We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Public urination”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Public urination”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were nice, the staff attentive. I have one complaint. At approximately 9:00PM on Saturday evening, We were returning from a wonderful evening in Waikiki, when just in front of the ABC store entrance there was a man urinating in public. I immediately complained to the front desk, where I was told that this was not there problem. I insisted on a leaving a message for the manager, but never heard back. No other hotel allows homeless to take over the sidewalk in front of their hotel. Public urination is disgusting and against the law. Why does this fine hotel permit this?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travilenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha Travilenman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our wonderful service professionals. Regarding the public urination, we work very hard to get the cooperation from the City & County of Honolulu and most especially the Mayor's Office to assit with this problem. By them being on public property, we do not have jurisdiction on having them removed. This also happens to be a Waikiki wide problem and not just at our hotel, and for most large US cities. Our response should of been to call HPD. Unfortunately, they are the only entity that can address the public behavior. I am sorry that you had to witness this, but be assured we are addressing this issue the best we possibly can. We hope that you do decide to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    563
    148
    31
    8
See reviews for
360
701
91
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fleed from a bedbug hostel to Park Shore with a friend, and the best choice we ever did. Clean and fresh! The staff was great, helped us with everything and was so polite. Great view over the beach and Diamond Head. Actually wishing I was laying in the bed there this very moment. Pool area was clean and nice, and just steps away from beach and stores. Can't really say anything bad about it.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is always beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaJ409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Aloha FridaJ409,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location across from the Pacific Ocean, the wonderful views from your Ocean View room, and our friendly service professionals. We hope that you decide to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scotrt Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalifHawn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is located practically walking steps from the beach. . This hotel is located at the edge of Waikiki near the ZOO and a Park. The hotel faces the Diamond Head Mountain and the beautiful beaches of Waikiki. You will not be disappointed. We had a wonderful time and will return again. There is a bus stop right outside your hotel.

Room Tip: ***All the rooms are great! Just being in this hotel will offer you all the amenities. You are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaii1CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha Hawaii1CH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location across from the Pacific Ocean and all of the nearby amenities that are offered. We are delighted that you will be returning again in the future and will ensure that you have another outsatanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location across the road from the beach in a quieter area, a short walk across the park to the Honolulu Zoo and has a Japanese restaurant attached as well as an ABC store. Loved it, perfect stay in Waikiki

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha Rockstar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our excellent location and all of the nearby amenities in or near the property. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another perfect stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I can't say enough good things about the staff and service at this hotel. Nick and Leny at the front desk were awesome, and Stephanie at the expedia desk went above and beyond to help with our excursions. Everything was top notch. Great location, great view, great price. My only suggestion is larger trashcans in the rooms. If we're ever fortunate enough to make it back to Oahu, this is where you'll find us!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our incredible service professionals, our great location, and the spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean from your guest room. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Park Shore for a couple nights and it was very nice. We enjoyed the location with the beach literally across the street, a beautiful park next door, and an easy walk to lots of shops and restaurants. Our recently renovated room was nice and very clean and all staff members we dealt with were very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. I would definitely recommend Park Shore to anyone who plans to stay a couple nights. The rooms are quite small though, so if you are planning a long stay you may want to look elsewhere. They also have a shuttle from the airport, which was great. It was kind of expensive, but cheaper than a cab and very convenient. When we left the hotel we needed to leave on a cruise and they shuttled us right to pier. The front desk also arranged our transportation to visit Pearl Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha PickyNebraskan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our excellent location, your newly renovated guest room, and the outstanding service professionals. We appreciate your recommendations, and will ensure that you have another great with us should you return again in the future.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a location, right on the beach. The hotel is at the quiet end of Kalakaua Avenue, the end closest to Diamond Head. You walk across the street and you're on Kuhio Beach, which is protected by a breakwater and has no waves. There's a pier which projects beyond the breakwater. Nearby Queen's Beach is not protected and has more waves-- not much sand but you can sit on the grass. The hotel provides beach towels for guests. There is an adjacent restaurant ( Lu-Lus)which is great for breakfast. Our oceanfront room, with balcony, had a great view . The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The hotel has free WiFi in all rooms. There's valet parking with unlimited in-and-out for one daily fee. It took only a minute for them to bring up our car. We wanted a late checkout, and the hotel allowed us to stay past noon for $10/hr, with max of 4 hours.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms really do have a view of the ocean from their balconies (palm trees included)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha Tim W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location across from the beach, the beautiful views from your Ocean Front room, and all of the nearby amenities that our property offers. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,459 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing