We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Hike - Incredible Views”

Mariner's Ridge Trail
Richland, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Moderate Hike - Incredible Views”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The trail can be a little challenging in places for a weekend warrior, but the views were incredible!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted2TravelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mariner's Ridge UPDATE”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Mariner's Ridge trail is now closed. Toward the end of June, a Korean man, 70 years old, fell to his death at the lookout. So sad.

In February, I fell and broke my wrist as I started to descend from the lookout. (I walked out).

Violators may be persecuted. Try hiking the Makiki Hights trail instead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mariner's Ridge Trail Now Closed to the Public”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

One of the most popular trails in Honolulu, Mariner's Ridge trail is at the top of a hill in residential community in east Honolulu. Owned by a large private estate, the trail is now closed to the public with two warnings not to trespass. There's obviously a liability issue in case hikers get injured. In recent years, the number of hikers coming up the hill has increased substantially. So did the number of incidents by bad manners of hikers. They park illegally, sometimes blocking the residents' driveways. They do not clean up their pet dogs' droppings. They throw trashes into residents' gardens. They have picnic in the residents' driveways. In an extreme case, some hikers came at night and made campfire on the trail. The community has held a couple of meetings about the situation. Now the police patrol regularly to issue traffic tickets for illegal parking. Travel agencies that bring their tourists in their vans to the trail should be aware that they may be encouraging the visitors to engage in illegal activity. I hope this clarifies the recent change on the use of the trail.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Showertreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I drove an hour and a half from north shore to this trail only to find that it is closed as of April 5th 2013! There are chains and signs posted that prohibit entry. I did not want to risk being "prosecuted" as the signs stated or having my car impounded. Find another trail-

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kharoldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tough Climb With a big payoff”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hike is not for everyone.I'm 60 in great shape and had no problem.But I would say some people would have a tough time with this hike.The views are amazing when you get to the top.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariner's Ridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's Ridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing