We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service at its BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Customer Service at its BEST!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I cannot rave enough about how Ashely Chang took care of my fiancée and I with arranging our engagment photo shoot. She was so helpful and her correspondence back and forth was very timely. Passion and Michelle in marketing also helped a great deal when we got there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    811
    216
    73
    36
See reviews for
670
1,875
205
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland,NZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Couldn't praise this hotel more. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel away from all the crazy hustle and bustle of Waikiki but just a cab drive away if you do want to go there, the location is perfect. Modern, elegant, laid back but still sophisticated, it is also ideal if you don't want to be swamped by families with kids.

Definitely for the trendy crowd, with a great night life downstairs and rooms that are individual and unique. Staff are great and there is a great lagoon and beach just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomerlausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A very large group of us stayed after a wedding we had on the windward side of the island. The Modern was wonderful, a hotel like none i have ever stayed at before. Edgy, Crisp, Stylish and clean. hawaiian print was no where in sight and it was a great change up from the usual waikiki hotel. I loved the feel, the style and the uber helpful and friendly staff. The Lobby bar downstairs was great with awesome vibe and so was the club "Addiction" super loud crazy fun. we spent an entire day up at the all-adult pool where we had wonderfully-crafted pupu's and drinks served to us at our lounger cabana all day long. i really enjoyed the view. the harbor lights were a delightful change to the usual we get staying at other hotels on the strip. we got later check out (complementary) and i will never complain about that. there was even an ABC shopette just across the street which made things convenient also. i loved The Modern Hotel and can't wait to stay there again. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: i had a corner room. facing the harbor. it was quiet, with an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Service was exceptional. The staff in their preppy cardigans (which we thought a little unusual for Hawaii, but I guess evoked a "country club" feel) were fantastic. The rooms were clean, sleek and definitely modern. The food was the best! I recommend the Beet Salad and Hommus Plate. Do not stay here if you want to be able to walk down to the liveliness of Waikiki though - it is a bit out of the way. But there are buses. The pool wasn't the highlight of the hotel it was rather small but adequate. The rooftop pool looked great but it was for adults only so our four year old wasn't welcome. Good retreat for childless people wanting a quiet area. We did walk around to the Lagoon (near the Hilton) just next door which was a delight. You can hire paddle boats and surf-skis etc (bit pricey though at $40 each) There is a lively bar with live music and a nightclub (which we didn't utilise). Wifi worked really well (important to our 15 year old). And the fireworks over the lagoon were fabulous. You can walk to the Ala Moana Shopping mall (only 5mins) or take the bus. There are a selection of restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. All in all this hotel was great and lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyCeremonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were treated like Royalty at the Modern Honolulu. Nikko Sibilia (conference service manager) took the utmost care of us upon arrival and during our stay. Due to an error in our reservation in no due part of the Modern Honolulu, we were stranded since the hotel at the time was 97% full. Nikko came to our rescue! He was able to find us a room for our entire stay! He was always there to make sure that our needs were met. We felt secure that he was around to answer any questions we had. We feel so fortunate to have made a new friend in Nikko. We will definitely return to the Modern Honolulu because of him and definitely refer others to consider staying there. The valet, bellmen and front desk staff were helpful and welcoming. The lobby bar had the best local talent. If you decide to stay there, ask for Nikko and tell him the Maui Girls Sanoe and Leila said Hi! By the way, try their coconut mojito! Yummmooo!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a total of four nights and we absolutely loved it, what a fantastic hotel. We stayed in an Ocean Front Suite (with a view of Diamond Head) and it was magical, we loved our room and the view was spectactular. The hotel had everything we wanted, the staff were superb, the onsite restaurant Morimoto was delicious and the facilties were fantastic. We didn't manage to check out Addiction (heard it's very good), but the study/bar area was a lot of fun.

Would definitely recommend to those wanting to head to Waikiki who would like to avoid the huge high rises. The Modern had everything we needed and we'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suite was magical, we'd definitely book this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great time at the modern glad I read the reviews and booked partial ocean views we were on the 5th floor and couldn't fault the outlook. Service from everyone was exceptional just felt the carpets could do with cleaning and paint work needs a touch up but aside from that no complaints .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing