We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest staff anywhere in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest staff anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I booked the first few days of our honeymoon trip at the Modern Honolulu. From the get go the staff were fantastic and the service has been remarkable.
I can honestly say - I've never had friendlier and more attentive staff ever!!!
Thank you Russell for pointing us to the best spots around Honolulu and for providing such a personalised level of care; we really felt like we were the only guests there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zik Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,721
    757
    207
    70
    34
See reviews for
620
1,772
193
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Often I am disappointed by hyped up reviews, however the Modern did not disappoint!
The attention to detail, wonderful friendly helpful service, amazing restaurant and pool area - I didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lis1978p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel based on the reviews from other people and we were very pleased with the choice. Because of earlier reviews I paid the additional cost of an Ocean View room, so we had a room on the 10th floor overlooking the pools & the marina. Noise was not an issue but I can see that for others that get a room facing the road then noise would possibly be a factor.
The biggest asset for this hotel is the staff. They were genuinely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Location is also a positive because it is 15 mins walk outside of the main area which means that you are slightly removed from the really busy part of Waikiki. The bonus is that you can easily walk down to the lagoon and from there walk along the beach front which is a very nice alternative route into the main shopping area.
On our last day it was pouring with rain so we just went down to the covered area beside the pool, took up residence in a rocking chair and spent the majority of the day relaxing and reading. It was perfect.
The Modern is my choice for any other return trips to Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed for 5 nights for our honeymoon. Rory and Erin helped me out with my stay from start to finish. The experience from the reservation to check-out was perfect~
The room is modern style, very clean. The pool is open 24hrs and the water is warm.
It is about 2 miles from the downtown Waikiki, but if you rent a car, you get to park at the zoo for $1/hr. Overall, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for one night. Rooms are very nice. We ate lunch at the bar by the pool and the food and service was excellent. At at the Japanese restaurant Morimoto in the evening and this was also amazing and the service did not disappoint. My only comment on this hotel is the construction is strange and there is alot of noise in the hallways on the floors of the rooms - lots of banging and echoing which disrupts sleep. I would recommend this hotel - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have just returned from a 9 night stay at The Modern in Waikiki and want to say what a terrific place it is to stay. I have previously stayed at the Moana Surfrider and The Royal Hawaiian and whilst they are beautiful hotels would much prefer this Boutique style hotel. I never had to line up or wait for anyone to help and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff I dealt with. Russell on the Front Desk and Florence in housekeeping particularly I would like to thank and also Ross who patiently helped me change rooms. My daughter and I shared a Partial Ocean View room on the 15th floor and my only comment is that if you are a light sleeper pay the extra for an Ocean front room as there is traffic noise if you are nearer the road. Thats what I will do next time as we hope to repeat this trip next year. The bedding, pillows and comfort of the room is great and also the pool area and restaurants. We ate at Morimoto's twice. It is a little pricey but very good. 10 minutes walk to Ala Moana shopping centre and about 15 mins walk into central waikiki or bus stop just outside. The concierge desk staff were also very helpful with renting cars and choosing other restaurants. Sorry cant remember all the names. I have travelled a lot but found The Modern really stands out over a lot of other hotels in the world. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Choose a Ocean View room pool side if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

great design and service. despite being a boutique hotel the place was very accommodating to our family. great pool and bar and morimoto waikiki was great. definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a high-end, boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing