We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Restaurant Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Breakfast Restaurant Oasis”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife , 3 year old and I were cruising waikiki for breakfast. We're here on a little vacation from maui. Nothing seemed to fit the bill. We then happened on the modern. A chill place at the pool deck with beautiful trees, Parisian style cafe tables and a view of the marina. It felt right. Charis, our server, was pleasant and professional. We met the manager/ director, Timothy Gusty. What a great guy. He's got the place shining and he just started a few months ago. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something above the fray, but totally accessible and chill.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,884
    811
    216
    73
    36
See reviews for
671
1,876
207
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at many hotels..(I'm in the travel industry) and this place by far is the best place I've ever stayed at!!
The room was perfect.
The pool area is amazing,would often get carried away and be out there for hours..cocktails helped!
Gym was great..and the staff were just wonderful,so helpful and friendly and all looked like they were really happy to be working there.
This place is just so cool without trying to be.
You will not be disappointed...love this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love this hotel. Such a contemporary retreat close to everything. A very relaxing environment and great service. The breakfast pancakes are huge and delicious! I would definitely recommned this hotel to couples looking to be close to Waikiki without all the people. Only a 10 minute walk or $10 taxi ride to the main Waikiki area.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a great option with the balcony overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Another good time! I was invited by friends this past Saturday for adult beverages/pupus on the pool deck. It was just in time for a magnificent sunset (near Waikiki). I say near Waikiki even though the property is technically in Waikiki, but it never feels like I'm in the heart of Waikiki. Which for me as a local, creates an even greater experience. And for me, that has always been the draw card that I don't feel like I'm smack dab in the middle of all the tourist activity. Even though I am... The wait staff (Virginia) on the pool deck was awesome, especially knowing she was new to the hotel. She had a great smile/attitude and always seemed to be around when we needed her. The hotel now serves my favorite vodka (Tito's- whoop, whoop!) which always a plus. I'm a burger freak and their fresh ground steak burger is "off the chain" with all the fixings-can't miss!!! After our meal and a little dessert (cheesecake), we made our way downstairs to "The Study" for a night cap. The lounge is always a favorite of mine because of the friendly staff and all the different personalities that typically roll in on a Saturday evening. You will find a mix of locals and out of town Hawaii guests. In the 4+ years that I've frequented the property, I can honestly say I always meet new and interesting people from almost everywhere. The bartenders can and are willing to make almost anything you can think of. From the valet guys on up to the managers, I always feel like I'm a VIP! So for me, it's like my home away from home. Thank you Modern... See you again soon! I'll definitely will be there the food festival just like last year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have travelled quite a bit over the past few years, and no hotel we stayed in came even close to the amazing experience we had over our 20 night stay at The Modern (and if not for the fact that we had to get home, we could easily have stayed for 20 more!).

From the minute you enter the foyer and are enveloped with this amazing scent (which we soon learnt was the signature Modern scent filtered through the air vents), you are greeted by genuinely warm and friendly smiles from the most amazing staff. Each person who works there was so incredibly accommodating, attentive and lovely, without being contrived or overbearing. We were never made to feel unwelcome or uncomfortable, and nothing we asked for was too much trouble.

The main pool area was divine – our favourite spot being the lounges in the pool. The mid morning treats of juicy and sweet pineapple pieces, and afternoon delights of mini sorbet cups of coconut and lime, rockmelon or raspberry were lovely little surprises throughout our stay. Even the water stations around the pool area which were flavoured with different fruits each day, from strawberry/ lemon to pineapple/ mint and citrus to name a few, were a refreshing relief from the warm sun. The food at The Groove was delicious and most reasonably priced, and the cocktails were pretty amazing too! The adults only pool area was a great escape, floating around on the lilos, without a care in the world.

Dinner at Morimoto is a must! The décor alone is worth seeing, and the magnificent food and wonderful service capped off an incredible experience.

The room itself was perfect – with the option of having your own pod coffee machine, kettle, even yoga mats were all included. And it’s worth noting that the bathroom products were divine – from the lemongrass body wash, to the mint thyme shampoo and all other items in between.
Our spa treatments were again a first class experience, with the most wonderful therapists and a beautiful range of Hungarian products.

We will definitely stay here again, sadly not soon enough, and would highly recommend The Modern to anyone looking for the perfect hotel experience.

Room Tip: Depending on how lightly you sleep, perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor, or away from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's probably because this place is independently-owned that they've been able to excel where others haven't. It's as cool as they come - the staff have quirky uniforms, there's some awesome art and a hidden bar behind a bookcase! But it's the luxurious and thoughtful little touches - and the great service - that set The Modern apart. It's tucked right up one end of Waikiki - but I liked being away from the main tourist drag - and it was a shorter walk to Ala Moana shopping centre. In my opinion, there's no other option.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view, though for many it's not a direct view... you have to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobysworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I travelled to the Modern Honolulu in Feb 2013 with my partner, son and his family.
Our room was great, had everything we needed, staff were very helpful and had a balcony that had a nice view. Convenient location - close to restaurants and ala moana shopping centre!!
However, some of our family members had to be moved as they were close to the ground floor and they could hear the club at night - not the best thing to have when you're trying to sleep at night.
Overall, a nice, modern hotel - would definitely stay again but would probably look at other hotels first!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is on a higher level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing