We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Modern Hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Apart from the late checkin (at 3pm) everything was great. Great rooms, modern look and excellent service. The amenities and WiFi are good and the restaurant does excellent food, especially the breakfast and sushi. Worth trying !
The pool is great and it's really nice to just sit there and relax. It's very close to the beach and to a lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MihaiTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    811
    216
    73
    36
See reviews for
670
1,875
205
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great hotel! Recently I sent a technology company from Northern CA for "company thank you" trip. Patricia in sales and the rest of the hotel team was amazing to work with and willing to work with us on our very specific needs! I would highly recommend this hotel! It also has amazing options for dining and the top night club in the city!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yummy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Modern Hotel. It was perfect! The location (right on the beach), the room (bright and spacious), the food (Morimoto) and most of all, the nightlife (The Study & Addiction) were great!
Situated on one end of Waikiki, it is a perfect spot for exploring ALL that Honolulu has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiLyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The service was impeccable, didn't matter how early or how late the staff were all very helpful and friendly and they would go out of their way to assist you, from the second I set foot into the hotel and checked in, to when I checked out. The hotel itself was beautiful,at a great location just out of the main CBD of Waikiki so wasn't too noisy and had a very relaxing feel to it. The interior of the hotel and the atmosphere was a bonus, beautifully decorated, clean and always smelt fresh like tropical fruits; so much so that the smell would linger down the street and you would know which hotel it came from. The room I stayed in was just right, spacious but cosy. The hotel may be 4.5 star but overall I think it was better than some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in. I would definitely stay at the Modern again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean would be quieter, choose the side away from Ala Moana Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassandraS623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed with my parents there for 4 nights. They were very accommodating and friendly. We stayed in a partial ocean view room that worked out great! Had a great view of the city and the ocean :) The rooms are simply furnished and very spacious. I really like their decor concept of simple and un-cluttered comfort. There is no coffee maker or refrigerator in the room but they would be more than happy to have guest services bring it up to your room when you request it. Valet parking service, although not free ($28/day), is worth the price! You donʻt have to worry about self-parking, and I appreciate that you can call guest services and have them bring your car around when you are ready to leave. Parking in Waikiki is usually a nightmare, so I really appreciated this service! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again :) P.S. I love how they served a refreshing lemonade and cold towelette when you check in, especially with how hot the weather can get in Honolulu!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved everything about the modern, it really made our trip to Hawaii. It is difficult to say why exactly, because it just feels like a hotel where they've got it all right. Can't recommend it enough. Lovely comfortable, well designed rooms, fabulous pool, excellent service and staff and a hotel restaurant that really makes any special occasion. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I just stayed here with a group of girlfriends over the weekend for a bachelorette party weekend. Everything was so great here!!! We were originally supposed to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki (which I've stayed at several times before)...I will definitely not be staying there again! We had such a great time! Even checking in was awesome! haha...we were given glasses of lemon juice while we waited since they weren't too busy, as we got there a little later than normal check in time. The rooms are nice, very clean and sophisticated! I loved that they are not your typical over done Hawaii rooms....you know the ones that look like a hibiscus threw up everywhere! We were on the 3rd floor, and warned it might be loud because of the club in the hotel. We all slept very well the night we stayed in! We went to Addiction, the night club friday night. It was really great being able to just go upstairs and not have to worry about driving, a cab or transportation in general! The pool was great, I definitely recommend reserving a day bed! It was a busy day at the pool the day we hung out, but it didn't seem that busy because we had an area that was just ours! Our group loved the stay so much, everyone keeps saying "I can't wait to go back, even if it's just to the pool!". We loved everything...even down to the plumeria smell in the lobby area! :)

Room Tip: Request a high room if possible. Waikiki is a busy place in general!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing