We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First ever visit to Hawaii” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First ever visit to Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon. I don't understand the complaints about small rooms as I found our mountain view room perfectly adequate! All staff we encountered were attentive and friendly. House keeping we're efficient and even didn't mind coming back later on the mornings we wanted a lazy lie-in!

Only used the bar/restaurant a couple of times - once to avoid tropical storm Iselle! But the staff were all great and the food was about the same price as in some nearby restaurants. We went to Tikkis bar and grill a few times as it was recommended by the hotel and meant we got to sip cocktails near the beach watching the sun set!

The pool is small and it can be windy up there but works for me as I get overwhelmed in crowds sometimes such as on the beach. If you time it wrong though be prepared to have to compete with the kids for space in the pool! I think I managed to avoid getting hit during a rather long ball game however! The beach is a short walk away and the hotel provided towels. It was worth it to say I'd swam in the Pacific.

Hotel maybe looks a little dated in places but it honestly didn't bother me. The only disappointing thing is we mentioned it was our honeymoon a couple of times and I see other reviewers saying they got chocolates sent to their room without asking. I know a paradise destination such as Hawaii probably gets people saying that all the time but it does feel like we got treated differently when you see so many mentions of it in other reviews. It's a very minor thing though and I can't fault any of the staff because they were still very friendly! I'd definitely stay here again as we hope to return to Hawaii someday.

Room Tip: I prefer mountains to beaches in terms of view so was very happy with a mountain view. The sea does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AikaterineXXVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    1,603
    487
    140
    55
See reviews for
889
1,767
257
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spacious clean rooms, efficient staff. The room was quite modern and reasonably well equipped, but no extras such as dressing gowns or slippers and the wardrobe was in the bathroom (a bit strange!). We had a very small balcony (on 26th floor), with a beach & sea view - however, note that the hotel is one block back from the beach, so there are other hotels blocking a clear view. The pool area was disappointing, as it was very windy (not really the hotel's fault), lifeless (no background music, no pro-active offers of drinks from staff, etc.) and the pool was small and not very clean. Nothing like a 'resort' style hotel. The restaurant was poor - not sure if it was trying to be an American diner or not? However, the hotel is convenient for Waikiki beach and easy walking distance to the other hotels & restaurants of Waikiki & Honolulu. I'm sure the frontline hotels would be better all round (Marriott, Hyatt, etc.) but that will be reflected in their room rates. Note - we found most USA hotels to be Room Only and breakfasts can be $30 per person. We were happy to have tea/coffee in the room, then grab a muffin or fruit from a local store on the way out.

Room Tip: Sea view room far better than city or mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardTasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Pros: I liked the location of the hotel (the north park of Waikiki is much more touristy/crowded/family-orientated) and also its modern décor. The room was a good size and had a nice view. No free wifi but we survived.

However, for the price and as Hilton rewards members, I was not satisfied with the customer service in this hotel. The first morning, I woke up to find a roach on a towel in the bathroom sink (eek!). I understand that these bugs thrive in a tropical environment, but for the cost of the hotel, would not expect to see one here, and on the first night no less. I brought this up to the front desk when getting change and her attitude was simply “ I’m sorry but this is the environment they live in– it probably came from outside as we do not have any roaches in the hotel.” And that was simply the end of the discussion.

However, things took a turn for the worse when I left my bathroom bag there (with $100 dollars worth of beauty products/toiletries inside). We moved to a condo for the second leg of the trip, and that night after checking out of the hotel, I immediately realized I had forgotten the bag and called customer service, who put me through to maid service. Throughout the trip the cleaning staff was really friendly toward the guests, always saying hello, but on the phone, the head of the department insisted that nothing was left behind in the room. She then went to see if the room hadn’t been clean yet (which was nice, but it had) hence no sign of the bag. However, she suggested I could leave my phone number and they would ask the maid who had cleaned the room about it in the morning and call me back. This was my second time calling and also my husband called, so I am sure that they had the right room number and telephone number as we repeated it several times. After not hearing back from the hotel for a few days, I called them back to inquire about the status of the lost items, and they had in fact, to my surprise, located it (but failed to call). On the one hand, maybe it is standard procedure for the maid to hold on to any lost items for a few days or there was a lapse in communication but it also seemed liked it could be a case of tourist seems to traveling back to the mainland = free stuff. Granted, it was my fault for leaving the bag in the first place but the whole process was overly drawn out. I have left behind items in other hotels before and they have always been promptly returned.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler5225700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha, I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problem is addressed. We are sorry that it took so long to locate your bag but we are glad that we were able to return it to you.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an overrated hotel it would be lucky to rate 2 stars in Vegas. It is old, there is only air conditioning in the rooms.the Checkin clerk was unhelpful and rude. The rooms are tiny. We booked an executive room and we we're upgraded to a parlour suite. Suite is a very large exaggeration of what we all know a suite to be. It is 2 small rooms one set up as a bedroom with a poorly remodelled bathroom and the adjoining other small hotel room set up as a lounge/ kitchenette . Whilst the extra space was appreciated I would hate to have paid for this. The whole suite only had 2 small glasses in the bathroom no other utensils, plates cups or kitchen utensils yet they provide a microwave oven. The air conditioner is controlled by a movement sensor so you wake up and the room is hot because you don't activate the sensor. We booked being told that evening cocktails and nibbles are served in the top floor executive lounge only to find that you have to buy your drinks and the lounge has been moved to the basement which is very hot in the afternoon. I doubt they could find a more depressing area to locate the lounge. The pool here is very small and is always very windy with a cheap setup. Hawaii has become an overrated destination that is expensive for what it offers, whilst this review is of the Hilton we got the feeling that most of the hotels in Waikiki are old and run down with beachfront hotels appearing lay invaded by non guests using the beachfront eateries and facilities. Find another destination this place is a dump.

Room Tip: We had a high floor parlour suite DO NOT WASTE the money this is a small ocean view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misspiggy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the amenities in your guest room and the location of our lounge. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. We are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Waikiki Beach Hotel. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. I called Concierge prior to my stay to ask questions regarding our 25th anniversary vow renewal and Debbie was very nice and helpful with information on purchasing lei's and hair salons. A nice surprise of strawberries and champagne showed up midway through our stay congratulating us on our anniversary! The hotel was very clean and modern. On our last night we enjoyed drinks in the lobby while listening to the band. Very nice evening for our family to enjoy together. If you don't mind walking about 1 mile to the main shopping and dining area in Waikiki, I would highly recommend this hotel. The beach directly in front of the hotel is excellent for families, especially if you have small children as there is a section that is blocked from the waves and makes a nice wading area or just floating on your rafts.

Room Tip: We wanted an ocean view room but needed something bigger for our kids and the only largers rooms ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Aloha and thank you very much for the review and five stars. Happy Anniversary once again, I am thrilled the entire trip turned out to be a splendid one. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My son, his wife, 2 of my grand children and my great grand daughter live in Hawaii and we wry to make a annual trip to Hawaii to see them. This was our first time at this hotel that provided for all our needs however could not provide adjoining rooms due to their capacity. I am a huge fan of Hilton and am a HHonors and Hilton Grand vacations member. To me Hilton sets the standards bar high and always delivers the best quality rooms and service for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha and thank you very much for the review about the recent stay with us. I do apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with adjoining rooms, we have been extremely busy this summer. I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time visiting your family. We look forward to you return visit next year. Aloha and Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week at the end of July for our trip to Hawaii. The hotel is perfectly located for Waikiki and all of its attractions, tours, and resturaunts. The hotel is clean, tidy, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are enough for a weeks stay if you are like us and only use it to sleep and change in. If you intend to spend more time in your room / balcony I would suggest going for a suite etc.

All in all, a great hotel for the money. If you work in the travel industry, take an ID as this will entitle you to some discount within the hotel itself.

This hotel is the perfect base for you to visit everything on Oahu. The overnight parking is a bit pricy though and free in room Internet would be an added bonus.

We walked from the hotel upto diamond head to begin the trail to the top. The entrance to diamond head was around a 45 minute walk at a good pace. I will be reviewing all of the tours and resturaunts that we visited so feel free to check my other reviews over the next week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifesabeach247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Aloha and thank you very much for the review about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and around Waikiki. Please visit us again some time soon. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing