We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative reviews are accurate”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

All of the positive reviews here are indeed accurate so I will not rehash them. I take lots of time researching the best place for me to stay. I was hesitant to believe all of these reviews at first but after 10 days here I can assure you the positive reviews are quite true. Anything negative must have been a fluke. Nothing's perfect in any industry. I would most definitely return to the Park Shore and sooner rather than later if they built a nice hot tub at the pool area and offered a free breakfast, even a simple continental would be fine by me. Thank you to Crystal and David for their exceptional customer service!

Room Tip: Definitely get an Ocean Front, corner room on a high floor if you would enjoy a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oshckyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Aloha oshckyby,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and will be sure to let David and Crystal know of your positive feedback. We do currently offer two different types of breakfast packages on our parkshorewaikiki.com web site that you can choose from. We are are planning further improvements to the Pool Deck in the future and have a hot tub on the wish list. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

If there is any better bargain in Honolulu, we didn’t find it, and we sure looked at many options. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows with a large almost open-air lobby that was attractive and welcoming; good size, clean rooms; and extras like free newspapers, coffee (in the room and in the lobby) and cold drinks. Better yet, it is a perfect location, being right across the street from Waikiki beach and around the corner from the main tourist street in Waikiki -- lots of shopping, souvenir stores, and, especially, restaurants. Maybe the best of all, though, were the staff, who genuinely appeared to enjoy their jobs and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome.

Although we booked the least expensive room for the pre-cruise stay, we were upgraded to an Ocean View room. It was better than we expected given the hotel’s location and cost. Better yet was our post-cruise stay when we booked an Ocean Front (not just ocean view) room. As we said above, we were especially pleased with the staff at the hotel, and Crystal deserves an extra pat on the back, and not just for upgrading us to the Diamond Head Suite (although that would have been enough for us to rave about her). The suite was clean and spacious, with a balcony facing Diamond Head with no tall buildings between us and it, a couch and table, chairs, plenty of closet space, and a small kitchen with a microwave, refrigerator, sink, plates, utensils, and more. The only downside? It was TOUGH to leave to go home!

Room Tip: One of the few hotels we saw that offer Ocean Front, a far better deal than the common Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geekguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Aloha Geekguy1,

Thank you for taking trhe time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location, your newly renovated Ocean View and Diamond Head Suite rooms, and our Superior Service Professionals. I will be certain to let Crystal know of your positive feedback. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was great. We loved the location as it is away from the noise of "downtown" Waikiki, but still so close. There are ABC shops, a Starbucks, a cafeteria, a restaurant/bar and more places close by. We stayed in a suite with views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Beautiful!! Every night we would watch the sunset from the balcony. The suite has a sofa, a little kitchen, 2 cupboards (ideal to put the suitcases in) and a very comfortable kingsize bed. The bus stop is just outside the hotel.
We got invited for drinks on the Wednesday afternoon in the pool area and met the Scott, the manager. Nice touch!! The staff is also a great asset to the Park Shore as they are all so friendly, knowledgeable and always trying to please you!
The only thing we didn't like was the homeless people hanging around in the area, but we realize that is has nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Aloha Qcruiser,

Thank you for takling the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated Diamond Head Suite with the views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Haed, All of the outstanding amenities that are on our property, and the incredible service professionals. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location for us was everything, cause we were running the Honolulu Marathon. This hotel is just by the finish line and in front of the spot were the buses leave in the early morning to drop runners to the start line. And it is right on Waikiki!
For the rest we were really satisfied of service, room and staff. The pool looked quite modest. THhe small cafeteria downstairs is just great for sandwiches, muffins and smoothies. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Aloha Dannythyboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our great location and also the great service you recived during your stay. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another sucessful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel is well located. Closed to the beach. Easy walk to all entertainment. The staff is really friendly. I arrived really late but Nick welcome me with a great smile. When I asked him about a room upgrade he told me that was too late but that I should check back the next morning. Next morning, I went back to the reception and Jara told me that Nick told her about me. She upgraded me to a partial ocean view. The view was wonderful. Lanai was facing building but second window was full ocean view so nothing to complain about it. I will definitely stay at the Park Shore again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Aloha Corinne L,

Thak you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Parkl Shore Waikiki. I am happy that you enjoyed your upgraded Partial Ocean View room, our incredible service professionals, and our excellent location. I will be sure to let Nick and Jara know of your positive feedback. We look forward to your return visit, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were very leary of changing hotels but we took a chance. From check in to check out everyone we came in contact with was friendly and smiling. We had the best view ever of the ocean and diamond head. The room was comfortable and clean. The location is perfect, within steps of starbucks, lulus and Tucker & Bevs, (we had many of our meals there) from smoothies, wraps, breakfast sandwiches, etc.
The one and only negitive note is the homeless in front of Starbucks, but that is not the hotel's fault. We would highly recommend this hotel. It will be the only place we stay from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a full view of the ocean and diamond head. We were celebrating and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Aloha jacki g,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you decided to relocate to our property and that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean View guest room, all of the incredible restaurants that are located on property, and our wonderful and friendly service professionals. I am very excited that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another memorable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Chose the Park Shore from all the Trip Advisor reviews and were glad we did! Had a wonderful view of both Diamond Head and the ocean! The lanai was perfect to enjoy the sunrise and sunset. Rooms were perfect even though we were disappointed the last morning when there was no coffee in our room - went to the front desk and I guess they were out of the packets but he went in the back and got us fresh grounds. The concierge was wonderful and planned out our whole stay for us - very convenient to sit there with her, plan it, pay for it and get our tickets all at the same time. We will definitely be back (hopefully).

Room Tip: definitely get a room with both view of Diamond Head and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly_C_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Aloha Holly_C_2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean from your guest room. I apologize for not having replenished your coffee packets in your guest room, and not having them available at the Front Desk for you. We have resolved that issue. Thank you for letting me know. We look forward to your return visit in the future, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,751 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,658 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £124 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing