We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Waikiki Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a great property conveniently situated on the edge of Waikiki so it is a much quieter location. I chose to stay here first because of the location. Everything you need is in walking distance including great restaurants at all price points, Ala Moana Shopping center, the Convention Center and Waikiki Beach. Morimoto's is great a top restaurant right on property, the Library Bar is always a lively place and a most interesting place for people watching!
Beautiful ocean and harbor views. The "Modern" decor is hip, fun and still keeps you in mind of being in Hawaii. Staff are all attentive, friendly and you can tell they have been very well trained to make guests feel pampered and comfortable. This is always my first choice when staying in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,759 - 2,765 of 4,233 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at The Modern prior to a business conference. We thought the property was very nice and we were really happy with our room. We got a package which included an upgrade to a oceanfront suite, breakfast, a spa treatment and a resort credit, a really GREAT value!! We were a little taken aback upon arriving because the carpet in the lobby and hall to the room was stained, which The Modern should really address, however, our room was very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and they had the long pillows, which is a real plus for me!! Also, in the room, was a Keurig Coffee Maker, which was generously stocked everyday. The staff was exceptionally friendly and nice and very helpful. The concierge desk was extremely helpful and addressed our every need and want, including making reservations and altering them. The pools were great with plenty of comfortable and large lounging chairs with attendants who took towels to the chairs and covered them for you. We had dinner at Morimoto, and it was fantastic. We had breakfast each morning and it was fantastic. We were really sad when we had to leave to go to the Hilton Hawaiian Village for the conference. The only thing we would have changed was going to the conference first and then The Modern after, to really appreciate its serene, quite and classy atmosphere, especially after the Hawaiian Hilton, which is extremely busy, kinetic and not a chair to be had at the pool after 7:00 AM!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My partner and I researched for about 2-3 weeks on where to stay in Waikiki....we knew each hotel inside and out. The Modern was our choice in the end and we did not regret it 1 bit. The rooms are not huge but very clean, and as the name suggests, modern. The service was awesome. All the staff were lovely and helpful in every way. We could have stayed another 2 weeks. I have already talked 2 other friends into changing their accommodation to stay at The Modern. Highly recommend it. The staff, pools, gym and food were all great. Cannot fault it. It's a little away from the main strip of Waikiki which for us was perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Modern Honolulu in April 2014. From the moment of my arrival I found the staff to be very attentive and friendly. I had previously stayed when the hotel was the Edition and I was so pleased that they kept the same decor and fun chic atmosphere. I recommend upgrading to an Ocean View room category to take advantage of the typically gorgeous sunsets. One of my favorite aspects of the hotel is the bar that opens up at night when it is revealed from behind a lobby bookcase. The pools are relaxing with very comfortable seating and plenty of space. The hotel is very close to Ala Moana shopping center with lots of dining options and on property they have the amazing Morimoto restaurant.
The concierge staff was very friendly and gave great suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing bu tI would choose an ocean front or ocean view option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauisungod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Whether you lounge by the pool or enjoy a drink at the bar, The Modern offers pleasant, courteous service. We look forward to visiting the hotel and staff each time we stay in Honolulu. Our first stop is for a sunset cocktail during Happy Hour, complete with mellow live music and delicious appetizers. When visitors suggest a meeting for lunch, we recommend the poolside seating. The atmosphere is a nice twist on the Waikiki vibe, more subtle and cosmopolitan than further down the beach. Some of our favorite servers have offered local activities and dining options during our stay. Thank you Cassie, Maizie and Geoff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chintziepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at another hotel in Waikiki that was twice the cost of the Modern - and it was not even half as nice. The Modern was fantastic

The pool and pool bar were great, sunbeds fantastic and the staff excellent

Next time in Waikiki I will definitely be staying at the Modern

Room Tip: So long as you're not facing Ala Moana Blvd you will have a view (even if only partial) of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The facilities are crisp, fresh, and upscale, and the food is tasty, creative, and geared towards local flavors. The service from the staff is awesome, attentive, and highly responsive. By far, the staff goes the extra mile to provide the best possible guest experience and treat each guest like a rock star. Stayed at The Modern Honolulu for 3 days, 2 nights, but wished I could've stayed longer. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,632 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £204 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing