We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, bonus kitchenette, expensive valet parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views, bonus kitchenette, expensive valet parking”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband was totally psyched to stay at the same hotel featured in the opening credits of Hawaii 5-0. The location was great. We liked having a little kitchenette, and sliding doors between the sitting area and bedroom, perfect for traveling with a small child. We enjoyed walking along the waterfront and beach in front of the hotel.
Valet parking was $28 per night, which seemed expensive.

Room Tip: We could hear but not see the Hilton Friday night fireworks, so ask for a room facing the Hilton if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    849
    195
    42
    24
See reviews for
739
769
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We love the Ilikai :) Great location right on Waikiki next to the Hilton you are very central but a little quieter than right central on Waikiki.
We rent online from a rental property company but you can also rent directly from the ilikai hotel, the difference Is the private condos have kitchenettes. pricing 119-140 for a double depending on the season...cant beat that price for Honolulu !
I will keep coming back again and again, love the Ilikai hotel.
Tips-check out the Mai Tai restaurant downstairs, great happy hour from 1030am-6pm daily, $3 domestic beers and snacks.

Room Tip: marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mishymuffincakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel and had a great time. The Ala Moana Shopping Mall is a 10 minute walk away while the Duke lagoon is right in front for young kids. Used the valet which was pretty decent for Honolulu but it saved time finding your own parking space and bringing young kids around to the car.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank vdx2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Good:
We stayed in suite 2526 (honeymoon suite), the view is very nice with large windows. That was the most important feature for us.

The Mediocre:
The suite kitchenette is extremely basic, do not expect to cook anything other than toasts, bacon and eggs. Forget about even salt & pepper. I would have expected to have at least 2 wine or champagne glasses in an honeymoon suite, but you will have to use the typical bathroom style glasses. No oven, no dishwasher.

There is a huge bathtub (non Jacuzzi), but no bubble bath or salts, nothing.
No room service at all, you have to order online for room delivery (9$ extra)

The pool is very small and packed, shadowed until 2 PM.

Wifi is free, but disconnects every 15 minutes. Streaming music is not an option.

The Ugly:

Entirely non smoking but one small and remote section. (Most people will move this comment to the GOOD section :)

Parking (28$) is valet only, it was next to impossible to find parking in this area.

The restaurant at ground level is serving horrible food, the wine was slightly better than vinegar.
You can't bill it to your room, that is probably a good thing, you really want to forget everything about this place.
Fortunately that are so many other great restaurants around, so do not waste your time there.

Conclusion:

We liked the view, great location, forget about the kitchenette.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed at the Illikai for a couple of weeks in early Jan and had a fantastic time. First time trip to Hawaii so had previously spent many hours looking for the right location in Waikiki that was central to all the shopping, restaurants, local sights etc and the Illikai was perfect! Huge hotel complex, lots of hive and activity and would definately go back again. Only downside is that the Gym does require an upgrade, particularly new equipment, but other than that, great facilities overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Char245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had to book our first two nights through our VRBO Waikiki Rentals as their unit was not available. Everything was handled easily and we just went through front desk and all was handled nicely, as we had prepaid. We were upgraded to 1430 which was a completely renovated King Suite with ocean front/lagoon view. It was simply amazing, and much better than our actual VRBO (which they say are renovating in May). We were traveling with our 14 year old daughter and they even brought up a cot for us, though it had a pullout couch. Thanks to the Ilikai for providing an amazing place to stay for our 2 day requirement! Awesome facilities, pool is decent, the bar and grill downstairs is convenient, breakfast ends at 10:20 am so watch your clock. Reasonable and options available for lunch and dinner, had a few snacks. Music most nights. Definitely liked the location from downtown mayhem and tourist chaos, we would recommend this place to friends! Met many return guests... some for the past 25 years!! That says alot. NOT all suites are renovated, but they are working on it. Some are tenants, VRBO or condo property, not all hotel rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great for sunsets at the Marina, fireworks at Lagoon and walking distance to shopping in either direction. Aloha

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PoppinsMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife with both of our adult children ages 23 & 25 had a fantastic stay at the Ilikai this past week! It was our first trip to Oahu. The two bedroom suite was very comfortable for all four of us to spread out and relax. Our room on the 22nd floor had the most unbelievable views from both balcony's. Plus their staff was so very hospitable & accommodating!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,298 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing