We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time on Outrigger Canoe”

Hawaiian Surf Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.92*
and up
Private Surf Lesson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience ADVENTURE away from the crowds!!! Hawaiian Surf Adventures offers Surf Lessons (which include an un-crowded surf break), Stand Up Paddle Lessons/Rentals AND the beloved Hawaiian double-hull Canoe Tour! Specializing in beginners, we keep our classes small and our instruction is sincere.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Eleven of us went on an outrigger canoe ride under the very capable guidance of Lyssa who works for the Hawaiian Surf Adventures. We all had a wonderful time and became more sure of ourselves as we continued to paddle. Lyssa added so much to the trip with her history and knowledge of the area. We especially appreciated the information that she gave us about Hawaiian culture and traditions. We all went away with a smile on our faces and would eagerly do it again! Way fun.

Thank JoAnneEHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha Joanne, THANK YOU so much for such a great, kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed Lyssa and all that she shares. We love her too :) Please visit us again - take care, Lisa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 15 reviews
"private lesson"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 12 reviews
"paddling"
in 45 reviews
"instructor"
in 112 reviews
"wave"
in 29 reviews
"boat"
in 49 reviews
"hawaii"
in 97 reviews
"beginners"
in 14 reviews
"pics"
in 8 reviews
"bud"
in 4 reviews
"camera"
in 11 reviews
Filter

136 - 140 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife, two boys and I signed up for the double-hulled canoe tour on 19April14. Our guide was Lyssa and she was awesome. It was a very windy day however despite the rough conditions and the shortened tour she made it worth while. She was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained the entire time. She made ensure to include all of us as part of the "team" to include our 8 and 12 year old boys. The boys were a little nervous to begin with but Lyssa made them comfortable and they really enjoyed themselves. I would HIGHLY recommend HSA for your family adventures on the ocean.

The 1st Family

Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha Greg! Thank you so much for starting our day with a SMILE! We really appreciate your 5-star review and so glad you enjoyed the canoe tour with Lyssa. Sorry you had to experience our Hawaii "winter" with the high winds, but glad you still had a great time! Take care and thanks again, Lisa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I took the double-hulled canoe trip on April 17, 2014. Lyssa was our guide, she was fantastic! She broke down the commands in an easy to follow manner, she was encouraging and kept us working well together to spite the very windy conditions. She was aware of the weather conditions and planned our trip accordingly. To spite not choosing to swim due to the wind, we were still entertained and well informed about many things pertaining to Hawaii: the formation of the islands, Oahu in particular; the local customs and their origins; and the local flora and fauna. Our group ranged from 12 - Grandparents and we all seemed as equally entertained. I felt like this was a good value for our dollar and our time. Seeing Dog the Bounty Hunter was an added benefit. Thanks Lyssa, keep up your passion and Aloha for Hawaii and your guests.

Thank JodyMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha Jody and thank you SO much for the great review of Lyssa's canoe tour! We really appreciate you joining us and then taking the time to share your experience. Please visit us again! All the best, Lisa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We wanted to take a surf lesson & found the companies on Waikiki beach very expensive (4 of us). We found Hawaiian Surf Adventures & it was awesome, we were the only people in the lesson & the instructors were excellent. They explained everything in a way that the kids (12 & 10) & adults understood w/ no issues. They were very patient & we had a great time.
It's easy to tell that these guys do this for more than just a job, they really seemed to love what they do. Lisa in the office was great as well. One of the best parts was the instructor taking pictures the whole time which we got at 50% off (due to problem w/ pulling up the anchor after the lesson, which we had no idea about!). All in all a fabulous experience & we will definitely be back again.

Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Aloha Tina! Thank you SO much for the great review! We are very blessed to have a crew that sincerely loves what they do - so glad that you recognized that :) Come surf with us next time you're in Hawaii! Take care, Lisa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been to Oahu many times but this is the first time canoeing! I was a liitle scared b/c I am not a good swimmer but Lisa was very comforting on the phone and assured me that the water is quite smooth and with a life jacket, I would be ok. I was also worried that the water might made me sick but I decided to give it a try and boy am I glad i did! Our tour guide, Nobe was awesome! He was entertaing but what made it special was that he gave us a little history of Hawaii and his family! The view was unbelievable. We would not have gone out so far if we were on our own. We had so much fun that even our teenager smiles! Now, that is priceless!

Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Aloha Ed! Thank you so much for your 5-star review :) It was a pleasure meeting you and your family! So glad you loved the canoe tour and thanks again for taking the time to share your experience! With Aloha, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaiian Surf Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Surf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing