We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic local burger & fries brings back childhood memories”

W&M Bar-B-Q Burgers
Ranked #433 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Honolulu
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Basic local burger & fries brings back childhood memories”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great Bar-B-Q burgers and tasty crispy french fries. Stick to the basics and enjoy the flavors of Kaimuki in the 1960's. Top it off with a Coke and enjoy the memories of growing up in Hawaii. This is a favorite place for our family to pick up lunch, if only they had more parking (only has about six parking spaces). Also be aware they are only open five days a week (closed Monday and Tuesday). Regardless of the lack of parking, it is definitely worth the trouble of waiting for a space. This is take out only, no place to eat here, we drive to a nearby park and sit under a tree.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I used to live down the street from W & M burger and the delectable smell of the BBQ burgers was so tempting when walking outside. I used to love going over for a quick and tasty lunch. When I moved back to the mainland, I missed those burgers - as nobody has anything close to this outside of Hawaii. Recently on a visit back after 8 years, I stopped by W & M and was not dissappointed! Just as good as I remember. Can't beat the teri-burgers here! Get the Royal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abkm3379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers, crispy fries”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Been going there for years.
Pros: tasty burgers, crispy fries.
Cons:Kinda expensive, parking is always bad. Service is a little iffy. Don't ask for no sauce, they'll keep on correcting you...."no dressing" Ketchup, mustard, and mayo is sauce not dressing. Dressing is for salads...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Locally owned, with a secret family recipe! These burgers are simple, tasty and well priced. You can get fries a d a soda, too! Crowded, small car park, and limited hours - but, hey, when you make the best burgers in town, you can do that! Worth the stop! ( you can phone in orders - which can be a good idea!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DessertDiva208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Better than McDonalds!"”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This little mom-and-pop joint is the place to go when you're craving a good 'ole burger and fries or a taste of nostalgia. They are almost always crowded at lunchtime and takeout only, but the staff is efficient and you won't have to wait long. Like the reviewer below me mentioned, W&M burgers are basted with teriyaki sauce, but it's just enough to enhance the flavor of the meat, not the sugary goop other places slather on their burgers to make them "Hawaiian". And don't be fooled, you won't find any pineapple here. They only have a few choices, basically whether you want your burger with cheese or not, or with vegetables or not. My 7-year-old sister and I both got the "Lettuce" burger, which comes with cheese and lettuce. The burgers are a little bigger than a McDonalds' value burger, and quite tasty. The fries are amazing as well; the 7-year-old described them as "better than McDonalds'!" between stuffing them into her mouth. The prices are fairly reasonable, the burgers are between $3-$5. The menu also includes teriyaki steak sandwiches, which we've never tried, and you can now add bacon to your burger (for an additional charge) or get some "Crab Flavored Salad", a disappointing mishmash of mayonnaise and a tidbit or two of fake pink crab. However, most everyone comes for the burgers and fries. Pick up a quick lunch to take to the beach, or just eat right there standing in the parking lot, as it can get messy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larabarccp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed W&M Bar-B-Q Burgers also viewed

 

Been to W&M Bar-B-Q Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing