We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great place to visit! Hotel and Staff are AMAZING! Great hotel for couples, very romantic!! (maybe not so much for kids)
Was a short walk to ride to the major shops and beach, but still enjoyable to walk. (Starbucks is on the way at the Hilton)
Choose this hotel you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can, Suki will make it happen if she can! (she is so sweet and kind) the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Heider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,851
    799
    213
    71
    36
See reviews for
656
1,858
202
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Arrival at the hotel the staff were friendly, quick and efficient. The concierge Stephanie was amazing organising and suggesting activities with attentiveness to our needs. The hotel itself was new, fresh and had many interesting charachteristics lke a bar hidden behind a revolving bookcase a stunning pool bar area with delicious food choices.

Room Tip: any room choice is great we had a city view but you could also see the lagoon and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

hotel rooms are very comfortable,staff are friendly and helpfull. not the cheapest on the island but we also stayed at a cheaper hotel and there service and rooms are worth the extra dollars

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronj350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyCandy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Went to the Pool Bar for food and drinks. Of all the places in Honolulu we went to this was the only one that asked for a c/card upfront.(Maybe people do runners?) Food arrived and we waited and waited for our drink, eventually having to ask - someone forgot! But one was then complimentary, so that was a professional way to handle that mixup. Next evening we decided to give The Modern another try, this time the Lobby Bar, disappointing cocktail menu, under previous ownership the place had the best list in Town.Room half full, nice space, had to wait until staff decided we might want to order a drink. " We don't have any lychees", was a sullen answer to a request for a Lychee Martini. So we left. I know there was history with a takeover of this place, but if your staff are happy, your clients are happy. There is definitely something smelly in the fridge at The Modern.

Room Tip: Honolulu is a busy noisy city, Away from traffic would be a start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

To Whom it my concern 
My Wife & I previously stayed at this hotel before when it was called The Waikiki Edition hotel. This was our return to his hotel. But unfortunately the room we checked into was infested with trails of ants in it. This problem was quickly alleviated by the front desk manager Suki, by quickly arranging another room for us. Not only did she upgraded us to the ocean side but this tiny lady moved all the luggage for us. She also set up hot cocoa service for us. The only other negative comment we have was the turn down service wasn't consistent. Some days we had bottles of water in the room and other days we did not, You do not receive housekeeping service unless you call and ask for it. So this is a mixed review. The overall experience made up for the shortcomings. We will defiantly return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikejonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel was nice and fairly relaxed during the day. There's a club in the hotel though that seems to be very popular. NEVER heard so much noise at 4:00am when they let out. Yelling, screaming, things being thrown, etc. and I heard this on the 10th floor. The hotel said they had many complaints but no poolside rooms which were quiter were available. If it wasn't for the lack of sleep (4 of the 5 nights) I would go back...the way it is now...no way.

Room Tip: Ask for a high pool-side room or you won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrichC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We where a group of friends traveling around Hawaii for three weeks and we stayed at the Modern two times during our trip. When we first arrived to Oahu for three nights and for our last night before flying home to Sweden. This hotel is perfect for a younger audience and I would not necessarily stay here if I had kids. There are plenty of other hotels that caters to that audience so as traveler in my mid 30's (as the rest of the group) I did appreciated not being splashed or bombed every 5 min in the pool :) The service is overall very good and the staff as well. The hotel has some great features as the bookshelf that acts as a small library during the day but at night is turned and voila it opens up to a lounge/bar area during the night. It's the little things that makes things great! I also have to mention the sarongs and the colorful ukulele that are on display in the rooms, nice and funny touch :) The hotel also have a popular nightclub and the pool area offers a great setting for some late evening drinks.
So if you are looking for a hotel with nice design and a somewhat younger feeling book the Modern!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing