We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a timely manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monsoon India - CLOSED

Monsoon India
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food in a timely manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I ate there last night. We were a bit hesitant as it was only 25% full, however we were quite surprised.

The staff attended to us in a timely manor with drinks and taking our order.

We ordered meat samosas as an appetiser and Buttered Chicken and the Fish Curry along with garlic Naan and rice for our main course to be shared.

The quality and quantity was sufficient for both of us and all dishes were tasty and fresh. The Resturant has Indian, local and mainland beers to quench the thirst.

All in all a fantastic meal enjoyed by us both.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelheaps2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    28
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not worth your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

With high hopes of having tasty Indian food we ordered biryani and parata. I must say biryani was terrible with lots of food color and no spices. It was not even hot. Aloo paratha was pretty bad,it was not stuffed properly and not heated completely.

Not worth your money. Try something else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantoshAmeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown
Level Contributor
536 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Indian Food but not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is hard to find good indian food in the US and sadly you will need to keep looking
Staples like the Chicken Tikka Massala were sweet and had large amounts of chili added to make it hot but not spicy
THe lamb rogon josh was tough and the sauce flavorless and greasy
Only the Naan bread was good and came piping hot whcih was nice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but they are slow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The food is delicious - but this is not a 'fast-moving' place, so be prepared to slow down and enjoy your meal - on island time. It has a great atmosphere and the staff is friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were really clean.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakespeare, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great lunch....just took a bit to get going”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Food was fantastic.....took about 10-15 minutes to take our order and then another bit, but once the food came it was delicious.....well worth the wait

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drkahless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon India also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing