We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ramen since I lived in Japan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goma Tei Ramen

Goma Tei Ramen
Ranked #288 of 2,327 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best ramen since I lived in Japan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is REAL ramen - I savored every drop. I only wish I had access to this high quality of ramen in southern California. What a pity. The broth was rich (not too spicy) and the ramen itself was succulent. I ordered the fried pork on the side (delicious dipping sauce) but it would have been just as good submerged in the broth. Loved it! PS - I went at 3pm on purpose because it is crazily busy at lunch time and dinner time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
245 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding Ramen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

On a damp rainy afternoon in Honolulu, there's nothing better than a hot steamy bowl of ramen noodles. Goma Tei in Ward Center is a great place to warm you up. Lots of variety -- two different broths -- tan tan and sesame. Both are excellent. This time we ordered the katsu curry ramen and the tofu mapu ramen. Enjoyed them immensely. And don't forget the gyoza -- so good. The tofu mapu had chunks of firm tofu and ground pork in the ramen. The katsu curry had pork tonkatsu in a Japanese curry broth. Yummy. The Ward Center location is small, with just a few tables and a wrap around counter. But service was fast and folks move in and out quickly. It can be crowded with a wait outside but it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heybrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Ramen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very good ramen. Huge portions. We love their char siu classic broth. Definitely a favourite!
They are super popular, so there can be a bit of a wait, but service is super fast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

It's not 100% authentic Japanese ramen, but it hit the spot.

Good:
-Crazy portion size. First time ever in my life I couldn't finish the entire bowl of ramen.
-Did I already say crazy portion? My bowl came with 3 super thick slices of cha-siu. The cha-siu could have been an entree on its own.

Bad:
-Long line ups, but they have a great system to make sure you don't lose your spot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chenkenichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“HOLY RAMEN! SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

One of my favorite eats in Hawaii! Service so fast and food CRAZY delicious! Generous portions and really reasonable price. Can not say enough...LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!

char siu tan tan ramen (BEST)
seafood tan tan ramen
ban ban ji chicken

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goma Tei Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Goma Tei Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing