We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time!!”
Review of Dolphins and You

Dolphins and You
Book In Advance
More Info
US$156.00*
and up
Oahu Snorkel Cruise: Swim with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild
Ranked #47 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The crystalline waters on the west coast of O'ahu is a sanctuary for dolphins and other sea creatures including sea turtles (honu), stingrays (hihimanu), and many tropical fish. As the longest running dolphin snorkeling tour in Hawaii, and the only tour of this category with an emphasis on the local culture, we are experts in the surrounding ocean and the local ways. You'll be happy to know we have a perfect safety record during the 20 plus years we've been in operation so you can focus on swimming with the dolphins, and, most of all, have fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Fantastic time!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I’m a repeater for this tour, there are a couple of similar tours in Hawaii, but I chose this tour again. Captain and crews are professional. I could find dolphins soon. I swam with dolphins side by side. It was amazing!! I didn’t think to be able to swim how close!! I watched about 30 dolphins in the sea. After then, they brought us another snorkeling point to swim with beautiful colorful fishes and sea turtles, and I enjoyed to play stand up paddle board, get on the kayak.
I also watched jumping of whale on the ship. It was very dynamic.
Crews were very kind and entertained us with hula dance, singing with ukulele. After I got off the ship, professional hula teacher taught us hula dance. I did many experiences in a half day!!
Totally, I thought this tour had a great value than the price I paid.
Thanks for Dolphins and You, I had a great time with dolphins and crews.
The memories of this day make me happy!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovelovedolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinsAndYou, Owner at Dolphins and You, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
A big mahalo "lovelovedolphins" for your very high-level praise of our tour. We do have guests, such as yourself, who have come once on our tour and because of the outstanding time they had, they choose to come again. And sometimes their 2nd visit with us is even better than the first. It sounds like your got it all, the dolphins, sea turtles (honu), the other colorful marine life, kayaking, and stand-up paddle boarding. And most often, our guests have developed a "hearty" appetite at this point and that is why our captain has the grilled "cheeseburgers in paradise' waiting for you. Please do come again and be a 3-peater!...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    42
    20
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Most memorable experience! ”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Every part of this excursion was incredible! The staff was fun, entertaining, and very helpful. We saw and swam with about 80 dolphins. On top of that we snorkeled with beautiful fish and sea turtles, had a great lunch, watched whales breach, and took part in a hula lesson. The day was more than any in our group would have imagined. This was definitely a highlight of our two week vacation.

Helpful?
Thank cgish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great swim with dolphins & turtles!!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a wonderful time with Dolphins & You tour. Even though they did have a delay to pick us up in the hotel they more than compensated this glitch by providing a premium service as well as compensate us by not charging the swim rental and the photos taken by them during the tour.

First we went to the harbor and board their boat, Not long after we left we spotted a little group of 5 dolphins, and we went right into the water. We stayed together and kept some distance to avoid disturbing them but we could see them perfectly swim close to us (or even under us!!). After they left we went back to the boat, and not long after we spotted a larger group (15 aprox) so we went back to the water. It was a wonderful sight.

After that we spotted a sea turtle so we swam close trying not to disturb it. It was wonderful to see turtle's gracious swim technique so close.

While the guys in the boat were cooking some burgers for us, we swam close to some very beatiful fishes and did some paddleboard which was great. After lunch we went back to the harbor

Last, they gave us some hula lessons that were extremely fun and allow us to wrap up this tour. I would recommend anyone to do this tour, just keep in mind that you are visiting dolphin's space and you need to respect them and avoid disturbing them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavi_thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WNY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Activities were a Bit Poorly Timed”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I appreciated the confirmation phone call the day before as I had booked it weeks in advance. If you drive yourself to the launching site, as we conveniently did, the group meets in front of the building with the restrooms down by the docks.

The young crew created a fun, party atmosphere and really showcased that they know they can dance! While this operator does cater to the Japanese market, it wasn't an issue for us as at all as one guide informed us of all the important points in English. All the participants were polite and helpful to each other.

When we arrived at the "dolphin site" another tour group was already in the water, and the dolphins were in the area so everyone was quick to get into the water. A pod of about 10 dolphins, including a mother and her calf, swam by a distance beneath us. It was amazing to see even such a quick view! It was great that two crew were in the water with us and were encouraging us to swim this way as they pointed out the dolphins.

It was unfortunate that Capt. Keith had us out of the water pretty quickly because just as the last person had climbed aboard, the dolphins returned to the area! The other tour operator's group was still snorkeling and enjoyed their additional sighting while our group pined to go in when the Capt. would not let us back into the water. The dolphins stayed for a bit.

We headed to an another spot to snorkel with the highlight being one of the guides spotting a turtle floating on top of the water, but the turtle dived within seconds after the crowd gathered around it even tho we all kept a fair distance. The other tour operator's group arrived about 15 minutes later.

We were soon called back to the boat for lunch. The crew were great the first time we returned to the boat with helping participants remove their fins at the base of the ladder to more easily and safely climb back onto the boat. However, they did not assist at the second stop and it was quite choppy so some people had difficulty timing the waves to grab onto the ladder and climb back on board.

After the two stops, a few people on the boat were sick, but the crew already explained what to do and had buckets readily available. The food was tasty and plentiful, and for those turning green the crew were prepared with sandwich baggies so they could take their food with them. The crew was great in handing out food, tea, taking our garbage, taking pictures for participants, etc. There were convenient large waterproof bins (think Rubbermaid tubs) under our bench seats to store our stuff and keep the deck organized.

We expected the tour to last until 12pm so were surprised when we were standing back on the dock by 10:38am. However, they did the Hawaiian dance lesson portion back at the boat dock, which made it anti-climatic and the activity seemed disjoint as people were gathering their things, heading to change in the restroom, etc. Because we did not want to wait around for the group to gather again, we just left. With so much time left over at the end, it was unfortunate that we could not stay in the water longer at the dolphin spot, nor at the second stop.

Used the LivingSocial online deal without any problems, so appreciated the big discount.

Generally, this operator seemed eco-focused which was great to see, educating the guests about dolphins and appropriate snorkeling etiquette, etc. However it was disappointing that while the crew were waiting near the dock for the van to arrive, one began eating a piece of fruit and just discarded the rind on the ground. At least his coworkers chided him by saying there are so many garbage cans around and he couldn't even use one? The litter bug just cockily replied that it was organic anyway and no one picked it up. Not a good representation of the company.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank klam_chowder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Best trip ever! I can not say enough about Dolphins and You. I would by far do this tour again. I felt pampered, the crew was amazing. We saw a pod of dolpins, the babies were so cut. We saw quite a few turtles, the crew fed us lunch, let us use their paddleboard. Amazing!!!! Loved, loved, loved this trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dolphins and You? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing