We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,497)
Filter reviews
4,497 results
Traveller rating
3,148
940
268
92
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,148
940
268
92
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study morimoto restaurant sunrise pool iron chef day bed pool area waikiki beach ala moana shopping our honeymoon adult pool amazing hotel main pool min walk red lobster pool staff turn down service partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 4,497 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I were visiting on our mini-moon, and we really loved the hotel. The room was great, we loved the view from the patio, and we were overall thrilled with the experience.
The ONE complaint that I had was the speed of house-cleaning. When we arrived back to the hotel from a 8-hour hike, dirty and exhausted, I stopped by the desk to ask for fresh towels. We had already used ours. 45 minutes later, still no towels. I ended up having to call house-keeping THREE times to finally get them up there.
I realize that they have other guests, but waiting an hour for towels when we were sweaty and covered in mud was a little excessive.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandabgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

unusual stay - were snared by a guy dressed like an extra from Below Deck who offered half price tours as long as we spent 3 hours at a party event for Diamond resorts, a time share company. told him no and he wasn't happy. ( Diamond Resorts are the new owners of this hotel ) Also confusion over booking. We paid for a suite but got normal room instead. cleared up confusion and was upgraded to the room we had purchased. We had booked on the hotels own website. Thank you Sonny, excellent guest experience. Poolside and restaurant staff were out-standing, the Study barman wasn't, front desk best avoided at all costs.(super-slow) Good location, bars and restaurants handy, Alamoana close by. The strip a $10 taxi ride or 15 minute walk down the beach away. All-in-all good stay but in fairness some issues as well.

Room Tip: 310 is a nice room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Belaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Hotel. Good facilities. Each room has balcony. Lovely outdoor pool and Bar area. Great meals and excellent coffee. Able to book tours thru concierge which was very helpful. Easy to get taxi to airport. Also good restaurants near by.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank SoozeyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 5 x nights on a combination of both business and pleasure.
Quite frankly after having been to Honolulu on 3-4 occasions, I believe there are far better “value for money” options..
Checking in took an absolute age....
Breakfast is all a la carte and took up to an hour each time !.... a far better option is to head across the road to the Harbor Pub for a breakfast.... fast, friendly service and heaps heaps cheaper !
On 2 occasions, hotel amenities like the pool were “closed” for private functions.... this was at 3pm .... peak usage time I’d imagine !
Oh.... can’t forget the night club below the hotel and pumps out heavy bass music on a Thurs / Friday ( and I’d suspect Sat as well) night... on the 7th floor it was still very loud..

All up, couldn’t recommend the hotel....

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank topshotnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Modern. We were given a fantastic balcony room (thank you Shanell) with views of the 2 pools, Marina and Lagoon area. Great location to watch the neighbouring hotel's fireworks on a Friday night ! We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at the pool restaurant and we especially loved the lobby bar hidden behind the bookshelf, great for us as we were travelling without the children..... The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Good location for Ala Moana shopping. Overall a great stay at The Modern.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews