We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb ocean and city view (25 th floor)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Good:
We stayed in suite 2526 (honeymoon suite), the view is very nice with large windows. That was the most important feature for us.

The Mediocre:
The suite kitchenette is extremely basic, do not expect to cook anything other than toasts, bacon and eggs. Forget about even salt & pepper. I would have expected to have at least 2 wine or champagne glasses in an honeymoon suite, but you will have to use the typical bathroom style glasses. No oven, no dishwasher.

There is a huge bathtub (non Jacuzzi), but no bubble bath or salts, nothing.
No room service at all, you have to order online for room delivery (9$ extra)

The pool is very small and packed, shadowed until 2 PM.

Wifi is free, but disconnects every 15 minutes. Streaming music is not an option.

The Ugly:

Entirely non smoking but one small and remote section. (Most people will move this comment to the GOOD section :)

Parking (28$) is valet only, it was next to impossible to find parking in this area.

The restaurant at ground level is serving horrible food, the wine was slightly better than vinegar.
You can't bill it to your room, that is probably a good thing, you really want to forget everything about this place.
Fortunately that are so many other great restaurants around, so do not waste your time there.

Conclusion:

We liked the view, great location, forget about the kitchenette.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AMLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
There are newer reviews for Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed at the Illikai for a couple of weeks in early Jan and had a fantastic time. First time trip to Hawaii so had previously spent many hours looking for the right location in Waikiki that was central to all the shopping, restaurants, local sights etc and the Illikai was perfect! Huge hotel complex, lots of hive and activity and would definately go back again. Only downside is that the Gym does require an upgrade, particularly new equipment, but other than that, great facilities overall.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Char245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had to book our first two nights through our VRBO Waikiki Rentals as their unit was not available. Everything was handled easily and we just went through front desk and all was handled nicely, as we had prepaid. We were upgraded to 1430 which was a completely renovated King Suite with ocean front/lagoon view. It was simply amazing, and much better than our actual VRBO (which they say are renovating in May). We were traveling with our 14 year old daughter and they even brought up a cot for us, though it had a pullout couch. Thanks to the Ilikai for providing an amazing place to stay for our 2 day requirement! Awesome facilities, pool is decent, the bar and grill downstairs is convenient, breakfast ends at 10:20 am so watch your clock. Reasonable and options available for lunch and dinner, had a few snacks. Music most nights. Definitely liked the location from downtown mayhem and tourist chaos, we would recommend this place to friends! Met many return guests... some for the past 25 years!! That says alot. NOT all suites are renovated, but they are working on it. Some are tenants, VRBO or condo property, not all hotel rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great for sunsets at the Marina, fireworks at Lagoon and walking distance to shopping in either direction. Aloha

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PoppinsMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife with both of our adult children ages 23 & 25 had a fantastic stay at the Ilikai this past week! It was our first trip to Oahu. The two bedroom suite was very comfortable for all four of us to spread out and relax. Our room on the 22nd floor had the most unbelievable views from both balcony's. Plus their staff was so very hospitable & accommodating!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked this hotel on a website which provided me with a bit of a discount. Not a good idea. No where on the site (or on Ilikai Hotel site either) did it mention the hotel was under construction. I thought this was a requirement in USA but apparently not. The room we were given was directly above a room being renovated & the pounding, hammering & drilling was really unacceptable. I almost called the CEO & had him listen to it but called the desk instead. The supervisor was friendly but had no authority to do anything without contacting the Manager so after a couple of calls, we were moved to another room. For the inconvenience the Manager provided a basket of goodies but we were then subjected to construction across the street! The hotel is outdated and location is not great. Too far from Waikiki Beach however it is quieter.
The Bar & Grill had decent food & prices but a couple of the waitresses were surly. The front desk staff were friendly. The restaurant on top of the hotel had an incredible view but overpriced.
The pool was much too small for a hotel this size and never was there an empty chair unless it was raining. Overall we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask where construction is happening as it has been going on for a year apparently a few rooms at a t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helpfultraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your comments and we apologize the website you booked through did not have the information as it has been provided to many of the travel sites that book Hawaii. When informed by a guest, we make every effort to relocate and were pleased you were able to be moved to a quieter location. Although renovations are disruptive, the finished results is beautiful and will be completed in November of this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My son & I truly enjoyed our hop over to O'ahu from Maui for the Pro Bowl weekend. The ocean views and room amenities were great, but the thing that stuck out for me was the aloha spirit of the employees. At every turn we were greeted with a 'can do' attitude and a friendly, inviting smile. My son & I were not feeling well after returning to the room and had to call down for assistance very early in the morning. The engineer was right there before I knew it offering service with a smile. He was very understanding & cooperative with my requests. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the true aloha spirit and inviting Hawaiian hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lehua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We traded our Kauai timeshare for a week in Honolulu at the Ilikai.
The location, lobby, restaurants and shops were wonderful, as was our partial ocean view
from the balcony. Size of the room, kitchenette and bath were fine. However, it's quite evident that updates are needed. The gym (supposedly renovated) was a total disappointment - very few machines and couldn't even find free weights! The pool was old, too small, crowded, with no landscape appeal. There didn't even appear to be a spa. The room, (in spite of the very comfortable bed and many amenities) was tired and old. The curtains were faded and grey, and the furniture looked like it was from the 70's. The ancient air conditioner blew air into my face at night while I slept, and, yes, I did catch a cold. Since this is our only option for trading our time-share, we will return. But, as the saying goes: "You get what you pay for."

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,
We appreciate your comments and wanted you to know that our guestrooms are currently under a complete renovation with all rooms to be ready by this November. There is a second modern pool and lounge area scheduled to begin renovation soon and we do have a Spa facility located near the fitness center you commented about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,070 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £177 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing