We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deconstructed Mai Tai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
866 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Deconstructed Mai Tai”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On the advice of some friends prior to dining at Morimoto's we decided to have the deconstructed Mai Tai offered at the Modern Hotel's pool bar. This is a drink you don't want to miss, absolutely delicious! Great atmosphere and service too, one of the best drinks we had on our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,877
    811
    216
    73
    36
See reviews for
669
1,875
205
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I signed up for a trip advisor account just to write this review. I've been to Waikiki a few times and have stayed in a variety of locations. The Modern is by far the best experience I've had on Waikiki. The staff is extremely friendly and the atmosphere is much less cluttered and far more refined than what I've seen in the rest of this area. If I return to Waikiki, I will definitely stay at The Modern again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Modern Hotel is everything every hotel in Miami South Beach strives to be but it's better. It's cool, contemporary, and comfortable without alienating guests. You will see families, singles, couples, older, younger, not just the beautiful people like in Miami. The rooms are crisp, clean, and very user-friendly. The restaurant, Morimoto, is outstanding. The staff is well trained and service oriented. I'm a fan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Study at The Modern Honolulu is the most contemporary, sophisticated and trendy lounge in Honolulu hidden secretly behind a bookshelf wall near the lobby. I organized an after dinner party for the local team of our corporation, being one of the most well known fashion company in the world, and our team who is always trending toward high expectation, had the most wonderful time due to the very special and attentive care from the hotel management and professionalism of the staff. The delightful evening will be a memorable experience of excellence for all of us!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick-Gey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honoluku
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've stayed at luxury hotels all over the world, and I would rate this among the best experiences I've had. The staff are welcoming and the environment is pure luxury. If you're looking for a celebrity or royal feel, this is the place. I'm eating dinner at Morimoto's as I write this and the steak melts in my mouth. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad2Fv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Whether you are visiting the islands or are a local looking for staycation, The Modern is THE best hotel to stay while in Waikiki. We stayed at The Modern twice in July 2013 (once for my bachelorette party and then again for my wedding). The service is OUTSTANDING! From the very moment we stepped out of our car, the hotel staff was very attentive and friendly! From the valet to the bell-hops to the front desk staff and concierge! Wherever we went on hotel grounds, the staff at The Modern was quick to make sure all our questions were answered and needs were met. We loved our dinner and breakfast at Morimoto. Ask to be seated outside for dinner...the ambience and lights from the nearby harbor are so romantic! The decor in the rooms and around the hotel are AMAZING! As locals, we enjoyed the intimate vibe we felt at The Modern. Everyone there felt like family! We cannot wait to return to The Modern in April 2014!!

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean view or partial ocean view room. If possible, request a room away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheaChelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I travel to the Modern during the day to check out the hotel. The moment I arrived I love the boutique style hotel. I notice they have their own scent too. Which smelled lovely. The pool was nice and it seem more like an adult hotel. I wanted to make it for lunch at Morimoto. Lunch was fantastic. Also try the coconut mojitos at the bar outside. So declicous. I would certainly love to stay at this hotel for my next trip here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing