We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Island WaterSports Hawaii
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$103.66*
and up
Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We invite you to join us on a spectacular underwater journey through the crystal clear waters and colorful reefs of Hawaii on a submersible scooter. Your Maunalua Bay journey begins when you board our 50-foot power catamaran boat for a scenic cruise to a crystal clear dive site, and who knows you may even see the stars of Hawaii Five-O filming on the beach. Let our friendly, professional staff at Island Water Sports Hawaii take you on a truly unique, underwater adventure aboard one of our submersible eco-scooters in Maunalua Bay, Oahu. Our underwater scooters will allow you to view the marvels of the sea while effortlessly riding your very own self-propelled, eco-friendly electric scooter. No diving or scuba experience necessary. The tour also features snorkeling, swimming, shade areas and a spacious sun deck so you can relax and soak up the spectacular Hawaiian sun. We also offer Surfing and Stand-up Paddle Board Lessons, Fishing, and Custom Tours. So what are you waiting for, reservations are limited so book today!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I did the under water scooter tour with 2 other friends...i'd do it again in a heart beat! It was so fun. They take you out to an area where we saw numerous turtles and fish. You could also snorkel around the boat as well. Worth your time and money...book it now!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swiderskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    20
    9
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sub-Scooter: our best event the entire trip”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We went on the 2 hour sub-scooter, snorkeling adventure. The captain and the rest of the crew were amazing. They were very patient in explaining how the scooter works and one of the crew members were always there to support and help us and we were felt at any point we were by ourselves. The groupon coupon just sweetened the deal. I would surely recommend this to anyone visiting Oahu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Submarine Scooters”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I took an excursion with Island Water Sports on their submarine scooters as well as some snorkeling. The crew was absolutely top-notch. There was a really good ratio of divers to scooters and you never felt all alone under the sea. The only intimidating part of the excursion was ducking under the water to get into the bubble helmet. Once inside, it was so cool. They had a little net of food on the front of the scooter so you were guaranteed to see fish up close and personal. And the big sea turtles were so fantastic. We had two or three of them swimming alongside us while we snorkeled or rode the scooter.

It's the "slow" season in Hawaii right now, which to me is the perfect time to travel. There were about 12 or so on board. Plenty of room for the people and our stuff. The crew provided us with cold water to drink and chips to snack on.

Now the "down" side. The location is a bit difficult to find and is quite a distance from the Waikiki area where so many of the hotels are located. The company does NOT offer hotel pick up so you're left to your own devices to get to their location. A taxi ride is $40 +tip. The local 23 bus is a lot cheaper $2.50 in exact change, but the time wasted on the bus took up a large portion of my afternoon. I didn't have any other plans for the afternoon and it's a good thing because while cheaper, the bus is not convenient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank airportbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for non-swimmers”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I signed up for the sub-eco scooter adventure via Groupon. The experience far exceeded our expectations. The place is a little hidden, but once you sign up the email they send you has great instructions for how to get there. Our group had mostly parties of two with about 20-25 people total. For the scooter part you go down for about 20 minute intervals 4-5 people at a time, which leaves you up on the boat for awhile while other groups go down, but you can just relax on the boat (they have chips and water available) or go snorkeling. The crew who were very helpful and friendly, offered instruction for people who weren't familiar with snorkeling. The scooter puts along slowly about 10 feet underwater, you have free movement your not strapped in at all you can move your arms and legs and even reach up to touch your face, or reach out to touch the fish. There is a mesh bag attached to the front that has food in it to attract the fish to you. Crew members snorkel around you and direct you they control the up and down you steer and control the 'gas'. The best part of the whole thing is that my husband doesn't swim and he was able to do this and feel comfortable and secure, there are plenty of crew members in the water watching and directing you while on the scooter, and life jackets available if you wanted to try snorkeling. We paid extra ($45) for the pictures/videos they take of you there were about 30 pictures and three videos and you can view them briefly first. Only negative I have is that we really wanted to see a turtle and didn't while we were down there even though in the video the camera man panned from us to a turtle. I can't say for sure that they didn't point it out to us as since you are underwater so no sound and relying on pointing/ gestures, but I didn't see anyone point the turtle out to us. Still was one of the coolest things we've been able to do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend for snorkeling & a sub scooter adventure”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a great time with the guys at Island Water Sports. They are all very professional and you can tell they really care about you and want you to enjoy the experience. The snorkeling and sub scooter experience was very cool. We wish there had been more sea life out that day but it was still a great experience. Riding the sub scooter while turtles swim around you is an awesome experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sgiles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island WaterSports Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to Island WaterSports Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing