We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The room was spacious and modern, with a big balcony. Ours was overlooking the pools with the beach in the background – beautiful during the day and night.
There are 2 pools, one for adults only that is a paddling pool (that didn’t make much sense to me) and the main pool which is generally busier. Although it is only a flight of steps from one to the other.
There is no beach but it’s just a short walk away. There is also a large shopping centre 15-20mins walking.
We only had breakfast in the hotel one day and although my omelette was very expensive, it was also the best omelette I’ve ever had! We ate lunch by the poolside a few times and again the food was excellent.
My only complaint is that there is a minimum spend to use the double sun beds in the main pool area. This hotel is not cheap you are already paying a premium to stay here, why add a minimum spend for these? They also put ‘reserved for VIP’ signs on these beds ruining the exclusivity feel of place.

Whilst in Honolulu we visited some of the other nearby hotels and although they seemed nice enough they were also enormous concrete blocks, the Hilton has 5 very tall apartment blocks... I guess it’s personal preference but I would much rather stay at a smaller boutique hotel like The Modern where you feel special and not just one of the many thousands staying there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,810
    785
    213
    71
    34
See reviews for
641
1,836
199
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Booking online can be a challenge when all you have to go by is photos and reviews. We scored big on this one! It is the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time. The beds are so comfortable and room is very "modern." Our room (919) was a king ocean view and had a terrific view of both pools and the ocean. On Tuesday and Friday nights there was a great fireworks show from the neighboring Hilton Hawaiian Village in the lagoon. If you have a chance to go here, do it! The staff were some of the friendliest I've been around. There is a hidden study that provides coffee in the morning and turns into a nightclub at night. They bring you bottled water three times a day with turn down service at night. Another perk were super comfy slippers and a robe...I don't usually say this but it was an awesome place to be.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rrosepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo L, Reception Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Aloha rrosepetal,
Thank you so much for the kind words and excellent review! I think all of my team members chuckled and were proud that you would stay here for a month if it were feasible! Glad that you were able to experience a little bit of home and were comfortable with your time in Honolulu. Please let us know when you're back in the area as we would love to have you for a month! best regards, Ricardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Honestly, I expected better from the reviews, and was definitely somewhat disappointed with the hotel. Don't get me wrong, it is a fine place to stay, but just not that exciting or interesting.

The Good:
-Poolside service and breakfast service is great
-Location for Waikiki is good, though not directly on the beach
-Free water, etc. in the room
-Lobby library bar was fun
-Pool temperature was great

The OK:
-Slow elevators can take forever
-Ocean view can mean side of building and if you lean over the balcony you can see the ocean
-Noisy due to proximity of street
-Somewhat dated property with painted on enhancements
-Chic, but felt like it was trying a little too hard to get there

Room Tip: Book a true ocean view and not side of the building ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo L, Reception Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Aloha jgordon24d,

I wanted to thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. Very exited to see that you enjoyed the service and features of the Sunrise Pool and our location in proximity to Waikiki beach, we certainly enjoy being off the strip and away from the hustle and bustle it can offer. Please accept our apologies for your experience with regard to noise from your room and view. We do offer our Ocean Front Suite categories that have a full dedicated view of the water and I would recommend them if looking for the quietest room as they are the furthest from the street. I have looked into the elevator issue as mentioned and we have had them checked and re- checked for proper function and swiftness throughout the floors. Please reach out to me in the future as would love to accomodate you and ensure all your needs are looked at and able to make up for the shortcomings experienced. Best Regards, Ricardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I wasn't able to book my favorite hotel for a short notice business trip, so tried the Modern. Overall, the value is good for the price. The Staff was friendly and efficient, the rooms clean and comfortable. The Sunset Bar is a nice Adult oasis with lots of green and a shallow reflecting pool. The only drawback seemed to be the location. It is not beachfront, but has a decent view of the Marina. However...at 0320 EVERY morning there seemed to be a large congregation of loud people directly under my window, making it difficult to sleep beyond that point. Also, if you are looking for a Hawaiian, or tropical ambiance, this is NOT the hotel for you. It is decorated in a "modern" cosmopolitan style, lots of white and black. It could be in most any large city in the US or Europe. The only nod to being in Hawaii is the artwork behind the front desk, which is made up of broken surfboards. I would rate this hotel as above average to good compared to others in the area. Just had no Hawaiian feel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms fronting onto Hobron St. They have a little view of the Marina, but are pretty no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently stayed two nights at The Modern in Honolulu. Great location with easy access to the beach. Two pools, both with bars and food and with personnel. You seldom see two bars with staffing. One pool is adults only. Both pools face West. Live music at the pool both evenings we were there. Live music in the lobby, both evenings we were there (Wednesday/Thursday). It was very nice to hear music throughout the hotel all day long. Excellent service by the Valet staff and front desk. You really cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms towards to ocean are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We traveled to Hawaii for the first time over the Chinese New Year holiday from Hong Kong via Japan, along with our 17 year old daughter. Our flight arrived at 6AM so we arrived at the hotel around 7AM. Although the normal check in time is 12 Noon the staff at reception arranged a slightly earlier time and offered us tea and coffee in the "Study" area in the lobby and encouraged us to take breakfast by the pool side. We found the room ( Ocean facing on the 10/F ) to be bright, spacious and very clean, with everything we required and a fantastic view in all directions.
We contacted the concierge staff to ask advise on booking 2 full day trips. One to Pearl Harbour and the other to "Big Island". The staff member was both knowledgeable and helpful and all was arranged without any problem. Both of these trips involved very early starts ( 6AM and 5AM ) even at this time of the morning the front desk staff were bright and friendly, asking if they could help with taxi's, directions or umbrellas!
The bed was big and comfortable, breakfast selection plentiful and varied, and service was friendly and efficient at all times. A "take away" box was arranged for my daughter who didn't quite make the cut off time of 11AM, we were on holiday after all!!!
In all we had a great time both in Hawaii and staying at The Modern Hotel and would gladly recommend to friends and family.
Although not the cheapest hotel around - at the end of the day you do get what you pay for!
Last but not least the free wi fi worked extremely well all of the time both in our room and all areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice and "modern" as the name says. Young hotel staff. Modern design. Very clean. Beautiful pools. Nice place to bring your local friends for a nice drink or two. Loved hanging out with the bar staff. Front desk was very accommodating. Valet service was busy but certainly up to the challenge. It's not beach front, but it's an easy walk to Ala Moana and 1/4 mile to other hotel beaches. Not your typical Waikiki hotel, and that's why I liked it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATXOKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing