We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,332)
Filter reviews
4,332 results
Traveller rating
3,093
888
229
80
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,093
888
229
80
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffturn down servicepartial ocean viewthe main strip
Filter
Updating list...
2,989 - 2,994 of 4,332 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From the time you step from the taxi you feel special. The staff is incredible and always have a smile and a nice greeting. The room was clean, beautiful and comfortable. We loved the outdoor dining and bar and the food is fantastic. We were sad to leave and will be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo L, Reception Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Aloha Rjnews,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our teams and feedback on on rooms. I'm glad you and yours were able to call us home for a bit and able to enjoy our outdoor spaces. Let us know when you're back, we'd love to make it special for you! Mahalo, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is cool, funky and oozes quality. The team are great and the rooms a real experience. Two outdoor pools, one for adults only, which is perfect, everyone is happy. Lovely outdoor dining and bar and a great spa. We stayed in three hotels whilst on the island and this was by far the best. The stay is personalised from making the reservation, to check in with the ability for the guest to suggest times for the room to be serviced in the morning and at turndown in the evening. My only feedback to the managing team would be that if you are going to personalise the stay to that degree put checks in place to ensure this is followed by the housekeeping team. We requested a turndown at 9pm, which worked on the first evening but the second evening the maid arrived at 6:45pm whilst we, and most of the corridor were getting ready for dinner. We requested she come back in an hour, but her face dropped and we placated the situation by saying not to worry and she handed water and cookies to us. Most people were in their rooms at this time preparing for an evening out, so perhaps the turndown service could be a little later, or, in line with the time requested. It is only a minor niggle, but if you are going to ask for timings it has to work, or, don't ask.

Room Tip: Ocean view king
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo L, Reception Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Aloha bardswalk,

Thank your feedback from your recent stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed the Sunrise and Sunset pools, they are surely a highlight of our outdoor spaces and provides an area for all ages to enjoy. We enjoy offering personalized service as during your time here, you are an insider to all that is cool, hip, and trendy. I have since passed on your comments to our Housekeeping teams so they may examine further and better accomodate guests during the evening. I look forward to your stay next, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for the next time. Mahalo, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Perfect holiday in Hawaii, thanks mainly to this amazing boutique hotel. Great views from our ocean front suite- my only complaint room wise was that the cable for our bedroom tv was broken leaving us with only 2 channels and they were unable to fix it.

Wifi was free- as it should be!
We had the breakfast package and they allowed us to order room service breakfast as opposed to the standard hotel breakfast buffet- which was amazing! Having it delivered straight to your room without extra cost is a very nice touch.

The staff were attentive and the concierges were particular helpful. Whilst organizing a romantic night for my girlfriend and I , they threw in a complimentary mini bottle of sparkling and were more than happy to put the bottle of champagne (which i had purchased off site) on ice for me.

Addiction is the club adjoining the hotel- which is very popular on the weekends. As a guest you get free entry. Be warned it's a bit of a concrete sweat box.

The study is a great evening bar that does live music most nights- highly recommended place to chill before heading out.

If i return to Hawaii- i'd be hard pressed to pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red_Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo L, Reception Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Aloha Red_Three,

I'm glad you had a perfect holiday while visiting the islands! Thank you for your compliments about our concierge team as I am confident they enjoyed every moment of planning a romantic night for you and your girlfriend. I am glad you were able to have cocktails and enjoy the live evening music in The Study, it is by far one of my favorite places to be and where our guests enjoy before heading out for their night, or indeed winding down from their day.
I have passed on your comments and we are looking into the cable issue that affected your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Let me know when you're due back and can make another perfect holiday here at The Modern Honolulu! Best, Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Three girlfriends did a staycation at The Modern to celebrate a birthday and it was the perfect weekend. We lounged by the pool during the day, had a drink at The Study in the evening and then danced all night at Addiction. The view from our room was spectacular - it almost made us never want to leave the room.

The service was top notch. I loved the lemonade that they offer at check-in. Our bellman offered to bring us a refrigerator because he noticed we had some items that needed more than the cooler offered in the room. We were also surprised with a cupcake for the birthday girl. All great personal touches that made our stay that much better. I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Food, drinks, service and scenery were just fabulous! The room was modern and comfortable and the bed was heavenly. The atmosphere at the pool bar was perfect! Morimoto's was decadent and romantic, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews