We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected for a 4 Star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what we expected for a 4 Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you are expecting a personal service you will be disappointed. Would not rate service as 4 star. Staff not helpful and hotel not as close to the beach as you think, nor are they good at keeping promises. Make sure you check out well before 12 or you will be locked out of your room !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane141270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments about the recent stay you had with us. I would like to apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations this time around. I do hope you enjoyed your time around the island and were able to see all the beautiful things it has to offer. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    1,604
    487
    140
    55
See reviews for
889
1,768
257
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Waikiki Beach just three nights before travelling on to another island. Even in that short time we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Due to my husband's Hilton status, we were upgraded to an ocean view room that also had views of Diamond Head. The view was wonderful (even if the balcony is tiny). The rooms, although on the smaller side, were all that we needed to get a good night's sleep to be refreshed for another day (after all, who comes to Hawaii to spend alot of time in their hotel room?). The executive lounge provided a decent filling breakfast and the evening snacks, although not gourmet selections, were enough to get you through to dinner. Also, the executive lounge, while technically in a basement, was not the dark, dank place I had envisioned from reading other reviews. There were windows with beautiful tropical plantings that are on street level and it provided a very comfortable place to eat breakfast and we even brought some take out food in one day for lunch (soft drinks and water are available all the time). The swimming pool is small and although updated, it's still a throwback to the days when hotels didn't need big pools to impress their guests. But, again, why would you spend alot of time at the pool when beautiful Waikiki beach is a short walk away? Be sure to take some time to walk around the tropical gardens outside the hotel - a very peaceful place in the middle of the hustle and bustle that is Waikiki. If you are looking for an over-the-top resort property in Waikiki, this hotel isn't going to be for you. However, If you want a comfortable, moderately priced (for Waikiki) place to stay, chose this property. If defintely met our needs for a short stay. Mahalo Hilton Waikiki Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jogom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed on the 35th floor and was impressed from the time I checked in, opened my room door and checked out 4 days later. Executive lounge was amazing and the food served was exceptional quality. Could not fault this hotel at all. Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneBe1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time and how much we impressed you. Please visit us again sometime soon. Aloha and Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed 9 nights in the Ocean View room. Well worth the money. Rooms clean & comfortable & modern.

Great location.

Swimming pool on level 10 was smallish although the bar man there 'Myles' was fantastic - friendly helpful & makes a great Mojita!

Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sherii888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Aloha and thank you for the review on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled you had a wonderful time and I will be sure to let Myles know he made your trip that much more enjoyable. Aloha and Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It you are going on your honeymoon stay on the beach spend the money to do this! Otherwise if you are there looking for more cost effective accommodations this one fits the bill. The hotel is in decent condition, the beds were Hilton Standard not overly firm but not too soft either, linens were clean and it good condition. The bathroom was nice you need to close the blinds for privacy. You can get a room with a partial ocean view which is a nice touch, but really you still have to look at the other buildings nearby The staff were exceptional very willing to help and extremely polite. The restaurants on site were decent, service was a little slow in the morning but that is due to it being busy. I think had we eaten outside we would have waited as long. The nightly entertainment was a nice touch. The handicap access in this hotel is weak, but it seems that I am spoiled living here in Canada, with a broken leg and ankle from a previous trip the stairs were not the best and the wheel chair ramp required me to have a PHD to operate!

Room Tip: If you are high enough on the Hilton Honours food chain you get free wifi otherwise it is a rip off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakvilleadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for the review and your comments about the recent say you had with us. I would also like to thank you for the kind words about the staff, we pride ourselves on the service that we provide. I hope you enjoyed your time around the island. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed and enjoyed this property several times before. On this trip, I arrived at the Hilton Waikiki Beach the day before Tropical Storm Iselle. The front desk professionally presented a newsletter that provided the current weather situation and the hotel's preparation for Iselle. On the eve of the storm, the turn down service left a updated newsletter on the current weather situation. I truly appreciate this concern by the staff of the Hilton Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha and thank you very much for the five star review and comments. I would also like to thank you for continuing to stay with us every time you travel to the island. I am glad that the storm turned out the way it did and that everyone was safe, thank you for complimenting us on our preparedness. I hope you had safe travels back home and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family just returned from Hawaii and had a great experience staying at the Hilton Waikiki Beach hotel. The rooms are very comfortable clean and attractively decorated, it's a great location just a block away from the beach, shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel itself is very pretty, they have nightly entertainment in their lounge area and there's a great restaurant, moderately priced in the hotel which is open 24hours a day. They also have a convenience store on the first floor for anything else you may need during your stay. I think all the rooms have great views, whether you face the ocean or the mountains. It's also a quieter setting being off the main boulevard, but close enough to enjoy the beach, watch the surfers or the waves break out on the pier by Waikiki. it's also close to a beach which has a jetty which creates a protected area for swimming for children or anyone who prefers fewer waves. We were very happy with our accommodations at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for the five star review and comments about the recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you great experience at our property and Waikiki as well. I hope you had safe travels back home. Aloha and Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Property: Hilton Waikiki Beach
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3671
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing