We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best all around value, terrific view, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best all around value, terrific view, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Aloha! The location of the Park Shore has always been perfect. It is located on the corner across from the swimming beach and park/zoo with 2 different bus stops within a few feet. Recent remodeling has the rooms in like new condition. Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Our view from 907 was excellent. We've stayed in other rooms before and even the view from the partial view rooms are very good. I've lost track of how many times we've stayed at this hotel, more than 20, but in this case the hotel has aged beautifully and is in its best condition ever! Mahalo!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karensells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha karensells,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our superior location, your newly renovated Ocean Front room, and our friendly and helpful service professionals. Your loyalty to Park Shore Waikiki is very much appreciated, and we look forward to having you return again in the future.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    537
    140
    28
    8
See reviews for
333
668
86
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, excellent location - had room overlooking zoo, diamond head & the beach.
I would highly recommend this hotel & would stay here again if lucky enough to return!!
The staff is friendly & helpful & they provide beach towels too. There is a wonderful, healthy breakfast/lunch cafe and a starbucks on the first floor, and a good restaurant on the second.

Room Tip: The view from the 'Diamond Head' rooms is spectacular - since the hotel is the 'last one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha rwonia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am gald to hear that you enjoyed your Ocean View room, the various amenities that our property has to offer, and the friendly and helpful service professionals. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, we will ensure that you have another exceptional stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Park Shore. 2010 we had an ocean view room. This trip just a standard room but top floor and still had great views. Pool was great, lots of room, chairs and umbrellas. Rooms have a mini fridge and coffee maker, microwave on third floor. The rooms are small but it's enough and the shower had great pressure. The hotels has towels and chairs for the guests take to the beach, which is steps away. Staff was great very friendly and rooms were clean. ABC store, StarBucks, LuLu's and Tucker and Bevvy all located at the hotel. The only down side is the homeless that seem to set up in front of the hotel/ ABC and Starbucks but seem harmless, just doesn't look ver good. Zoo across the street and the aquarium just minutes away as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darcilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Aloha darcilynn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay, and for returning again to Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location, the newly renovated Hotel Room. We are working on addressing the Waikiki homeless population with the City & County of Honolulu, and hope to have this resolved in the future. We hope to see you again soon and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have been to Waikiki six times over the years staying at the Outrigger Beach, Marriott and Sheraton) and my stay at the Park Shore was the best. Upon our arrival, a young lady welcomed us as we got out of the shuttle and she walked us to the reception desk although it was only a few feet away. Crystal at the front desk was awesome. I had made reservations for an ocean view room as I wanted both city and ocean views, not just ocean front views. It was late in the evening when we arrived and the hotel was booked. We were put in a very nice room but not quite what I wanted. The next day Crystal was able to move us to a room with a spectaular unobstructed view of Diamond Head and the ocean (room 1509). All but one of the employees appeared happy to be working there and projected that into our interaction. Crystal always made a point of not just smiling at us but would also call out to us when we walked through the lobby as if we were friends.The pool was located on the third floor which made for wonderful views of the ocean and the park across the street. My only recommendation would to have the pool area open in the evening. It would have been nice to sit around the pool in the evening and listen to the music either overhead or coming from LuLu's. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Aloha TusconTravelers02,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our incredible service professionals, and will let Crystal and Desiree know of your positive comments. I am sorry that you were not happy with the view of your first room, and that we were able to move you to an Ocean View room that you did enjoy. Your recommendations to others is much appreciated. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another perfect stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was November 1969, exactly 44 years ago, when my wife and I got engaged at the Park Shore Hotel and we have not been back to Hawaii since. So when we decided to return this November we were happy and excited to know that the Park Shore was still operating but at the same time we were a little apprehensive about what time had done to this hotel as well as to Waikiki. Of course, our beautiful memories of the past were definitely colored by the fact that we were a young couple in love and everything was wonderful in this paradise like setting, including the Park Shore at that time. We remembered that staff as being very friendly ..,but what about now?? Now, when personal concern and kindness in general appear to be diminishing in this world we live in.

As soon as we arrived at the front entrance we were met by a happy and friendly young lady with a bright smile, named Desiree who sincerely welcomed us and then almost immediately Erik a gregarious, portly attendant arranged to care for our luggage. So far so good, but how would check in go with so many visitors at the busy desk? Would we just be another number? An exceptionally keen, considerate and alert Krystal quickly processed our information but also asked some tactful personal questions about us. When she learned how long it had been since we had last been here she immediately contacted the manager Scott Pauli. After a little discussion Scott proposed a beautiful upgrade for us to a one bedroom suite facing the ocean. Needless to say we were taken aback as we had not expected this and it was not something they needed to do. The room and view was fantastic! But this gesture did give us an idea of the spirit here. As far as the hotel was concerned, it has just recently been totally renovated so it feels fresh and clean . The location is still great next to the zoo and Diamond Head and a little quieter being just a little ways away from the noisy, bustling strip. However, on the negative side, the room doors are heavily weighted and slam shut with such a thunderous thud that can be heard almost throughout the building. Disturbing especially If you are light sleeper.

The Guest Service is super! Annie and David were not only thoughtful but very kind. They went out of their way to ensure that we were well cared for. In fact, Annie even gave us her own personal boogie board to use at the beach.

Not just that first day, but on each day of our stay all the staff that we had dealings with, including the housekeepers, willingly went out of their way to be helpful and shared many useful tips, including letting us know about cheap but good places to eat.

It was indeed enjoyable to be a part of this familylike atmosphere. And it speaks volumes when many of the staff say they have never worked for a better or kinder manager than Scott Pauli. He indeed has a big heart.

But one major negative change for us was to see the number of homeless (many drunk or drugged) sleeping and begging on the main street, some quite close to the hotel. Some are sleeping literally in the middle of the sidewalk and you need to make an effort not to stumble over them. This was disturbing and is a blight/shame on this beautiful part of the world. We were also sad to learn that the famous International Market will soon be torn down to be replaced by more high end shops.

But aside from that and a few other (progressive?) changes, we were delighted to be back again and especially to enjoy the warm, friendly and genuinely considerate hospitality of the staff at the Park Shore. Though this review may sound subjective, we did observe the same friendly helpful service shown toward the other guests as well.

We are glad we chose to stay here again (brought back some warm memories of 1969) and would heartily recommend the Park Shore to anyone who wants to stay at a clean, friendly hotel that won't break your budget.We would certainly come back here again but definitely before another 44 yrs goes by!
Mahalo
Reino

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinok2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Aloha Reinok2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice and detailed review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, our outstanding service professionals, and wonderful location that we offer. We are working with the City & County of Honolulu with the homeless population that is a problem throughout Waikiki and Honolulu. We hope that you are able to return sooner than 44 years from now. We will ensure that you have another memorable and pleasant stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room that had an amazing view of the beach and ocean and a bonus view of Diamondhead on the side of the balcony. I have included a photo that shows the ocean view from our balcony. It was amazing. The location of the hotel was great. It was away from all of the tourist trap shops, but you could easily walk to them if you wanted to. The room was small, but perfect for what we needed. The shower had great water pressure and temperature control. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and the front desk was friendly. There are many shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance and the beach is right across the street. If I returned to Honolulu I would stay here again in the same ocean front room. I loved it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room. If you call and ask they can help you get one on the edge with a view of D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha Lauren L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the incredible views from your Ocean Front room, our outstanding location, and the wonderful service professionals. I hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another perfect stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Clean, updated, and good customer service. Best feature was the hospitality suite. When you checked out of your room you could use a hospitality suite with a shower and big-screen TV. This allowed us to enjoy the day at the beach and still shower before we got on our plane. Excellent free service.

Beach access was right there! Great restaurants and shops near by. We walked to Diamond Head (40 min) and took the city bus 23 back. The section of the beach was a bit dirty. We walked down to the Outrigger Hotel (10 min walk) and rented an umbrella and two chairs for $50.
It is a crowded, loud section of the Waikiki strip. However closing the patio door kept most of the noise out! not a luxury hotel but a good value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha HeatherD,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated guest room, our extraordinary service professionals, and our newlty created Hospitality Room for early arrivals and late departures. We hope that you decide to return again in the future, and we will enusre that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,860 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) Renovation Park Shore Waikiki will undergo spalling renovation from March 21, 2017 thru May 22, 2017. Renovation will take place Monday through Friday and major work will and noise will start on 4/4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing