We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed 6 nights on the 15th floor with a partial beach view. loved the room nice balcony with table and chairs where we sat and had morning coffee. Staff were very friendly and helpful, gave me extra coffee sachets when requested and always replaced the toiletries every day. Beach towels were great and you only had to cross the road and you were there. Had dinner at Lu Lu's very nice food good value and had a great band playing on a friday night. A couple of ABC shops downstairs so easy to stock the fridge. Didnt use the pool but booked a couple of trips with the tour desk, Stephanie was very helpful.

Room Tip: If your budget stretches get an ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Aloha sydneyalicat,

Thank you for tasking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy that you enjoyed your newly renovated Partial Ocean View room, the excellent nearby amenities that we offer, and our very friendly service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    548
    146
    28
    8
See reviews for
343
688
89
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enter into a clean nicely appointed lobby. The staff is friendly and professional and we are greeted with a friendly "Aloha" and handed cool wet washcloths which we greatly appreciated. Check-in went without any problems. The bell service is very good. The valet service greeted us and let us know they are there if we should need them which of course we used, they are great! We also used the services Expedia Local Expert for a few of our activities which were awesome! It's best if you book activities ahead of your arrival because some activities are on specific days and or times! Our room is clean and has a stunning view of Diamond Head and the beach! The king-size bed is very comfortable, we slept great! The night tables had a drawer and a shelf.There is a flat-screen TV over a desk with two drawers and a small shelf and a chair. There is a refrigerator in a cabinet with a coffee pot and ice bucket, coffee cups and drinking glasses on the counter top. The down side is inadequate storage space for two for a seven day stay, The closet didn't fit our one large suitcase so it was next to the slider door and there wasn't enough drawer space for both my husband and I, and I didn't really take notice until our last evening that the tile floor had never been mopped as there were dirt smudges from the previous days in the entry and tissue that I had noticed that morning under the counter in the bathroom was still there when we returned from our final day's excursions. The night table lights were seriously over-bright so I couldn't read because it disturbed my husband. I thought the room size itself was good but my husband felt claustrophobic. He is disabled and rented a scooter while we were there. He was going to use the valet storage downstairs but the only way to recharge the battery was to leave it out in the lobby. My husband didn't want the staff to be responsible for watching it while it charged and chose instead to take the scooter up to our room. So it made the room feel very crowded for him. There was one night where the odor of Lulu's grill became overwhelming and when I thought I might call and ask about it the smell subsided. We had a great time while in Hawaii and we'll be staying again at the Park Shore next time we come to Waikiki.

Room Tip: South east rooms have unobstructed views overlooking Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jansdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Aloha jansdream,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views from your newly renovated Ocean View room, and our outstanding service professionals. I am sorry that you did not have enough space. Our Ocean Front and Diamond Head Suites do offer more space. I am excited to hear that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Park Shore Waikiki. I go to Oahu for business a few times per year and will now always stay at this hotel. Staff is very friendly, beach is right across the street, getting to the highway is very easy, and the view of a Diamond Head is incredible. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. You are away from the congestion of the tourists, but are close to the shops and restaurants to enjoy all Waikiki has to offer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Aloha Catherine D,

Thank you for taking the tiome to write a very nice review during your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fablous location near the beach and Diamond Head, the beutiful views of the Ocean from your Ocean View room, and our outstanding service professionals. We are very appreciative that you will be returning again in the near future for business, and will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

this was our 4th year coming back to the Park Shore . We had a fabulous of Diamond Head and the Ocean. We were on the 16th floor. We try to stay between the 14th and 18th floors for the view and privacy. The staff are always very cheerful and polite. We are looking forward to our return next January!!

Room Tip: we like the diamond head/ocean view over looking the zoo. anything above the 12th floor is our pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 573Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Aloha 573Tina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am very appreciative for your loyalty to Park Shore Waikiki, and glad that you enjoyed your newly renovated Ocean View room, and our superb service professionals. We look forward to your next visit in Janaury, and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is literally across the street from Waikiki Beach. Diamond Head is in the distance, upscale shopping and restaurants 2 or 3 blocks the other direction. Rooms were clean, well appointed, and include a small fridge. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet parking is your only option, double beds instead of queen beds, and the view of the alley and dumpsters was not very appealing. We did the package that included a crappy rental car - should have made our own rental car arrangements.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardsons F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Aloha Richardsons F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, your newly renovated room, and our very friendly service professionals. I would recommend booking an Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, or Ocean Front View in the future, rather than the Hotel Room if the view is important. The car package starts off with a compact car as the base price, but you can upgrade for a small fee to a larger vehicle as well. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have an even better stay with us next time.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Mass.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Park Shore for two nights prior to a cruise and one night after. There are fancier hotels along Waikiki but we were delighted with our choice. The rooms were large and comfortable (our's opened into the pool deck which we liked), the location ideal (across from the beach at the "quiet end"of Waikiki and across from the zoo with its beautiful grounds, but the friendly and helpful staff really made our stay memorable. Be sure to have dinner at the Tiki Grill and Bar right around the corner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank judytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Aloha Judytravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated Poolside Room, our spectacular location, and the warm and friendly service professionals. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is a great value for its location and quality. Not only is it right across the street from the beach but it is the last hotel on the Waikiki beach strip so your views of the ocean, the zoo and Diamond Head are fully unobstructed. It has a nice (albeit generic) American style restaurant attached to it, however the hidden gem here is the Japanese restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. We ate here twice on our trip and it was incredible.

The biggest drawbacks (and the reason the hotel is not getting a 5 star rating) are the size and comfort of the rooms and the quality of the amenities. The bed was extremely hard and super uncomfortable for me, though my husband quite enjoyed the firmness of the bed. Also, the pillows were uncomfortable and the sheets were thin and lower quality. The bathroom amenities were on the cheap side and the hotel is definitely no frills - no jacuzzi, no gym, no room service...just a pool and a vending machine area with a microwave.

Despite the drawbacks, I would still recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Waikiki who wants a compromise between a good value and a great location. We looked at a lot of hotels online before deciding on the Park Shore and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor on the Diamond Head side - less noise and an amazing view even from the Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steezyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Aloha steezyrose,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed our outstanding service professionals and our superior location. I am sorry to hear that our bed and pillows were too firm for you. We do offer down pillows and mattress tops to make your bed softer if needed. Our Housekeeping department has these items, and can be easily contacted. We are also in the process of upgrading our bath amenities to an improved product line, and are currently going through this transition. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and will ensure that you have a 5 star experience on your next visit.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) Renovation Park Shore Waikiki will undergo spalling renovation from March 21, 2017 thru May 22, 2017. Renovation will take place Monday through Friday and major work will and noise will start on 4/4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing