We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$193
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$641
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$621
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$513
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$414
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,304)
Filter reviews
4,304 results
Traveller rating
3,075
884
226
78
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,075
884
226
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffturn down servicepartial ocean viewthe main strip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,534 - 2,539 of 4,304 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently held a meeting at The Modern, it was a hit! Throughout the entire planning and during the meeting Ashley (our coordinator) was great! I changed my needs several times and made a lot of last minute decisions but the team there was so accommodating and flexible. From the IT support to the wait staff, they made sure all our requests were met with a smile. Even the space was light, bright, and gave the illusion that we were having out meeting in the sun.

Great experience, I would definitely plan to have another gathering here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent location but still easy to get to all sights of Hawaii. Staff extremely friendly, rooms comfortable and well serviced .. pools good to cool off, pleasant walk to beach. Wonderful setting for breakfast. lots of restaurants nearby but Morimoto with Omakase "Chef Tasting "Menu in house is a must to try

Room Tip: for couples an ocean view gives you a king bed and balcony
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nice room, clean and comfortable, all white as we like and with nice modern design. Pool are too small and one of them is not a pool. Too many people and no place to seat. They also alowed many people from outside sho make the pool very crowded not good for hotel guest who pay 300€ per night ! Tv connection is bad ! Bed are comfortable. Pricy restaurant and breakfast ! An omelette 20$ !!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We came back to the Modern Honolulu in July 2014. As the first experience was satisfactory we wanted to repeat. And this time there were some noise issues, as big as we could not sleep at all. We complained to the hotel (we were at the fourth floor facing the entrance) and they very politely, gently and promptly changed our room for another one many floor above and facing the opposite side. And then the relax was total. They even wrote us an apology letter, which I keep as great attitude towards clients.

This time the hotel was very crowded, not like the first time, and thus the pools seats were taken most of the time, but they managed some space for us.

The room was as it was before, spacious, clean, relaxing... Comfortable bed and pillows, clean linens and bathroom and the most awesome toiletries, from Lather (bamboo lemongrass body wash, lavender lime moisturizer, mint thyme hair wash and yuzu bergamot crème rinse, apart from soaps).

I must admit that I'm getting accustomed to the Modern Honolulu. I want more...

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac-and-Jek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Even before we arrived, I was greeted via email by the concierge/mgr asking what time they could expect us to check in.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk with cool refreshing mocktail, and were upgraded to a one bedroom ocean view room (from ocean view room) because I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary.

The room was clean, pretty, and indeed modern. the shampoos/soap and amenities in the bathroom were so lux! The only inconvenience was the lack of coffee machine in the room. But thats no issue, because every morning from 5:30 -10am there is coffee/tea available with take away coffee cups on the ground floor.

The location of the hotel was also great! short walk to Waikiki beach, AND couple of blocks away from Ala Moana mall made it super convenient to get to places.

Tour/activities desk was helpful when i tried to organise my trip to Pearl Harbor. The free in room wifi also helped me plan for our day trip.

Nearby to the hotel, there is a place called Goofy Cafe that serves dishes from local Hawaiian produce. Or if you are on budget or hankering for junk, McDonald's is just across the street as well.

Overall, great location, great facilities, great service at the Modern!

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews