. You get good, decent food at very low prices.

Helpful?
4 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing