We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Belfair, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

So for those who do not know the Ilikai is a mix of hotels and condo units. The condos are owned by many different people so it really is a mixed bag here. My review is about the overall facility and NOT about the unit we rented. Why am I making the distinction? Simply because my experience with my unit and owner is unique. The Ilikai is located at what I consider to be the very beginning of the Waikiki area. Shopping and restaurants are only a short walk away. With that said, you are not in the center of it all and will have to walk 15 minutes or so to find the crowd and the "action". Only you can determine if that is good or bad. In my opinion, Waikiki is meant to be walked. It's a bit like Vegas in that regard. There is good public transportation here but your legs are your best bet. Plan to use them. With that in mind, where on the stretch you begin really doesn't matter.

The Ilikai is 50 years old but it is pretty well maintained for it's age. If you want or need frills, I suggest you pay the extra money and go to one of the high end places because I think you would be disappointed with that here. Personally, I do not see that as a negative. It's just a matter of preference. My rating is based on what you get for what you pay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelin41126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    862
    199
    44
    26
See reviews for
750
783
93
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from five days at the Ilikai. Here are the pros and cons.
Pros: Spacious rooms, although not the advertised 600 sq. ft. unless you include the large terrace. Nicely redecorated. Excellent and very quiet air conditioning. Comfortable beds and bedding. No tub, but large shower with plenty of water volume. Friendly staff. Good on-site restaurant on ground level.
Cons: Many floors are mostly condos. The one next to us was being remodleled w/construction noise, etc. Hotel said, "We don't know anything about what the condo owners do." ?!? Just be aware that you are in a mixed-use facility with condos, renters, time shares, etc. "Ocean view" depends on what part of the Y-shaped hotel you are in. In our room it meant you can see the ocean if you lean out over the balcony. Otherwise you are looking at the highrise hotel next door. Evenings, the view is more remiscent of Manhattan than Hawaii, but that is true of just about all of Honolulu now.
The Ilikai is not really a resort. They have a pool and a concierge plus attractive (and rarely crowded ) public areas. You can use the Hitlon's lagoon next door and the beach is about a block walk around the yacht harbor. No other activities that we could see.

Room Tip: Many condos in the Ilikai are available for multiple-night stays at rates below the hotel rates. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSteve316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hello all! My wife and I stayed here 1 night (03 Oct.2013) in preparation for our transpacific cruise on Celebrity Solstice. This was a very unique hotel downtown Honolulu. In the back of the hotel, they were filming Hawaii 50, which I thought was pretty cool. There is a lagoon out back and then there is the beach. Glorious!!! The hotel was very nicely appointed with an indoor/outdoor courtyard restaurant which I personally found to be very neat indeed. The real reason for my post is the cruise!!! Celebrity Cruises is a n absolute fantastic choice for people that can't afford Crystal Cruises. Plus they offer "free" drink packages which saves you a bundle. Includes all drinks (booze, specialty coffees, fresh squeezed orange juice). I highly recommend this cruise line.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at The Ilikai in Honolulu for a week in March . It's a wonderful solid old style hotel . It must of been magnificent in its prime , it's now celebrating its fiftieth year anniversary . . 50 years it's a little tired but still in very good condition . The foyer is classic and beautiful . The views are amazing . There are three sections so views from your apartment depend on which way your balcony faces . We had a lovely view of the lagoon and the Friday night fireworks where other apartments face the marina or the front street . Also the apartments can differ on many levels , whether or not you have booked thru the hotel or private condos . Some are renovated fully some a little and some not at all . So getting a nice one is abit of luck . They have a lot of lifts maybe as many as six so waiting for a lift is quick . We went to the bar and grill and had an excellent fish lunch . There is always a doorman at the front lobby . There is a fully stocked shop also in the lobby which is handy and a coffee shop downstairs as well . The pool is always full no matter when you go there but the lagoon and beach are only a five minute walk and much nicer anyway . The balconys are a good size to sit on and have a drink in the afternoon . The apartments have kitchens so are great to prepare light meals , don't think I would be making a roast but a sandwich or salad they are perfect for . Beds comfortable and air conditioning is good . Lovely outside seating area and gardens are well kept . A lot of people live permanently at The Ilikai so the regulars are usually by the pool or sunning themselves . It has a great relaxed atmosphere and it's in a perfect position . I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view and try and get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the Ilikia for 12 nights in condo 1718, which was booked though Waikiki beach rentals. We had no trouble with this company.
The condo was very clean and well fitted out for our stay. We had a fantastic view, as mentioned in previous reviews there is truck noise in the early hours particularly Monday mornings. We have no complaints with the condo, it really was good valve for money.
The beach closest to the hotel is not good, lots of rocks in the water, we walked further up for a better spot to swim.
The hotel is a beautiful old Hawaiian hotel with lots of charm,the hotel appears to be well maintained and the staff very helpful.
Would I stay here again maybe not, it's a bit out of the way .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My first experience with the Ilikai was as a college stutent here in the 1960's. It was the first highrise hotel on Waikiki. What's not to love about it being the setting for the original
"Hawaii 5-O" or the hotel of choice for Elvis? Modern novelist Sarah Vowell author of "Unfamiliar Fishes" stays here. Book an ocean-view room with full kitchen. Every floor has coin washer & dryer. There are five elevators. In a week's stay, we never waited more than a minute for a free elevator. The convenience store on first floor is well-stocked. One can even purchase a quarter rather than a pound of butter! This hotel is an institution and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrolL119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Ilikai may not be the newest hotel in town, but it has a lovely feel to the place, the reception staff were great (especially Richelle) and the location was perfect for me - walking distance to Ala Moana and Waikiki beach - with the bus stop right outside the door if I wanted to venture a little further. I will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing