We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service and views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
AU
1 review
“Amazing service and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

When my daughter gave us 2 weeks to plan her wedding and on New Years Eve (yikes) I was in a panic to figure out what/where/when. That is when Terry of the Ilikai came to my rescue. He and his staff made sure that they not only had a room to view the NYE fireworks as they had asked for, but made the room and experience one to truly remember fondly. I cannot thank them enough for the special attention they gave us and the attention to detail that made my daughter and her fiance's day incredibly lovely. I would highly recommend the Ilikai for weddings and events or just as a great place to stay. The rates are fabulous and the service and accomodations even more so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TellingIt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    807
    181
    40
    24
See reviews for
693
734
89
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spend 9 nights at the Ilikai this January and loved every minute of it. Called to book the room direct through the Ilikai Hotel and got a very good rate. Booked an ocean view room with a kitchen for not too many more $ and were able to check in as soon as we got to the hotel from our early flight arrival from Australia. Fabulous views over the marina and ocean, stunning sunsets and lovely breezes and no street noise. Quiet enough to leave the balcony door open during the night. The hotel is clean, room serviced daily, beach towels available from check in and tour/activities desk in the foyer as well as a mini mart, coffee shop and the Ilikai Bar and Grill which give you 10%discount. Coin laundries on every floor and ice machines available also. 10 minutes walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre as well as Walmart and Ross Dress for Less. 15 minutes walk to the major Waikiki beach past the Hilton Village, Fort De Russy Park etc. The Ilikai is in a great position and has an affordable ocean view. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ocean view with kitchen, high floor (not necessary)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay there was easy and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and genuine from beginning to end. The location is great, it's practically in between Ala Moana and Waikiki. If your not bothered walking, or have too many shopping bags, its a cheap cab ride back. The pool is average, but with the beach further down, it doesn't matter.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the ilikai on our second trip to Hawaii. Previously we ahd stayed at the other end of town so i wanted to check out what the other end had to offer.
We went for the Ilikai in the end because it was reasonably priced and my husband loves Hawaii 50 so the fact that it features in the opening sequence clinched it!
It is in a good location at the far end of the beach right next to the harbour and the lagoon at the hilton - which is open for all to use.
The rooms were clean and large (we were upgraded to a suite which had a seating area and kitchen - which was great as we could have breakfast in our room rather than spending to eat out every morning) but could do with an updtae perhaps...although it was functional and practical.
we did not use the pool area but there was a bar serving snacks and drinks etc and a handy coffee bar too which i would recommend for breakfast Kona coffee!
We rented some beach chairs which were fantastic and great to use on the busy waikiki beach and near the lagoon.
I would recommend this hotel, good value and good location.

Room Tip: we didnt use our balcony at all as it faced the road so wasnt partcularly sunny or private. IF thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We got a great rate for this hotel, and the view alone was worth it. If you get an ocean view, request the highest floor possible. Regardless of which direction you're facing, you'll get a breathtaking view every time you look out the window. The hotel is clean and the interior is nice, but the exterior feels a little dated, like we were living in a beach movie from the 70's.

PARKING: Park behind the hotel in the marina parking lot. There are spots along the main drag there, or you can get $6 10-hour parking in the lot directly across from the Hilton's lagoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have previously stayed here booking through the hotel. This visit we booked a condo through Waikiki Beach Rentals. We were able to choose the exact room when we booked. We knew what our view would be and which floor we would be on.

The room was well appointed and the kitchen came in handy. Plenty of storage areas to unpack our clothes into.

The hotel is well located with plenty of restaurants nearby. Short walk to the Ala Moana shopping centre.

Room Tip: Visit the Hilton Hawaiian Village next door to see the penguins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed at a condo at this property and it was an excellent experience. The apt was very well furnished, two bedrooms, each bedroom and living room had a tv. The guest bedroom (2nd bedroom) had a twin and full size bed and attached bathroom. Had an apt on the 15th floor so it had two nice balconies, one accessible from the master bedroom and living room, the other accessible from the guest bedroom and living room.

The apt was very clean and well maintained. I have read other reviews of people that have rented apt, and its mostly the owners faults that they are not very well maintained. So its a hit or miss for these owner operated condos/apts.

Room Tip: If you are renting a condo/apt from an owner, I suggest that you do thorough research on the apt and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing