We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the ilikai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is the third year that i have stayed at the Ilikai hotel. I just want to say that I love this hotel. To anybody traveling with a family or a group of friends, i highly recomend this hotel. First, the hotel rooms are big! In the past years we stayed in a room with two queen beds, livingroom area with a pull out sofa, ocean view, lanai (balcony) and a kitchenette. I think the rooms are about 600 sq feet. Having a kitchennette was a big plus, when you are travelling, eating out starts getting expensive (for me i don't need to eat three big meals a day which could run 10-20 dollars per person a meal). We used the kitchette to make breakfast, and sandwiches for the road. The lanai are awesome, we would make our own simple breakfast and sit on the lanai and watch the waves crash. Every friday the hilton has an awesome firework show that you can watch from your lanai.

The hotel is at the beginning of the waikiki hotel strip, it sits between the hilton village and Hawaii Prince Hotel. The location is perfect for people who dont want too much foot traffic, but is still walking distance to restaurants, malls, etc. The hotel is ocean front, the beach is steps away from the hotel. "Steps away" means that the beach is not directly in front of the hotel, you will have to walk just a little. The hotel is located near the marina where people park their boats, so there is a parking area that you have to walk past to get to the beach.

The staff at the Ilikai were awesome, they were very helpful, and kind. Housekeeping cleaned the mess we made. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy with feather beds and feather blankets. The staff did anything they could to make our stay comfortable.

I would suggest If you go to Oahu, definately rent a car to the north shore area and go to waimea, monoa falls, sharks cove, sunset beach. Waikiki beach area is packed with tourist, try and see different parts of the island. I have been to hawaii 6 times and haven't seen everything.

I will say there are some cons for some people... (which are not a priority to me but i do have to be honest in my review, because everytime i travel i come onto this website to see what others think.. ) The pool area is really small, but why be in the pool if the ocean is steps away. There is no room service, or restaurant IN the hotel (except the italian restaurant on the top floors for fine dining). But there is numerous restaurants across the street..mc donalds, red lobster, outback.

Rates here are awesome, i was shopping around to see how much hotels are in the area. The rates here start between 117 to 150 a night, and they have a special where you stay three nights you get one for free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank NINA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank rieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank sandovalfranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: オーシャンビューまたはサンセットオーシャンビュー
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank moonchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Yukari U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank かこかこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,247 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
778 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £168 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing