We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently held a meeting at The Modern, it was a hit! Throughout the entire planning and during the meeting Ashley (our coordinator) was great! I changed my needs several times and made a lot of last minute decisions but the team there was so accommodating and flexible. From the IT support to the wait staff, they made sure all our requests were met with a smile. Even the space was light, bright, and gave the illusion that we were having out meeting in the sun.

Great experience, I would definitely plan to have another gathering here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,428 - 2,434 of 4,186 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent location but still easy to get to all sights of Hawaii. Staff extremely friendly, rooms comfortable and well serviced .. pools good to cool off, pleasant walk to beach. Wonderful setting for breakfast. lots of restaurants nearby but Morimoto with Omakase "Chef Tasting "Menu in house is a must to try

Room Tip: for couples an ocean view gives you a king bed and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nice room, clean and comfortable, all white as we like and with nice modern design. Pool are too small and one of them is not a pool. Too many people and no place to seat. They also alowed many people from outside sho make the pool very crowded not good for hotel guest who pay 300€ per night ! Tv connection is bad ! Bed are comfortable. Pricy restaurant and breakfast ! An omelette 20$ !!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We came back to the Modern Honolulu in July 2014. As the first experience was satisfactory we wanted to repeat. And this time there were some noise issues, as big as we could not sleep at all. We complained to the hotel (we were at the fourth floor facing the entrance) and they very politely, gently and promptly changed our room for another one many floor above and facing the opposite side. And then the relax was total. They even wrote us an apology letter, which I keep as great attitude towards clients.

This time the hotel was very crowded, not like the first time, and thus the pools seats were taken most of the time, but they managed some space for us.

The room was as it was before, spacious, clean, relaxing... Comfortable bed and pillows, clean linens and bathroom and the most awesome toiletries, from Lather (bamboo lemongrass body wash, lavender lime moisturizer, mint thyme hair wash and yuzu bergamot crème rinse, apart from soaps).

I must admit that I'm getting accustomed to the Modern Honolulu. I want more...

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac-and-Jek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Even before we arrived, I was greeted via email by the concierge/mgr asking what time they could expect us to check in.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk with cool refreshing mocktail, and were upgraded to a one bedroom ocean view room (from ocean view room) because I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary.

The room was clean, pretty, and indeed modern. the shampoos/soap and amenities in the bathroom were so lux! The only inconvenience was the lack of coffee machine in the room. But thats no issue, because every morning from 5:30 -10am there is coffee/tea available with take away coffee cups on the ground floor.

The location of the hotel was also great! short walk to Waikiki beach, AND couple of blocks away from Ala Moana mall made it super convenient to get to places.

Tour/activities desk was helpful when i tried to organise my trip to Pearl Harbor. The free in room wifi also helped me plan for our day trip.

Nearby to the hotel, there is a place called Goofy Cafe that serves dishes from local Hawaiian produce. Or if you are on budget or hankering for junk, McDonald's is just across the street as well.

Overall, great location, great facilities, great service at the Modern!

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed at the Modern for 5 nights and I don't understand the hype about it. For sure the bar is great and the lobby is decorated in a very stylish manner. You'll also get complimentary entrance to the Addiction Nightclub. But the rooms are just average, the pools are very small and the location isn't that great. For me it was just an average experience staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank citTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

1. Warm, friendly, helpful staff at each department - from valet to reception to concierge.
2. Smart contemporary decor with great practical facilities both in the room and in the public area.
3. Great Japanese restaurant with excellent food and service.
4. Great bar on the ground floor with a warm and friendly mixologist who does fantastic cocktails.
5. Concierge who know precisely what to recommend by asking the right questions - especially to guests like us who have never been to Oahu.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hafiz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £184 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing