We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse suite 2613 (Jack Lord's lanai in the original Hawaii 5-0 fly over scene) and it was a great space for the 7 of us. You never felt crowded, the view was amazing to wake up to every day and having the kitchen/laundry was a bonus. It is close to Ala Moana and not too far from the main strip of Waikiki. We would taxi/trolley it to the main strip for dinner and then take a leisurely stroll home after dinner. The Illikai Bar and Grill downstairs was a great place to eat, we did not have one bad meal the whole time in Hawaii anywhere we ate! It's a short stroll to the ABC shop across the road, the IHOP for breakfast and to the end of Waikiki beach. I could not fault the position of this Hotel. It was always clean and the staff were very nice. Would thoroughly recommend staying at the Illikai Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellbells18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    866
    205
    44
    26
See reviews for
755
793
94
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwell
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We had room 723. Lanai faced the mountains rather than the sea so a little noisy. Next time we would ask for an ocean view room. However we cannot fault the standard of the room and its full kitchen. Great for cooking breakfast and we used the stove on a few occasions too. Room was clean and well maintained. Excellent shower, very spacious. We booked through Shell Vacations and the couple of occasions we visited the office we found helpful and courteous service. Would really recommend the Ilikai - near all amenities plus there's a great swimming pool belonging to the hotel and a safe lagoon very close. All in all we had a lovely stay. Would particularly like to mention Bruce one of the valets who helped us with our luggage on to the shuttle bus on the last day. He was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My fiance and I were gifted a week at the Ilikai through a relative's time share. We had a GREAT stay here. One of the highlights is that our room faced the ocean, with a great view. PLUS, we had a front row seat to the Hilton's fireworks show on Tuesday and Friday. This was AWESOME!! The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't really use the kitchen, although it did have a full size fridge, stove/oven combo, microwave and sink. The hotel looks a bit old on the outside, but inside everything was very modern and new. (Okay, except the elevators, they still look a bit out dated.) The bathroom had marble counter tops and a flat screen TV and such.

There's a small grocery store in the lobby of the hotel, which was very convenient. Unfortunately, there's no parking lot and the valet was pretty expensive for a week's stay. (Although, I think you have this problem at every hotel in Waikiki).

The location is fantastic as you're steps away from Waikiki beach and right next door to the Hilton. Downtown Waikiki is a bit of a long walk, but despite that, we walked down to the main part of town several times on our week long stay. The mall is also a short walk, so we wandered down there one afternoon. If I stay here again, I wouldn't even bother renting a car. Everything was very convenient to the Ilikai, and we barely used the car.

I would come back to stay at the Ilikai again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellis155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked through Waikiki Beach Rentals and chose condo #2106, mostly for the view over the marina and because the hotel is so iconic (just watch the old Hawaii Five-O!). We were also hoping that the reviews about the condo were accurate and that we'd at last find a clean place in Waikiki. We've stayed several times, usually 1-2 nights while we wait for a flight to another island and have had a hard time finding a place that isn't run down with moldy bathrooms and beds that smell of sweat and worse (and that's despite paying $150+ for a room!).

What a wonderful gift this place was: nicely renovated, well-cleaned, good beds with fresh-smelling linens. The fridge was large and new and ran very quietly. Didn't try the stove...salads from ABC Store and the mall food store were sufficient for us. The room was spacious and bright, which beats a tiny cube of a hotel room any day.

The view over the marina was so fantastic that my husband spent a great deal of time in the comfy chairs on the lanai, watching everything that was going on. The view is particularly stupendous at night. We just couldn't stop taking photos of the same thing at different times of day, in the rain, in the sun, etc.

The Ilikai is located just beside the start of the Waikiki Beach and is also very close to Ala Moana Beach, which is far less busy and has very calm, relatively warm water. We walked everywhere: down to the Kapiolani Park, over to the historic Honolulu city centre, along the beaches, etc. We also took The Bus, once from the airport, after returning our rental car (we didn't have luggage with us, knowing that there are restrictions on what you may take on the bus) and once from the 'Iolani Palace area. Both times we got off at the Ala Moana mall rather than the bus stop just outside the hotel because it was so darn cold on the bus that we needed the walk to defrost!

Situated overlooking the pool and eating area as it was, there was some noise: the first night was great since we got to listen to Hawaiian music and watch hula dancing, which looked a little odd since we were looking down at the dancers' heads. The music didn't go on for too long and everything quieted down nicely for the night. The next night was harder. Some youngsters talked until 3:30 a.m. They weren't rowdy, just excited about life. It is true that we had the doors open rather than shutting ourselves away with the air conditioning, but the closed doors hadn't done too much to block out the music the night before, so I suspect we would have heard the talking at least as clearly. We didn't really allow the noise to bother us too much because we had made the choice to overlook the pool area, knowing it would probably be somewhat noisier.

Small things are important: there was a laundry room on our floor: cost $2.50 per washer/dryer. The elevators were efficient, quiet and the ride was smooth, something that one likes when going up and down to the 21st floor! We never had to wait long. If you come in from the beach, you can use to the Bathers Elevator. There's no key or key card: you just input a code and turn the lock. While it's handy not having to worry about a key or card, it also means you have to remember that code. There's no check-in either, which means you a) have to remember to bring the information page you are sent (including the key code) and b) are really stuck if you forget that info page or your code! The only weird thing was the tub in the bathroom. The side was so high we almost needed to pole-vault in. If you have hip problems or are short, you'd pretty well have to rely on the ocean to keep you clean.

We only stayed 2 nights which wasn't as good a deal as if we'd stayed for a week or so because the cleaning fee is pretty hefty. However, we would do it again because of the location and quality of the place and because we don't like to spend any more time in Waikiki than we have to. The energy in this touristy place is too much for us to consider any longer stays.

Waikiki Beach Rentals was easy to work with and the hotel staff (not related to the rental agency)that we encountered were very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Christy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the Ilikai marina condo apartment number 888 which is next to the Ilikai hotel. Booked through alibi beach rentals who I would also recommend. We were emailed all the information for check in including the room access number etc which made for a hassle free check in. The location was excellent. Only a short walk to the beach and the Ala Moana shopping centre (which u will need more than 1 day for as it is HUGE) Lots of bars and restaurants around also and if you walk a little further down toward Diamond head you will find another shopping area behind the hotels and more eateries etc.
Fireworks over the hilton lagoon on Friday night was lovely and we had a fantastic view from the lanai (balcony for Australian readers :-))
Do not rely on the bus though for the airport. We waited half an hour only to have the bus show up and drive straight past us. We were then told by locals they wouldn't want us to bring the luggage on board which is ridiculous given we were going to the airport! We ended up getting a taxi instead, but perhaps booking the airport/hotel shuttle would be better.
The apartment was clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities including a kitchen if you wish to cater for yourselves. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be quieter and a marina view is definitely worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jloPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Everything about this trip was excellent. Fell in love with hawaii and will be back!
Great views, comfy bed, well looked after and quiet just a great condo!
The illikai itself was amazing great pool, service and little shops. Nice easy walk to the beach via the lagoon. Awesome fireworks display!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed on the 22nd floor facing the ocean. The view was breathtaking, and our room was large. The price was excellent, and the location was spot on. There was not a single negative thing to say We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Face the ocean, and get the highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,473 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing