We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ilikai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed in a privately owned condo at the Ilikai for 13 nights in November 2013. The view from the lanai (and from the room itself) is magnificent. I never tired of sitting out there watching the ocean and the marina - the sunsets are breathtaking. The lanai is large and easily fit the four of us. The kitchen was well stocked with enough plates, cups, utensils, etc, and a nice big fridge. We enjoyed using the swimming pool every day, also the nearby HHV lagoon. The Ala Moana shopping centre is only a short walk away. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean and marina see breathtaking sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank good_advice_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great rooms with beautiful views! The rooms were very large and comfortable. The staff was helpful and so very friendly. The hotel is in close walking distance to the mall and harbor. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and each side has a unique view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Comfortable Here on a girls trip with mom aunties and sister. My aunts were dusting the headboards. Don't get me wrong - there's no roaches or rats - just a little dust. Beds comfy. Nice balconies. Little kitchenette convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just recently stayed(end of October13) at the LlIKAI, You won't find a better spot to stay for the price, plus very clean and very nice rooms. ONE THING! Book through VRBO.com so you can get a owners suite. most are fairly newly renovated large room suites, that have full kitchens. a living room/dining combo and a king size bed or two doubles.
Go for either a ocean view or lagoon view. The Iiikai hotel is set up like a Y shape building . On most Vrbo listing they show the layout of the hotel with the room numbers, and most vrbo. com listings also tell you the location of the suite you wish to rent. Go for a top floor to see the amazing view.
Unless you wish to spend over $250 a night for a 1 bedroom suite. the Iilkai has the location. price. resturants close by and on site, walk to mall, bus out front, nice warm pool. This place has it all .

Room Tip: Book through VRBO.com site . See all the pictures of the unit you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boltonview15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Second time at Ilikai. Our first time was in 1978. This time we stayed 10 nights in condo 1330. Things haven't changed too much which makes this place homely and much less expensive than those flash boxes in Waikiki proper! Being a Kiwi from NZ we couldn't believe the room rates at other hotels. Our room was comfortable with good beds which were doubles and not king. The kitchen was functional and contained all main appliances. So good to be able to eat in your room from time to time and the ABC convenience store is only a few minutes way and for more substantial offerings/varieties you can walk to Foodland at Ala Moana Shopping Centre in 10 minutes. Da Big Kahuna bar & eatery on the marina side of the lobby does good food and drinks at reasonable prices. The staff are happy and always willing to provide the best service possible. Ilikai is a $2 ride on the pink line to the other end of Waikiki although we walked the street and oceanfront boardwalk a few times. No need to rush as you can stop off at one of the hotels for a feed or refreshment along the way - very civilised. If you are a people person you will love mixing with the locals and other tourists. Taxis are numerous and well priced. Just watch out for the driver with no knowledge of the area and who uses the GPS on his phone to move around! Best to book months ahead as Ilikai gets very, very busy. Staff that we came across were attentive and the security was noticeable. The lanais are of good size and if you get the lagoon /ocean side you will see the fireworks on Friday night and you may get to watch and listen to the luaus being performed at Hilton rooftop at no charge! We think your pocket, stomach, and the rest-fullness of the Ilikai will be appreciated by most guests. We will return in the very near future.

Room Tip: Probably go for Lagoon/Ocean side so you can get grandstand view of fireworks, Hilton luau and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardmartin747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed 5 nights on the 6th floor overlooking the lagoon and pools. great view but couldn't quite see the sunsets.
Staff were great. Very helpful and always smiling. Room was nice and clean. Had a small kitchen which was good. Pretty quiet location which was good
Well within walking distance of Ala Moana and the Nth end of the Stip.
Food at the grill (great location) leaves a lot to be desired but that just seems to be typical American food.....basic, bland and no flavour

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mybludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked condo 1732 through Waikiki rentals. We dealt with Dainora.
She was very easy to communicate with and very helpful.
We loved our condo. So much better than cramming into a small hotel room.
The view from the balcony was just beautiful.
We had a Lagoon and Ocean view. Great for viewing the fireworks on a Tuesday and Friday night.
The condo itself had everything we needed.
We had two other couples visit our room while we were there. They both said our condo was much nicer than theirs. I was a little concerned when booking that it was going to be dated as I had read this in some reviews, but one step in the door and we found ours must have been one of the updated condos.
The location for us was good.
It’s not right in the heart of the action, but a very pleasant 15 minute walk and you were in the thick of it all.
Plenty of places to eat nearby.
Car rental a few steps away. ABC stores also very close by.
I would surely stay here again. I just don’t think you can beat it for the price.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MissPixieLix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,572 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £160 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing