We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coakeoach on the table while eating”
Review of Genki Sushi

Genki Sushi
Ranked #514 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
1 review
“Coakeoach on the table while eating”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I went Genki Sushi locate at Ala Moana mall on 19-Jan.2013 at around 4:00 pm for late lunch with my familiy.
Food taste wasn't bad and we were happy about the food quality and kept ordering.
All in sudden, I found one Cockroach crawling on top of our dinning table and called waitress.
The waitress grabbed this little monster with napkin and she said "sorry" to me.
Can you believe that Cockroach on the table while eating?

You can imagine their kitchen condition.

The waitress offered 20% discount on my bill but I refused to take this offer and paid full amount of my bill and left immediately.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacoblim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, above average”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Everything we tried on the train was good, fresh, they dont let the food sit long, and if it's not consumed fairly promptly they remove the dish and dispose of it. Excellent value for the $ and tasty food. We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Checkus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First time trying sushi”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My Husband wanted to go here, I was a little apprehensive as I have never tasted sushi. I must admit if you love this type of food, then this is the place to be, they had a lot of different choices but I just couldn't enjoy it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheleigh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Fun, Easy Way to Have Sushi”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We really liked this place and ate there twice during our stay in Waikiki. The sushi is very good, though not extraordinary. We really liked the conveyor belt delivery of the sushi and just being able to grab what you want off the belt as it comes around. That way, you don't have to hassle with placing an order. You just sit down and get the food and start eating. Chopsticks, wasabi, soy, everything is at the table.

Pricing is very reasonable and is based on the color of the little plate that the sushi is on (yellow = $1.50, green = $2.20, etc). When you're done, the server simple looks at your number of plates and what colors they are and calculates your bill. While it is easy to lose track of how much of a tab you are running up, we loaded up on sushi for and Coke for about $10 per person.

Definitely recommend as a great place for sushi in the Waikiki area.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We are big fans of what we call Sushi-Go-Rounds and this place hit the spot. Varied options on the conveyor, decent prices per the various plate colors, fresh seafood, tasty and satisfying. Even some items I hadn't seen before. The fun topper was cupcakes mixed in with the savories and they were moist and delicious.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genki Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Genki Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing