We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Amazing food - the pork belly appetiser was the most delicious thing we had in Hawaii, followed closely by the tempura shrimp appetiser. Get a table overlooking the yachts and watch the sun set. Just lovely!

Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review, Natalie! It's awesome to hear that the pork belly was the most delicious thing you've had in Hawaii. I hope you'll join us for another meal in the future!

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 581 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our family booked our table long before our trip to endure we got to experience the best of Japanese food. We were having the tasting menu which ran to 7 courses ( I think ) and had a lot of dishes we had never tried before. The food was excellent and very well presented.

We were first shown out on to the terrace which was lovely but very hot, and the tables were quite close together. We had a couple of young women talking very loudly at each other at the next table. After they had started serving our meal, another diner pointed out that there was a cockroach walking along the wires directly above our table. We asked to be moved inside but the waiting staff didn't seem to know what to do. After about 10 minutes we were re seated and the sequence of dishes started to be served again. It was much nicer sitting inside and made for a more comfortable experience. The food was great but it felt as if we were in the standard hotel dining room.

1  Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for the stars! I'm happy to hear that you thought the food was excellent and well presented. As with dining outside at any establishment, there's a risk of running into the occasional bug, but I'm glad we were able to move you inside to a more comfortable table. I hope you'll join us for a meal again the next time you're in Honolulu.

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last time we visited Morimoto's Waikiki we were interrupted by tsunami warnings. We had just finished our appetizers and were waiting for our entree. When we arrived in Waikiki last week, we had to return to complete our dining experience. Our reservations were at 6 pm on the lanai. We were able to watch the sailboats coming into the marina with the sunset as a backdrop. With a party of four we were able to try several dishes and none of us were disappointed. I tried the ishi yaki buri bop. The presentation was excellent. We'd definitely repeat the experience when we return to the Island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GFT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I'm glad you were able to complete your dining experience this time around! Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

After reading some of these reviews I was a bit perplexed by the 1 stars?! This place is amazing. The staff are very knowledgable and attentive, the food amazing and the atmosphere lovely. Make sure you save enough room for dessert, they were exquisite. And to top it off, pretty reasonably priced for the std of food and service. Strongly recommend you come here.

Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Amazing food, great service and a lovely atmosphere? Sounds like a successful night out to us, Claire! Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, and we hope you'll join us for another meal in the future.

Take care,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our second visit to Morimoto's and we were looking forward to dining here when we arrived in Waikiki because of a nice meal here 2 years ago. For adventurous people looking for meals that you would not necessary get at home, you have got to try Morimotos. My husband and I tried dishes that we were unsure what it would be and were pleasantly delighted at the outcome. I tried the fried fish, which was sold out on my previous visit, and I have to say it was unlike any other fish I have ever had. It was crisp with delicate flaky fish meat beneath mixed with tofu. My husband tried the ishi yaki buri bop and it was delicious tuna fish cooked inside a hot stone bowl with asian spices. We had abalone for an appetizer and was a little shocked when it came out as sort of a fried ball on a stick, it was different. They didn't have a kid menu for our 4 year old so luckily we brought his own food and he sat there quietly and happy. Will definitely visit again when we are in Honolulu to explore the menu more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Issey_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review! I'm glad you and your family were able to join us for another meal. It's great to hear that you all were delighted with your meals. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Honolulu!

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing