We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Staff are so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the most amazing hotel, From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was great. Staff are so helpful & welcoming no matter who they are be front desk to maintance always smiling & saying Aloha. Nothing is a problem to the staff. Rooms are good size with plenty of space both in the room & bathroom. Nicely decorated rooms with sleak white furniture & linen. I would say the beds & pillows are one of the best I have had in hotels yet. Location is perfect easy 5 min walk to Shopping at Ala Moana Centre or downtown waikiki was only about 15-20min. The Trolley bus goes right passed the door if you dont want to walk & easy to work out how to use it. Morimoto resturant is a must when staying the food was devine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Thmprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,077)
There are newer reviews for The Modern Honolulu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,380 - 2,386 of 4,077 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Small enough to not feel swamped with thousands of guests, yet large enough to provide every possible service, the Modern Honolulu really delivers an amazing travel experience. They've managed to blend a very high standard of service with a casual feel that says "surf, sun, sand, fun". Nothing is a problem, and every staff member is genuinely friendly and interested in the guests. Very good fit for Kiwi travelers. I preferred the marina view over busy Waikiki beachfront, and the rooms are indeed "modern"! Loved every minute can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Oceanview was very nice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W0rldTravellerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Modern Honolulu is THE play to vacation for both locals and visitors looking to have a luxurious stay in Waikiki. The amenities trump any other hotel in the area- from a free coffee bar in the lobby and hourly poolside amenities to free surfboard storage and easy parking options, The Modern has an all-inclusive feel with a gorgeous atmosphere.

Both pools are a wonderful way to soak up the sun and relax in luxury. I highly recommend the upper 'adults only' pool, as it features sand around the perimeter, palm trees and chaise lounge chairs. Also, plan to make all your meals in-house as well, since the property features delicious artisan menu options and cocktails with fresh and local produce. The Lounge offers a complete menu too, and you can also enjoy world-famous culinary delights at Morimoto's. And if you're looking to party, check out Honolulu's hottest night club, Addiction, right at The Modern!

Wonderful amenities, fantastic service and an incredible location only minutes from the sandy shores of Waikiki beach. If you're coming to Honolulu, do yourself a favor and book at The Modern!

Room Tip: Any view is great, but opt for an ocean view if you can!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Friends had stayed here and we had met them for a drink on a previous trip, so we decided to stay her on this vacation. The staff was wonderful, probably the friendliest I've ever encountered in any hotel ever! The room was beautiful, very understated and comfortable. I would try to stay away from the Ala Moana side, as it was very noisy and we switched rooms. Our partial ocean view was really the marina view, which I didn't mind. My only negative on this hotel was the slow elevators, especially on the weekend. At times there were 30 people waiting for 10 minutes or more. I'm really not sure why as it has 3 elevators which should be enough for the size of the hotel. With that being said, I would stay here again as I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank likestotravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Anytime you can go for lunch at a hotel and the workers are there all dressed in white with dark glasses all looking as cool as extras in Cool Hand Luke...well you have my attention! Add in the fact that the Hotel also has a restaurant owned by my favorite Iron Chef (Morimoto) and it's clear this review will be a slam dunk.
Hotel is all in white, contemporary and quirky with a very laid back but chic ambience that i found charming. Workers and staff were outstanding in service and in their general attitude to ensure that we had a great stay. The view from our hotel room was quite frankly stunning and worth every cent of the room rate alone.
For those who may find the hotel food costs a bit high, there are an abundant number of places to eat within the vicinity and a large mall within a 7 minute stroll from the hotel.
Taxi's we easily available so getting around was a snap. Hitting the pool, a man-made lagoon by the hotel or the beach was a breeze using a walkway by the hotel and proved a hit with the family. Definitely one of the most enjoyable stays we have had.
At the end of our trip, all i could say was MAHALO!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ladiipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We loved every minute we spent at the Modern Honolulu, the service was amazing and the cocktails and food poolside were delicious. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and friendly and went out of their way to ensure you were happy. Some of the nice touches we appreciated were the conplimentary pinapple morning tea on our first day, as well as the free sorbet they offered offered to everyone by the pool. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day and the beautiful shower products were topped up or replaced repeatedly. Not to mention the delicious Honolulu cookie company treats on the pillow each night. It was so nice to stay in a hotel that felt unique and had a boutique feel and did not make you feel like they were pinching penny's at every opportunity as some of the larger chains do. The value for money, the staff and the beautiful well kept facilities will be the reason we will definitely return to the Modern soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Literally is the most amazing hotel in Honolulu! Not only are the rooms and the entire hotel aesthetically pleasing, the pool is luxurious and the food is incredible! Not to mention the free coffee service in the morning!! The staff is really helpful and extremely friendly! The frozen coconut mojitos are to die for and the underwater sounds system at the pool really makes you feel like you are in your own special world! AND to top it all off, you can get room service 24 hours, which is unheard of in Honolulu!

Need I need mention the epic surf that is steps away from the hotel??? It is a must do and must stay in Honolulu! It is the only hotel worth staying at!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £175 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing