We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Modern Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Your stay at The Modern Honolulu starts with traditional Lemonade with a splash of fresh Cilantro and a cool towel to relieve the humidity. The chic design of the hotel begins with the collage of autographed surfboards floating above reception. When you turn around, there is an impressive bookcase occupying the opposite wall. In the evening, it opens like a secret hideaway to The Study, a venue to enjoy a cocktail or something light to satisfy your taste buds. On the way to your room, next to the elevators there is an interactive touch screen highlighting The Modern’s areas to unwind and things to explore in the local area.

ROOM | The Partial Ocean View Room upon entry is spacious and light. The white and cream hues with teak features are a contrast to the usual palates of Hawaiian hotels. The room almost felt like you were in Los Angeles if it weren’t for the decorative ukulele, shells and colourful sarongs, which are also available for purchase. The view over the hotel’s two pools, especially the Sunset pool was stunning and extended towards the yachts and ocean horizon. The oversized outdoor furniture gave it another modern edge.

The king bed was comfortable and the Frette linen added an extra touch of luxury. There was no coffee & tea making facilities or stocked mini bar in the room, but items were available on request. Complimentary bottles of water were in room and were refreshed twice daily including Turn-down in the early evening. The bathroom was simple yet modern with a large Terrazzo vanity including a double sized basin and oversized shower. The Lather amenities were plentiful.

HOTEL | This is a hip hotel with a stylish touch where you can find lots of beautiful people. Along with The Study bar is Addiction nightclub for those who love to dance the night away. On the last Friday of every month, Elements at The Modern event is complimentary for in-house guests and includes fireworks on the beach which can also be enjoyed from your private terrace as well as a photo booth so you can pose like a celebrity and a local fashion show by the Sunrise pool.

We spent most of our time at the Sunrise pool and bar. Happy Hour served cocktails with names like Dragon Berry Hai and Siberian Sunset along with wines and boutique beers. The food menu has delicious options and the Spicy Fries and fresh Maui Gold Pineapple with bright Li Hing Mui powder are a must! The Sunrise pool area overlooks the endless yachts and is the place to relax on a daybed or oversized chaise with decorative cushions. The Sunset pool designed by Yves Klein is an adults sanctuary complete with palm trees and sand to tickle your toes. The Sunset pool is perfect for lazing around with your feet in the water or catching some sun on a lilo.

THE SMALL THINGS | On arrival we were asked by Valet if we wanted to carry our own bags up the small flight of stairs or did we need assistance. It wasn’t the best first impression for a hotel that prides itself on service. At Check-in we were greeted by a trainee who was friendly but was unable to tell us succinctly about what The Modern had to offer. I loved the pre arrival emails from Guest Services to help us personalise our stay, but was disappointed when the complimentary items weren’t in our room on arrival or delivered at all during our visit. If the pre arrival requests were executed, it would have been a concept well done.

We dined three times at the Sunrise pool and two of the times the initial service was slow. Guests who sat down after us were served before us and a staff member just bought us our bill without asking if we wanted dessert. The one afternoon we had free, we were unable to relax by the Sunset pool due to a Wedding. There was also complimentary take away coffee near The Study each morning which is great for those who need an early caffeine fix, but tea lovers are not accommodated.

IN SUMMARY | What you need to know….

- ROOM - Modern simplicity and spacious
- NUMBER - 927
- VIEW - Partial Ocean View
- BED - King size with Frette linen
- BATHROOM - Terrazzo vanity and oversized shower
- BATH AMENITIES - LATHER bamboo crème
- MINI BAR - Empty…. However there is an in-room menu to personalise your own bar including Modernized Bar Setups
- BREAKFAST - Did not sample, but the menu looked appetising
- RESTAURANT - Did not dine at the Iron Chef’s Morimoto Waikiki
- ROOM SERVICE - Did not sample, but there is a good variety of items on the menu
- HOTEL - Chic design throughout including the Sunset pool
- SPA - Did not visit, but the treatments are reasonably priced
- WI FI - Free and fast
- LOCATION - Away from the main Waikiki Beach, but close to the Ala Wai yacht harbor and endless shopping at Ala Moana
- PRICE TAG - Luxe
- LOVED - The room and complimentary entry to the Elements at The Modern monthly event

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Mc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,681
    746
    205
    67
    33
See reviews for
601
1,748
188
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a fantastic time at The Modern and wish we could stay there more often! Staff are very friendly, rooms are stylish and spacious, light and bright, and we had an Ocean room which provided lovely views of the South Shore swell over Waikiki. Beds were about the best I've ever experienced- like sleeping on a cloud! Seriously good. The Modern is just on the edge of the Waikiki strip- you wouldn't want to be closer in my opinion, it all gets a bit tourist metropolis further down. The whole place is cool but in a very friendly way, the breakfast at Sunrise was delicious and worth every cent. Dinner there also good and Morimotos was AMAZING! Quick walk to Ala Moana Center for shopping or the Waikiki strip. All in all, was quiet, stylish, and really beautiful quality hotel and we got a great deal on Expedia which made it excellent value for money. Wish we were going back soon but would return to Honolulu to stay here any time!

Room Tip: Ocean room was worth it, but city view would be lovely at night too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumu_Goes_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Modern Honolulu, We arrived early in the morning and they were able to find us a room that was ready which was fantastic and made the day much easier on us the staff took care of all our bags and they were all very nice. Our room looked the same as the advertised pictures and it was always clean when we returned after being out and all bathroom products were restocked daily. the beds were comfortable aswell. It was nice and close to Waikiki beach. The sunrise and sunset pools were lovely to laze around in they were just beautiful and the staff there were great always very nice and attentive. we also had drinks in The Study a few nights while there, it was a lovely little bar and again the staff were wonderful. The food at Morimoto was fantastic as were the staff. Overall we had a great experience at The Modern Honolulu and we would recommend this hotel to anyone, we would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we chose the partial ocean view room which we loved cos we got a view of both city and ocean. we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Aloha kirsty A,

Thank you for your review. I’m so happy you had a great stay and found our rooms to be comfortable, clean and always well stocked with bathroom amenities during your stay. Our beds are just heavenly to sleep and relax in, especially after a long day tanning at the sunrise pool. Mahalo for mentioning the great service of our team members and your visit to our sexy lounge known as The Study. Thank you so much for staying with us. We are definitely looking forward to seeing you soon!

Aloha,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

As a business traveler, I want to stay at a hotel that is not overridden with tourists and children. The Modern is just the right place, as it is quiet, comfortable and luxurious. The rooms are contemporary, while maintaining the charm of old Hawaii. The staff is the best you can find, from the valet to the front desk to the concierge service. And Morimoto's, which is right in the hotel, was an incredible dining experience, and an impressive place to entertain clients! The location is perfect, as it is at the northwestern end of Waikiki Beach, and an easy walk to restaurants and a quick hop to the financial district. I will look forward to many return visits to The Modern Honolulu, as it made my business trip a luxurious indulgence that far exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a much better view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Aloha Pamela M,

Our hotel is certainly convenient to downtown Honolulu! Thank you so much for your excellent review on our sleek hotel. I’m pleased that you had a great time and will certainly stay with us in the future. I loved how you were descriptive in the location of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us! We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise.

Aloha,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The Modern has an awesome pool area, which was somewhat quiet and restful during the day. Close to Waikiki beach but out of the fray of central Waikiki. The nightclub is wild and loud at night, so be ready for that... Service is great all around!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntkmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at The Modern Honolulu. Location was perfect for me as it was a within walking distance to Ala Moana shopping centre and waikiki beach. Amazing pool bar, restaurants and the staff were so attentive and so friendly. The rooms were huge and had everything you could possibly need. Im a travel agent and I would recommend this hotel to all my clients!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I loved staying at the Modern. A very hip and happening hotel with sophisticated and elegant designs. The hotel has study behind it a bar in the evening which i think is just innovation at its best. Loved the reception area and the staffs were all so very helpful in guiding us to great restaurants, shopping and reserving our cab with confirmation in the room within short time. The food was yummy and being a vegetarian had many options to choose from. Restaurant at Modern was superb overlooking beautiful ocean, marina and breathtaking views. I felt like i was at home since I was so well looked after by the staff. The Addiction club at the Modern is also very convenient and shopping there as well. Its a one stop shop, enjoyment for anyone of any age. Whole package. Must return and must highly recommended to friends.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th Floor and it was a city & partial ocean view from my room. Woke up overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing